We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Bridge Street, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1DS England
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Booking.com
US$166
View deal
Free cancellation until 18/09/21
ZenHotels.com
US$164
View deal
Priceline
eDreamsUS$166
FindHotel
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (80)
360
Panoramas (8)
Dining (67)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#13 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Bakewell
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The Peacocok is a 200 year old, and very typical English pub set in the Centre of Bakewell Town. We offer accommodation varying from lovely traditional type rooms in the old stables fully converted with en-suite bathrooms (showers only) inc full English breakfast if booked direct with the Peacock as opposed to third party web sites - Book direct with the Peacock to achieve a better deal. The Pub has a very varied menu that is all prepared and cooked on the premises by very skilled competant chefs with many fantastic specials.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Private check-in / check-out
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Kids' meals
Snack bar
Wine / champagne
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Iron
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, Dutch, Polish
582Reviews2Q+A63Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 277
  • 162
  • 57
  • 44
  • 42
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Roro wrote a review Oct 2020
Sheffield, United Kingdom7 contributions6 helpful votes
Lovely food, which was very tasty. A little bit expensive for a lunch, however you get what you pay for, and both me and my partner were both extremely satisfied with our meal. Great atmosphere and good covid measures - will definitely be coming back again!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Carte Blanche, Owner at The Peacock
Responded 18 Oct 2020
Well rochelldion, to be quite honest a very refreshing review of the Peacock, because of late we have had some right baffoons coming on here and giving pathetic reviews during these Covid-19 times - quite literally!!! Your review is mindful of the times we are experiancing, but thank you for posting your honest comments with regard to what the Peacock is all about - none of this pontificating rubbish coming in from the likes of Guy T, Goc1996, and heleneR3913 even Silentadvisor2 who in all honesty haven't a clue what they are on about if the truth be told - ahh well, we live and learn!!!
Read more
Guy T wrote a review Oct 2020
1 contribution6 helpful votes
We stopped here on Wednesday night. We arrived at 2:30pm and had a drink before we checked into our room. I asked a member of staff how we checked in, he went to ask and brought us a check in form. a few minutes later another man from behind the bar just said 'you ready' despite us still having our drinks. When we went to him and passed our form he just left it at the side of the till where anyone in the pub could of had my details. the room was far too warm and very loud music between 9pm-10pm which kept us from settling down. At breakfast the woman didn't wear a mask when serving us and the breakfast itself seemed to be more about looking good than actually tasting nice. Was left feeling very gutted as treated my misses to a night away and it was just a let down.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
6 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Carte Blanche, Owner at The Peacock
Responded 16 Oct 2020
Let me say straight away Guy t you need to take a rain check in a big way because let me tell you despite your pathetic comments you really need to analysis who and what you are!!! If you feel that your details would have been taken down you are having a laugh - absolutely, as besides who would want your details as all I said when I placed your details on the side was 'are you ready' in a friendly mode as one does so you would feel at home and if you took offence I really feel sorry for you!!! If the room was too warm all you had to do was turn down the heating, as it s always better to be warm than cold - end of argument! ...and as for loud music you must again be having a laugh as we do not play loud music, but our attitude from reading your comments it seemed to be all about you and the need to complain!!! The breakfast you received was exemplary and that is a promise - end of (yet again) If this is your attitude I would definitely never ever envy your wife for having to put up with you - end of really (again) and please don't ever show your face at the Peacock again, as we certainly don't endorse moaning individuals who seem to want to moan, moan, moan about nothing (so the waitress who served you didn't wear a mask - wow) but whatever makes you happy in complaining!!! You really need to open your eyes, look within, - are you satisfied with the life you're living, maybe not, but don't put the blame on us! You don't make progress by standing on the sidelines, whimpering and complaining - You make progress by implementing ideas Be grateful for what you have and stop complaining - it bores everybody else, does you no good, and doesn't solve any problems, and if we were a let down I can only wonder what would make you (and possibly your wife) happy!!! Watch out for the joy-stealers: gossip, criticism, complaining, faultfinding, and a negative, judgmental attitude. There's always haters, no matter what you're doing - whether they're complaining that everything you do sounds the same, or it's too different.
