We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Swan Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Swan Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

221 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Swan Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 219: English reviews
Nantucket
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Room was tiny, a single sold as a double. The small window left us the choice of suffocating or sleeping with no curtains; we were still hot. Ambience was poor; cleanliness marginal. There were no spaces in the parking lot when we returned at night. Shower (cheap little job) had complex instructions because the pump was weak. Door frame was... More 

Helpful?
Thank SKH1967
Theswan B, Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this review

We always welcome constructive feedback and certainly welcome it from guests during their stay in order to give us an opportunity to put things right. As an Inn, with a history that dates back over 300 years there is a variance in the size and location of our rooms, booking one of our superior or deluxe rooms can certainly give... More 

Amesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Before writing this review, I took the trouble of writing to the management of the hotel in order to give them a chance to redeem themselves. So it was no real surprise that I received no reply. I therefore feel obliged to let others know what very poor accommodation is provided at the Swan Hotel Bradford on Avon. We booked... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank amesburydruid2014
Theswan B, Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this review

We did indeed receive an email from this reviewer on July 21st, it has been responded to accordingly. More 

Travellers are raving about these Bradford-on-Avon hotels

bristol
Level Contributor
77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

We had lunch here on just about the hottest day of the year. We wanted to eat outside but the garden was a few tables in the car park! The bar staff were great but unfortunately the lager was flat but they willingly changed it for another. We decided to eat but the choice of gammon was off the menu.... More 

Helpful?
Thank peterg_7
hotelsavvy007, Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, we are pleased you enjoyed your food. We were sorry you were expecting more of a garden, as a town centre property we don't for sure have this luxury, a terrace yes, which we make efforts to maintain; it certainly is a lovely sun trap and a relaxing respite for a town centre property, but... More 

Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Visited recently The Swan, Bradford on Avon. as guests. I would just like to say how much we enjoyed our weekend break at this lovely riverside, town centre hotel. Rooms were more than comfortable, James the owner made us feel welcome as a family. Meals were excellent in the small but attractive newly decorated restaurant. The hotel has a pleasant... More 

Helpful?
Thank John S
hotelsavvy007, Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback we are pleased you had a good stay and look forward to welcoming you back again More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Like the Ugly Duckling in the fairy story, this hotel has the potential to turn into a swan and live up to its name. The old building in the centre of this lovely historic town is lovely, the rooms our party had we're large and quirky however the management (or lack of) really let's the place down. We did't eat... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Patience55
hotelsavvy007, Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, would love to know when your friends last ate here, we have certainly made some changes and I would welcome the opportunity for your local friends to make themselves known to me and come back and give us another try. The standard of eggs is not acceptable, I am a particular stickler for nice soft... More 

Worcester
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Surly barmaids devoid of humour and empathy, dirty glasses, dirty drinks bottles, taste of reused cooking oil, dirty menus, dirty table, smell of cigarettes from outside, no towels or dryer in toilet. Having said all that, my wife really liked her Pad Thai. Recommend that the cook abandons ship and moves to a Thai restaurant.

Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher A
hotelsavvy007, Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, this is certainly not the standards we aspire to maintain, particularly with housekeeping and cleaniness, we are not suggesting that you did not experience what was raised in the review but would like to say it is certainly not the norm. We are glad you enjoyed the Thai food, our owners are half Thai and... More 

Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Booked three double rooms for Saturday 28th June via Booking.com. Arrived soaked, cold and weary after spending the day navigating a canal boat on the Avon and Kennet Canal during a thunder storm. Desperate for hot shower and time to relax . Unfortunately the hotel had no knowledge of our booking despite being shown a confirmation from Booking.com including an... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank MrRant
Theswan B, Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this review

As a small Inn we would certainly support the reviewers suggestion of double checking with a hotel that your on line reservation is OK, particularly if the booking was made on line some months previously, not of course that 'losing' reservations is a regular occurrence it can happen. In the unusual cases where mistakes are made we do make every... More 

Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a nearby wedding. The hotel was very nice in a good location and easy to find. The staff were all excellent and helpful. We had to change our booking arrangements at the last minute and they were very accommodating and even let us check in early. Good was very comfortable with lots of space. Breakfast was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah R
South
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

At first you think expensive sandwich. But once it arrives it delivers. Great portion very friendly staff. Garden could do with a bit of work done to make it more special. I will back again to try other things. They even were kind to our dog and thoughtful - thanks

Helpful?
Thank burnsm
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

My wife and I with two relatives were looking for a lunch time snack on a Saturday afternoon in Bradford on Avon. After consideration we tried the Swan looking for a snack. At the time they were offering a Thai buffet, unlimited help yourself for £9.95 per person. We were very pleasantly surprised by the presentation and quality of the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gian4

22 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bradford-on-Avon
3.4 km away
Woolley Grange
Woolley Grange
#1 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
361 reviews
1.9 km away
Widbrook Grange
Widbrook Grange
#2 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
478 reviews
1.0 km away
BEST WESTERN Leigh Park Hotel
BEST WESTERN Leigh Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
The Moonraker
The Moonraker
#1 of 4 in Trowbridge
898 reviews
4.5 km away
Premier Inn Trowbridge Hotel
4.4 km away
The Polebarn
The Polebarn
#3 of 4 in Trowbridge
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Food & drink at the hotel
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
Cuisines: Bar, Thai, British, Asian, Pub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the centre of this picturesque town The Swan provides accommodation, food and a popular pub. Catering for business people and visitors to the town and area the Inn has 12 well appointed en suite rooms, some suitable for families, free wifi, great breakfasts, lunches and dinners. The food offering is both traditional British and Asian, not fusion but simply offering the best of both worlds, great for the couple or group where some like spicy, others don't! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Swan Hotel

Address: 1 Church Street, Bradford-on-Avon BA15 1LN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Bradford-on-Avon
Price Range: €88 - €168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan Hotel Bradford-On-Avon, Wiltshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Swan Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms on the top floor are quiter”
 of 5 bubbles rebeccasZ8613JY, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at the top would be a quieter option.”
 of 5 bubbles suep711, 1 Feb 2016 | Read review
“This was a working trip and perfectly suited our needs. A very nice place and staff.”
 of 5 bubbles 841zoes, 30 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Check your room out before you accept it.”
 of 5 bubbles DeeJ942, 19 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Very warm welcome and very central to the centre with river and canal close by”
 of 5 bubbles 852tonyw, 13 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay