We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Peacock Bakewell

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Peacock Bakewell
The Peacock Bakewell
Panoramas (8)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

470 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 468: English reviews
Start your review of The Peacock Bakewell
 Click to rate
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Hi , We had been looking to book a room here , decided to try it for lunch first. We booked a table for lunch on a Friday . Arrived and had been put on a table in the bar . The table was pushed up against the window seats and not much room , decor dark and uninviting.The hosts...

Thank Staffsfamily
thepeacockbakewell, Disinformation is doping, Misinformation is tricking, at The Peacock Bakewell, responded to this review

First of all Staffsfamily I not only find your review unbelievable, but absolutely not stating the full facts, which leads me to confirm what type of person you really are on a first impression! Let me categorically state Staffsfamily the Ladies toilets at the Peacock are spotless, immaculate even and where you are coming from with your condemnation I simply don't...

Holywell, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for 2 nights 10 & 11 March fabulous food which was well presented, using quality ingredients and very good portion sizes. Excellent service which was attentive without being intrusive, polite helpful and friendly staff, nothing was any trouble. looking forward to a return visit.

1Thank genarothwell
thepeacockbakewell, To succeed in life you need three things - a wishbone, a backbone and a funny bone, at The Peacock Bakewell, responded to this review

Thank for your complimentary comments genarothwell - they are well supported with the quality rooms we have on offer at the Peacock, find me better in a B & B and I will honestly pay for them, such is our trust and belief in the product we endorse! Foods good too or as you put it fabulous, so all in...

Cannock, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Plenty of pubs in Bakewell to chose from, came across this one whilst walking around town. Found a seat straight away, which I thought may be difficult early Friday evening. Ordered drinks and food, all good value and were served with a smile. Good selection and vegetarian options. Would return but trying other restaurants whilst here for a few days.

1Thank 1874Scott
thepeacockbakewell, I say choose a job you love and you will never have to work a day in your life, at The Peacock Bakewell, responded to this review

A nice review 1874Scott so thanks for the nice words, as we like you like to think we give good value with a smile, so no complaints from this side of the bar!

England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stopped for Saturday lunch on a sunny day. It was very busy and lots of reserved tables. We were lucky enough to get a table at the front of the building near the bar. Service was good and the food was delivered in a reasonable amount of time. Food portions were generous and lovely food. Don't bother with sides, you...

Thank Cazza2015
thepeacockbakewell, Life isn't about finding yourself, life is about creating yourself, at The Peacock Bakewell, responded to this review

Hey Cazza2015 - you say it smart and you say it true, so thank you for the nice words!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed for 3 nights Fri - Mon on arrival car park was full but staff member shorted out a space for us straight away, we booked in & was shown to room 3 which was spotless clean with lovely decor, we had a four poster bed (very comfy) en suite shower and also a big bath which I had a...

1Thank Karen M
thepeacockbakewell, We become wiser by adversity; prosperity destroys our appreciation of the right, at The Peacock Bakewell, responded to this review

Once again we satisfy our customers demands as in the case of Karen M and we thank you humbly for stating the facts of your stay with us!. The rooms here at the Peacock are amazing and if it's a Pub B & B you are looking for I confess you need not look no further! Great review so many...

Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Ate here for tea - 2 of us and a one year old The staff were friendly and helpful and even helped keep Mary entertained The food was great, I had surf and turf and Michelle had curry. Both we're excellently presented and the quality was excellent! Needless to say we didn't need a pudding! You have to eat here...

1Thank Phil W
thepeacockbakewell, The roots of all goodness lie in the soil of appreciation for goodness, at The Peacock Bakewell, responded to this review

Many thanks for a great review as living proof you enjoyed your choice of meals Phil W! Your little one year old girl Mary was also a treat to entertain, such is the compassion and friendliness of the staff here at the Peacock when children of any age visit our shores with their family. I'd have to agree with your...

Suffolk, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 February 2017

We booked a meal at The Peacock for Saturday evening and we were greeted politely when we arrived. We were shown to our seat and had a browse through the one menu that we had. There were two tables in the area we were seated in, so it wasn't busy. We ordered our food at the bar (debit card had...

4Thank ToniD5
thepeacockbakewell, Whenever you have truth it must be given with love, or the message and the messenger will be rejected, at The Peacock Bakewell, responded to this review

It's a shame you feel the way you do ToniD5 after being given a polite greeting and being served lovely food, but if you want to look for issues you can always find them, and maybe the holding of your debit card gave you reason! The waitress would not have been unenthusiastic, just disappointed for you, but as I say...

Bakewell, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 February 2017

Quite expensive, but really worth it!! Hearty food. Lovely ambience. Lovely seating area outside with pretty lights in the trees. Quite a hot place. Very convenient as well. Drinks are very expensive.

Thank Mary F
thepeacockbakewell, Quality is never an accident. It is always the result of intelligent effort, at The Peacock Bakewell, responded to this review

An honest review Mary F which confirms what we are good at and that's serving lovely food, which never comes in expensive when Quality is concerned, after all Quality is pride of workmanship. Thank you for the post!

Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 February 2017

Very well located in the heart of Bakewell but away from the road & has on site parking. Our room was in a small building alongside the main pub and was top quality, modern, comfortable & very clean. We stayed one night but would have been happy to stay longer in this contemporary room. We eat in the pub in...

Thank DecandClaire
thepeacockbakewell, Quality is not an act, it is a habit, at The Peacock Bakewell, responded to this review

We pride ourselves with Quality Rooms and Dining DecandClaire, so thanks for letting the readers know. You say it all in your review, so i'll just shut up until you return the next time! Thank you

Reviewed 18 February 2017 via mobile

Fantastic location right in the centre of scenic Bakewell with everything you can ask for right on the doorstep. Lovely staff especially the waiter who simply cannot do enough to help, he clearly loves every minute of his job. Food was fantastic, maybe a bit pricey but can't complain considering the surroundings which were to die for. Rooms were modern...

5Thank Ballbag101
thepeacockbakewell, Neither irony or sarcasm is argument, at The Peacock Bakewell, responded to this review

The Breakfasts at the Peacock have never been £40, they actually come free, no charge, complimentary, free gratis if you book direct with us at the Peacock but if you in our opinion, foolishly book through third party websites such for example as booking.com we charge £10.95 per head, but in return you get the kitchen sink in return. Fantastic,...

159 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (36)
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Room/Suite (4)
Dining (5)
Other (24)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

All TripAdvisor Photos (113)
Double En Suite (16)
Dining (37)
Superior Double (17)
Superior Four Poster (20)
The Hotel (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (10)
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Room/Suite (6)
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bakewell hotels
0.3 km away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
364 reviews
0.2 km away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
2.4 km away
The Lathkil Hotel
The Lathkil Hotel
#1 of 1 in Over Haddon
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Castle Inn Bakewell
Castle Inn Bakewell
#6 of 46 in Bakewell
351 reviews
4.7 km away
The Devonshire Arms at Beeley
4.6 km away
The Farmyard Inn
The Farmyard Inn
#1 of 4 in Youlgreave
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Peacocok is a 200 year old, and very typical English pub set in the Centre of Bakewell Town. We offer accommodation varying from lovely traditional type rooms in the old stables fully converted with en-suite bathrooms (showers only) inc full English breakfast if booked direct with the Peacock as opposed to third party web sites - Book direct with the Peacock to achieve a better deal. The Pub has a very varied menu that is all prepared and cooked on the premises by very skilled competant chefs with many fantastic specials. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Peacock Bakewell

Address: Bridge Street, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1DS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Bakewell
Price Range: €112 - €238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Peacock Bakewell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peacock Bakewell Hotel Bakewell
The Peacock Bakewell England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Peacock Bakewell staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Torquay, United Kingdom
7 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Peacock Bakewell staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The website looks great , but the bar ladies was a let down”
 of 5 bubbles Staffsfamily, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room 4 was very comfortable”
 of 5 bubbles DecandClaire, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“if the rooms are as good as the food then they will be good”
 of 5 bubbles brianmY144XF, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We were in an annex which only had one other room so it was lovely and quiet”
 of 5 bubbles C4618MQchristinec, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Can't comment. Ours overlooked the car park. Not great.”
 of 5 bubbles Classylady61, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5