We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Olde House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Olde House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

190 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 189: English reviews
Start your review of Olde House
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Haven't been for a while and today's visit did not disappoint, steak nicely cooked with a peppercorn sauce, closely followed by two pints of Marstons Smooth bitter for a fiver. Special offers are available Mondays to Thursdays with free drinks on selected meals and two for a fiver on Tuesdays. Staying overnight with comfortable room and breakfast in the morning....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rikky_007
west yorkshire
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Booked by our daughter as we were going to a show in Chesterfield, excellent choice, couldn't fault either the hotel or the restaurant. Every member of staff we met were friendly, professional and couldn't do enough for you. Our room was a very good size, the bed was comfortable and the pillows were soft, wonderful!!! We had our evening meal...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WestYorkshireGeordie
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The only reason I couldn't rate this place a 5 is because I would say they are understaffed! Although the staff were pleasant it was obvious they were rushed, stressed and under pressure! The food was nice and the place was clean like I said just need more staff

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jennarose270186
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Excellent service from all the staff. Room was lovely, bed very comfy, and room very clean. Breakfast was very nice with friendly staff to serve. Will definitely come and stay again. Thank you to all at the Olde House.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laura62925939
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The worst fish and chips I ve ever had.The batter was overcooked and really thick ,hardly any fish inside it and what there was was dry and tasteless and there was part of a back bone in it.Did nt enjoy the meal at all.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie N
oldehouse, Manager at Olde House, responded to this review

Dear Julie I am very sorry to hear that your fish was not cooked to your liking, unfortunately if it is not mentioned at the time of check back it is very hard for us to comment. I have passed on the details to our kitchen about the batter being too thick so I am sure that on your next...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Used this hotel for a weekend in Derbyshire. We were looking for somewhere moderately comfortable, but not luxurious due to the nature of our stay. The hotel rooms overlook an outside patio for the pub below that is noisy. The rooms are poorly ventilated. The staff in the restaurant for breakfast made us feel stupid and unwelcome when ordering our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ben T
oldehouse, General Manager at Olde House, responded to this review

Dear Ben I am very sorry to read that you didn't enjoy your experience staying in our hotel. I was very surprised indeed to hear the way you felt you were made to feel, as we get lots of very good feedback with regard to staff hospitality. Could you please contact me direct on 01246 274321 or email me on...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This is the 4th time we've stayed here plenty of parking with great food friendly staff who cannot do enough for you amazing shower and very comfortable rooms every time we head down this way we wouldn't stay anywhere else

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dave M
oldehouse, Manager at Olde House, responded to this review

Dear Dave Thank you for your super feedback. It is such a pleasure to pass onto my staff such nice comments. We are closed for a major refurb from 2nd May until 19th May. When our new super king size beds will be brought into the hotel along with an exciting new look pub & a new menu. We look...

Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

Excellent party. Been here many times before. Stopped overnight and never been disappointed. The rooms are very nice and comfortable. Bathroom very nice with a shower. Tea/coffee making facilities. Hairdryer and tv in room. Had a meal in the bar beforehand and excellent selection and prices. Bar prices excellent too!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jayne S
oldehouse, General Manager at Olde House, responded to this review

Hello Jayne, we are glad to hear you had a wonderful stay with us! We all take great pride in receiving this feedback, thank you so much! Regards, Julie Wood

Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 March 2017

I went to a Probus meeting here and we stayed for lunch. I had Gammon, egg, chips and peas from the light menu and, to my surprise, it was really good. It was well cooked and moist, attractively presented and the staff were pleasant. I recommend the pub for a quick and pleasant service with well cooked food.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia T
oldehouse, General Manager at Olde House, responded to this review

Hello Cynthia, thank you for your brilliant review! We are glad that you enjoyed your visit to the Olde House and we hope to see you again soon. Regards, Julie

Reviewed 23 January 2017 via mobile

Booked late Saturday evening. Warm friendly welcome. quick check in and down for evening meal. Excellent service. Large comfortable and spacious surroundings. Excellent food. Wine and draft beers offered at reasonable prices. Rooms located on a separate wing. Spacious and comfortable with tea. Coffee and complimentary bottle of water. Nice comfortable bed with fresh bedding and towels. Nice warm shower...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew G
oldehouse, Manager at Olde House, responded to this review

Dear Andrew I was pleased to hear that you mostly enjoyed your stay with us in the hotel, our hotel is in the process of having a make over, hence the new pipework and the new radiators. I will certainly look into any holes that should not be in the walls. regarding the bathroom door we are waiting for it...

11 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chesterfield hotels
1.8 km away
Buckingham's Hotel
Buckingham's Hotel
#14 of 15 in Chesterfield
245 reviews
2.2 km away
Premier Inn Chesterfield North Hotel
1.9 km away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#1 of 15 in Chesterfield
1,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 km away
Premier Inn Chesterfield West Hotel
4.7 km away
Ringwood Hall Hotel
Ringwood Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Brimington
976 reviews
2.3 km away
The Portland Hotel
The Portland Hotel
#4 of 15 in Chesterfield
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Olde House

Address: Loundsley Green Road | Newbold, Chesterfield S40 4RN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Chesterfield
Price Range: €74 - €92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Olde House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Olde House staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
cheshire
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Olde House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I didn't stay at this hotel, just ate there.”
2cynthiat, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room 7 was very nice, not sure about the bathroom floor though ?”
t0nyl0we, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Room 10 at the back was quite, parking close round the reception area for only 5 cars but has a huge car park round the front.”
crsc2013, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All rooms seem to be the same”
KFox24, 18 Jul 2016 | Read review
“on first floor, lift to rooms. very quite.”
karenmP7488CS, 28 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5