We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Church Villa B&B

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Church Villa B&B
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

34 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 32: English reviews
Reading
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Second stay. Will return. Peaceful home where my wife and I feel more like family guests than visitors. Welcoming, courteous, clean, silent and a good nights sleep (again) in good-sized room with shower/bath ensuite. Good food, including an excellent evening meal, after which we retired to the guest’s lounge to be served coffee and warm conversation. Peace.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TASJF
HilaryLyndon, Owner at Church Villa B&B, responded to this review

We really enjoyed seeing you both again. Thank you for your generous comments, which tell us we are achieving what we set out to do - create a home from home - and we trust we will see you again.

Cheshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 December 2016 via mobile

What a lovely, oldie worldy place to stay, a visitors lounge with an open fire, breakfast area with garden view, a fabulous little court yard with ample parking and decorated with festive Christmas lights. The room was just as welcoming and lovely and cosey. Proprietors food was of an excellent standard with plenty of choice and they even gave us...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 42lynn43
HilaryLyndon, Owner at Church Villa B&B, responded to this review

We appreciated your generous review and are very glad you enjoyed your stay. Do come again! And our apologies for not noticing your review with the busyness of Christmas season, hence the late response.

Karalee, Australia
Reviewed 7 September 2016

Last time we were in UK we stayed here and it was the first place we booked when we decided to return to Britain, this year. Hilary & Graham are just the best hosts and they go to no end of trouble to make sure you have a memorable stay.. The property is going on 400 years old so oozes...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Feathers013
HilaryLyndon, Owner at Church Villa B&B, responded to this review

Thanks for your review - it was a great pleasure to host you again, particularly for the special week it turned out to be as you celebrated family roots in the area. Our apologies that having corresponded separately we omitted to respond formally. We look forward to your next visit to the UK and will reserve your room in good...

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 August 2016

My daughter and I had booked up a special birthday treat at Chatsworth but decided to stay over the night before to make sure we began our visit fresh from a good night's sleep. We were not disappointed! How glad we were to arrive at Church Villa after a full day sightseeing at Matlock Bath and surrounding areas. We were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jackie W
HilaryLyndon, Owner at Church Villa B&B, responded to this review

We were delighted to host you for your birthday and trust that your Chatsworth experience completed your special day. See you again soon, we hope!

Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 August 2016 via mobile

The location, facilities and service are first class, way above the 3 star rating. Very good communication by owners during the whole process and extremely helpful while there. Breakfast was perfect. Easy to find and good parking on site.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rob L
HilaryLyndon, Owner at Church Villa B&B, responded to this review

It was lovely to meet you both, and we hope you are able to return for a longer stay in the future.

Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 August 2016

Tired of travelling we found this on our route. Ate a quick bite and crashed for a long good sleep. Historic building with character. Street quiet so open window and zzzzzzz! Charming host, fresh bread for breakfast. Just a good stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank spamobile
HilaryLyndon, Owner at Church Villa B&B, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your lovely review - we're glad you found us, and hope your route will come this way again soon!

Reading
Reviewed 16 June 2016

Picturesque stone building nestled amongst trees on quiet lane at the edge of the village within minutes of the M1; Close, but we could not hear the motorway nor the link road due to the excellent birdsong. Good breakfast below the grapes hanging from the 100 year old vine in the Victorian conservatory looking along the beautiful garden. Friendly, warm...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TASJF
HilaryLyndon, Owner at Church Villa B&B, responded to this review

So glad you enjoyed your stay - and the early birdsong! We have been watching a bluetit feeding her young today, and the grapes are just starting to turn red so in a few weeks they will be in the fruit salad for breakfast! Hopefully see you again in the future.

Reviewed 11 June 2016 via mobile

Only stayed for one night on our wedding anniversary but we were made so welcome by Hilary and Graham. Lovely room, clean and comfortable in a beautiful house and topped by a fantastic breakfast including home made bread! Thank you for a lovely stay

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thomas W
HilaryLyndon, Owner at Church Villa B&B, responded to this review

We are delighted that we added to your special weekend. Thank you for your generous review - we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 April 2016 via mobile

My friend and I stayed here as we were down for another friends wedding in the nearby area. Both Hilary and Graham were so helpful and knowledgeable about the area and treated us as their friends. They both kindly picked us up/dropped us off at different areas and the breakfast on Sunday was just what we needed after a dance...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fjinglis
HilaryLyndon, Owner at Church Villa B&B, responded to this review

It was our pleasure to make your weekend special. Thank you for being such brilliant guests - and we trust your journeys home went smoothly.

Watford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 April 2016

My husband and I went to Derbyshire to celebrate our wedding anniversary and to meet with my friend. We stayed at the Church Villa B&B at Temple Normanton, outside Chesterfield. I liked the B&B when I was looking for places to stay and saw photographs of the rooms. And my choice was correct! The place is wonderful - there is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ayaha12
HilaryLyndon, Owner at Church Villa B&B, responded to this review

We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit. It was our pleasure to host you for your anniversary. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

16 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chesterfield hotels
0.0 km away
Buckingham's Hotel
Buckingham's Hotel
#12 of 15 in Chesterfield
245 reviews
0.0 km away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#1 of 15 in Chesterfield
1,250 reviews
0.0 km away
Abbeydale Hotel
Abbeydale Hotel
#11 of 15 in Chesterfield
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Ringwood Hall Hotel
Ringwood Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Brimington
920 reviews
0.0 km away
Ibis Chesterfield Centre
Ibis Chesterfield Centre
#9 of 15 in Chesterfield
721 reviews
0.0 km away
The Portland Hotel
The Portland Hotel
#4 of 15 in Chesterfield
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Church Villa B&B

Address: 29 Church Lane | Temple Normanton, Chesterfield S42 5DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Chesterfield
Price Range: €63 - €89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Church Villa B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Church Villa B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Church Villa B&B staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Church Villa B&B staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Bedroom 1 has the largest ensuite (bath/shower)”
 of 5 bubbles TASJF, 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Only 3 rooms so book early.”
 of 5 bubbles Feathers013, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
“If you want a twin room rather than a double the hosts are happy to oblige!”
 of 5 bubbles 185jackiew, 26 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Birdsong was fantastic with the window open in Bedroom 1.”
 of 5 bubbles TASJF, 16 Jun 2016 | Read review
“There are just two rooms. A double with en suite shower, and a twin/double with en suite shower/bath.”
 of 5 bubbles Jonathan-from-London, 7 Jul 2013 | Read review
5 of 5