We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Strangford Arms Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Strangford Arms Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

225 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 225: English reviews
Start your review of Strangford Arms Hotel
 Click to rate
Bridge of Weir, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The hotel is well located for shopping it's beside the ards shopping mall. The peopke in the hotel are very friendly and the food is amazing, everything is served piping hot on hot plates. It's advisable to book for dinner as it is very popular, especially Saturday. The rooms are well appointed and very clean. Would say the beds are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janette K
Newtownards, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Called in for dinner last Sunday hotel was very busy. Have called before but never reviewed the hotel, but what we witnessed and listened to we felt we had to give and unbiased review. We're setted by the Male Manager in their restaurant we did have a table book, we were served but a blond waitress , I have seen...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank sarahsmith669
StrangfordManagement, Manager at Strangford Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Hi sarahsmith669, It is so kind of you to take the time to write this review. In the hospitality industry, we are somewhat at the mercy of reviewers who, as you have noted, do not always write an honest reflection of the situation. I am absolutely delighted to hear our team were professional, friendly and bubbly and that you had...

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

went to Strangford arms hotel in newtownards co down first time there . we were there for a carers meeting we were made to feel very welcome tea ,coffee on arrival followed by brilliant speaker and a great lunch plenty to choose from to suit all tastes

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jennyward2015
StrangfordManagement, Manager at Strangford Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Hi jennyward2015, I’m glad you were made to feel welcome and that you had a great lunch with us. I do hope you decide to come and dine with us a second time! Many thanks, Manager

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Arrived after 10pm on a business trip and stayed the one night. Efficient and friendly check-in. Unfortunately, the electronic key card failed to work end I had to trudge back down to reception to have it re-set. Room contained a large double and a single bed. Very clean and modern throughout. Tiny flat screen TV in the room which had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bill H
StrangfordManagement, Manager at Strangford Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Bill H, Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay with us. I’m pleased to read that your stay was pleasant, that service was efficient and that you found our hotel to be excellent value for money. Occasionally we have issues with the reception in a select number of rooms, but we are currently working to improve...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Ok, where do I start. This has got to be one of the worst hotels I've ever stayed in. My partner and I arrived at 21.30 for a 3 day stay to visit family. We were put into a family room with 3 single beds which limited your space. Every time you walked around the room the floorboards constantly creaked,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eddie G
StrangfordManagement, Manager at Strangford Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Eddie G. Thanks for leaving us your review. I’d like to address a couple of your issues. Firstly, you mention that you were given a room with single beds - this was, in fact, the room that you had booked with us. I realise you may have chosen the room in error, but unfortunately, we can only provide the...

Ashford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

Stayed at the Strangford Arms Saturday and Sunday night. The room was lovely and even over the front entrance noise was to a minimum. The owner and staff could not have possibly been more accommodating (although the door keys need to be sorted). They were lovely and welcoming remembering little things the next day giving that extra little touch. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jon W
StrangfordManagement, Manager at Strangford Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Jon W, Thank you so much for your fantastic review. It is wonderful to get such high praise for our staff – we are absolutely delighted that we made your stay extra special and I will be passing on your complements. We look forward to have you stay with us again soon. Thanks, Manager

Ashby-de-la-Zouch, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 February 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for one night. The room was decorated nicely and the fixtures seemed fairly new. Check in was quick and friendly. Breakfast was good and there was a decent selection. Wifi was free and quick which makes a nice change. My only real issue was that the window in my room would not close fully without the weight of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MrGoodkattt
StrangfordManagement, Manager at Strangford Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MrGoodkattt, Thank you for your kind words. I’m so glad you like our décor, staff and breakfast options, and the all-important wifi! Thanks bringing the issue of your stiff window to our attention – our maintenance team have now addressed it. Many thanks, Manager

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 February 2017

Had a family reunion a couple of Sundays ago at beginning of January 2017. Party of 10 with children. We did make life difficult for the staff as our party had to split times of arrival. Not a bother to them. Great menu to suit all tastes and all very enjoyable and super service. Just be ready to pay deposit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hubert A
StrangfordManagement, Manager at Strangford Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Hubert A Thank you for your lovely review. We were more than happy to accommodate your party and I am so pleased to hear you had a great time. I am delighted to hear you love our menu and received excellent service, too. Thank you for choosing the Strangford Arms Hotel, we hope to see you again soon. Kind...

Newtownards, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 January 2017 via mobile

We had a great time at the Strangford Arms for our men's group Christmas dinner. The staff were lovely and the food was most excellent. I'm sure the same would be true for any function, as the restaurant has always provided me with excellent food. The bar is lovely too, there's just something about the atmosphere, and the reasonably priced...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TangerineDreamer18
StrangfordManagement, Manager at Strangford Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Hi TangerineDreamer18, Thank you so much for your lovely feedback. That is such a huge compliment that you really enjoy the atmosphere in the bar. We work hard to make sure our food and service remain at our usual high standard during the busy Christmas period so I am thrilled to hear you had a great night. We look forward...

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 December 2016

we went on Sat 10th Dec to the Christmas Party Night 6 of us from work the meal was supper and the staff very attentive, we could not find fault in anything. The DJ was great, great night was had by everyone.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank QUAILSNEST60
StrangfordManagement, Manager at Strangford Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Quailsnest - I am happy to read that your Christmas party was a success. Thank you for your fantastic feedback. Kind Regards, Manager

27 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newtownards
4.5 km away
Clandeboye Lodge Hotel
8.1 km away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#4 of 4 in Bangor
510 reviews
7.2 km away
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
#1 of 1 in Crawfordsburn
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 km away
Culloden Estate & Spa
Culloden Estate & Spa
#1 of 3 in Holywood
1,644 reviews
8.8 km away
La Mon Hotel & Country Club
19.4 km away
Beechlawn House Hotel
Beechlawn House Hotel
#35 of 43 in Belfast
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Strangford Arms Hotel is ideally located in the lively town of Newtownards,15 minutes drive from Belfast city centre, 10 minutes from George Best Belfast City Airport and Bangor town centre. This Victorian listed building has been extensively refurbished to the highest standards and now incorporates 39 luxurious En-suite Bedrooms, Conference & Banqueting Suites and the award winning LeWinters Bistro, Bars & Restaurant. Wireless Internet access WiFi is provided complimentary for all residents and delegates. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Strangford Arms Hotel

Address: 92 Church Street, Newtownards BT23 4AL, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Newtownards
Price Range: €78 - €102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Strangford Arms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Strangford Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strangford Arms Newtownards
Strangford Arms Hotel Newtownards, Northern Ireland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Strangford Arms Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Strangford Arms Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Away from the car park and the disco”
 of 5 bubbles 563janettek, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Don't believe all reviews”
 of 5 bubbles sarahsmith669, 3 Mar 2017 | Read review
“this review is for the restaurant only”
 of 5 bubbles 980huberta, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
“we did not stay over this time but the rooms at the front of hotel would be best as rooms at the back look on to the car park.”
 of 5 bubbles QUAILSNEST60, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
“stay away from rooms above the disco and above the smoking area as it is very noisy”
 of 5 bubbles 232jeans, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5