Read more
Georgia wrote a review Sep 2020
Spalding, United Kingdom3 contributions6 helpful votes
My friends and I booked a table of 6 for food, which I cannot deny was absolutely incredible. However, the staff appeared confused and untrained. The young girl assigned to work with us, was rude and was unable to make eye contact or even exchange pleasantries. She didn’t look like she wanted to be there! Now I understand covid-19 has put a strain on the industry and those who work within it, but kindness costs nothing. Also, having read how the owner of this establishment responds to negative feedback on this forum. I am not surprised the young girl was untrained and rude, as it’s clearly learnt behaviour straight from management!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
6 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Carte Blanche, Owner at The Peacock
Responded 2 Oct 2020
You are served by your own admission incredible food yet still find time to concentrate and give us your thoughts on one particular girl - leave it out you miserable person, go elsewhere and see what kind of food you are served in these Covid-19 times!!! False words are not only evil in themselves, but they infect the soul with evil. You are a disgrace!!!
Read more
Helen E wrote a review Sep 2020
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom13 contributions23 helpful votes
We arrived in Bakewell happy to find a pub with lots of outside space. Many people sat and we looked for a table that didn't have "not in use"...good for distancing. A couple got up so we headed over to take it..."Good Luck!" they said....I asked why. They said you'll never get served. My husband went in as we only wanted drinks. He said the woman behind the bar was very rude, huffed and even rolled her eyes when a customer asked where to do track & trace. He returned saying she was so rude he wanted to leave.....at first I said let's wait, someone will come. But they didn't. As we left a table of motorcyclists all left and another couple...all unserved. In fact we saw them sat outside another public house in Bakewell! We found another place where the service was friendly and polite......
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Location
Service
7 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Carte Blanche, Owner at The Peacock
Responded 6 Oct 2020
I am getting sick and tired of answering these type of pathetic TripAdvisor reviews and it's all down to Covid -19 rules and regulations you pathetic people!!! This is a crisis and we will get round to people when and how we can and if you are not prepared to wait your turn then go ahead and find an alternative bar or whatever in Bakewell that has not nearly as Big ( and I mean not as nearly as big) a beer garden as at the Peacock! We are now being criticised by silly little people who think they should come first when we are being 'bombarded' by people who we have to serve at their table in these poor track and trace conditions - this is not our fault and despite your ignorant comments - yes they are ignorant because if If knowledge can create problems, it is not through ignorance that we can solve them, and that is a promise! Remember when you are posting your arrogant comments the evil that is in the world almost always comes of ignorance, and good intentions may do as much harm as malevolence if they lack understanding. Nothing in all the world is more dangerous than sincere ignorance and conscientious stupidity - and you have it all heleneR3913VT. ps....just wanted to add we have now purchased an app (courtesy of Flipdish) that helps us to help you, so no-one will be ignored despite how unassuming and ignorant they are!
Read more
Silentadvisor wrote a review Sep 2020
2 contributions9 helpful votes
After waiting 30 mins to even be approached and asked if we wanted drinks or we were in for food, we were greeted by a very hostile member of staff. The food was adequate but the service very poor. If you are in a rush, or can’t deal with poor customer service this is not the place for you to go.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
8 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Carte Blanche, Owner at The Peacock
Responded 24 Sep 2020
Nobody waits 30 minutes to be approached at the Peacock you ignorant wretch, so go find a pipe and smoke it until you choke !!! ...and we'll still be packed long after you have gone!!!
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$102 - US$273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the peacock bakewell hotel bakewell
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandPeak District National ParkBakewell
NUMBER OF ROOMS
7
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Peacock
Which popular attractions are close to The Peacock?
Nearby attractions include Bakewell Old House Museum (0.4 km), All Saints Church (0.3 km), and Bakewell Monday Market (0.07 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Peacock?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at The Peacock?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Peacock?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Peacock?
Conveniently located restaurants include Gallery Cafe, Piedaniel's Restaurant, and Ricci's Fine Italian Foods.
Is The Peacock located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.10 km away from the centre of Bakewell.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Peacock?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Polish, and Dutch.
Are there any historical sites close to The Peacock?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Thornbridge Hall Gardens (3.2 km), Eyam Parish Church of St Lawrence (7.8 km), and Haddon Hall (2.7 km).
Is The Peacock accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.