We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Plough Inn

Certificate of Excellence
30/05/2017 31/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
Panoramas (8)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

777 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 775: English reviews
Start your review of The Plough Inn
 Click to rate
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Clean and modern with friendly service and good food. Dogs welcome in some rooms and ground floor rooms at the back have direct access to the outside world. Lovely dinner and good breakfast. Room was spacious. Worth a return trip.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah-Beth V
Andrew R, Owner at The Plough Inn, responded to this review

Dear Sarah-Beth V, Thank you for your 5 star review. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your visit to The Plough, I will pass on your feedback to all of the team and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Plough soon. Kind Regards Andrew

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I have to say I was disappointed with my stay for 2 reasons. 1. Breakfast - it wasn't cooked fresh. Sausages, bacon, black pudding, beans were re-heated (lady at reception confirmed this to be the case saying eggs were cooked fresh...I don't even think this was correct either) Food was lukewarm and dry, may as well have been a buffet,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sisuperfox
Andrew R, Owner at The Plough Inn, responded to this review

Dear Sisuperfox, Thank you for taking time to leave feedback regarding your recent stay. I am sorry to hear that you had issues during your stay and you feel that they were not addressed. As discussed with our team members during your stay our breakfasts are cooked fresh every morning, as I am sure you are aware our breakfast service...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Our stay was as a result of a wowcher voucher. My understanding was we would have a standard double room but we were given a superior room, lovely, clean and comfortable room. Also we had dinner at hotel included in the voucher, limited choice because of voucher but nevertheless very tasty. Breakfast was abit of a let down though very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HanLinton
Andrew R, Owner at The Plough Inn, responded to this review

Dear HanLinton, Thank you for your great review. I am pleased that you were able to enjoy your wowcher getaway, and found our superior room comfortable. I am also pleased that you could enjoy your complimentary evening meal. I am sorry there were issues at breakfast, I will talk to my kitchen team about your feedback and make any changes...

Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Room a very good size and spotless, well decorated Bed excellent , best nights sleep for some time Lovely helpful staff. Food, had dinner and Breakfast, both good, dinner more than I could eat and excellent quality. Nice quiet location. A little way out of Llandeilo, so a bit of a walk into town. Here on business, ideal.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda J
Andrew R, Owner at The Plough Inn, responded to this review

Dear Linda J, Thank you for your fantastic review. I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your business trip and were able to relax during your stay. I will pass on your feedback to all of the team and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Plough soon. Kind Regards Andrew

Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Have been here a few times for food and am also getting married here in July, from the moment you arrive you are warmly welcomed. Fred, Andrew and the team can not do enough for you. The food is brilliant (especially the gammon and the curry) and the service you receive is amazing. Attention is paid to even the smallest...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TashHow
Andrew R, Owner at The Plough Inn, responded to this review

Dear TashHow, Thank you so much for your wonderful review. I am so pleased that you have enjoyed all your visits to us, I am pleased that you find our staff amazing. As I a sure you are aware we use local produce wherever possible we believe this along with the hard work and dedication from our team of chefs...

Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here for a one night break using a dinner, bed and breakfast voucher and were super impressed! Great spacious rooms, food in the restaurant was excellent as was the Welsh breakfast. We had a small problem with the air conditioning ,which was resolved instantly. The staff were all super friendly and efficient. Would highly recommend-we'll be returning!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Acemumbles
Andrew R, Owner at The Plough Inn, responded to this review

Dear Acemumbles, Thank you for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review, I am thrilled that you were impressed with your stay here, our team work tirelessly to maintain high standards and I do believe this shines through in the quality of service. I am happy to hear that the issues with your air conditioning was resolved quickly....

Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Lovely clean hotel. Room & bed very spacious, with a lovely view. All the staff were very friendly & helpful, nothing was too much trouble. Food was amazing. Would definite recommend this hotel. It has its own parking facilities as well.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 790jill
Andrew R, Owner at The Plough Inn, responded to this review

Dear 790jill, Thank you for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review regarding your recent stay with us. I am thrilled to hear that you had a lovely time. I shall pass your comments on to our team as they will be delighted to hear them and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Plough in...

Swansea County, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

VisitedConservatory Restaurant recently completely renovated,light and very clean. Amply car parking always available. Large menu with special lunch menu. Food always well presented and delicious. Service always good

 Report
Helpful?
Thank edlenbird
Andrew R, Owner at The Plough Inn, responded to this review

Dear edlenbird, Thank you for your wondeful 5 star review, I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your lunch visit. I will pass on your comments to all of the team involved in making your trip a great one and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Plough soon. Kind Regards Andrew

Aberdeenshire
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

It would be very easy to go into "accolade overload" in describing our recent stay at this venue. We attended a family Wedding function, and stayed over for the night. Every aspect of our experience was excellent. The wedding reception was expertly administered and, every course of the meal superb. Our accommodation was in the lower ground level, with views...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cymru1948
Andrew R, Owner at The Plough Inn, responded to this review

Dear cymru1948, Thank you for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review, we are so pleased to hear your recent stay was great. I am also thrilled to hear that you found the wedding reception and 3 course meal superb. The team will be so pleased to hear how much you have enjoyed and they will be delighted...

Llanelli, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Attended from early afternoon for a wedding. Everything was perfect, including the weather and we were lucky to enjoy drinks in the garden area before sitting down for food. The room was neatly arranged with a well-placed top-table. The service was exceptional and the food was fantastic as we have come to expect after visiting several times over the years....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sheepy344
Andrew R, Owner at The Plough Inn, responded to this review

Dear Sheepy344, I am thrilled that you enjoyed the wedding and that you found everything to a fantastic standard, it is always a great honour for us to help plan the special day- and its great to receive such outstanding feedback. I shall pass your comments on to the team. I hope to welcome you back to the Plough in...

438 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (141)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
View from Room (22)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Other (44)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (278)
Viewed
Bridal Suite (57)
Viewed
Classic Room (44)
Viewed
Executive Room (45)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Superior Room (34)
Viewed
The Hotel (82)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
30/05/2017 31/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandeilo
1.8 km away
The Cawdor
The Cawdor
#2 of 3 in Llandeilo
425 reviews
1.8 km away
White Hart Inn
White Hart Inn
#3 of 3 in Llandeilo
87 reviews
22.8 km away
Spilman Hotel
Spilman Hotel
#1 of 7 in Carmarthen
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38.8 km away
The Lake Country House & Spa
The Lake Country House & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llangammarch Wells
870 reviews
26.2 km away
Stradey Park Hotel & Spa
Stradey Park Hotel & Spa
#3 of 10 in Llanelli
822 reviews
30.7 km away
The Dragon Hotel
The Dragon Hotel
#9 of 24 in Swansea
891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A charming four star boutique hotel and award winning restaurant set in the beautiful Towy Valley at the edge of the Brecon Beacons. Surrounded by castles and country houses with the National Botanical Garden of Wales and Aberglasney House only minutes away. Enjoy beautiful views from all 23 of our well appointed en suite rooms equipped with everything you would expect for your stay - queen sized beds, free wifi, sofas and disabled facilities - all impeccably serviced with our attention to detail. Why not take advantage of our gym and sauna to unwind and relax during your stay! At the Plough you will be greeted with a traditional Welsh welcome, good food from our varied menu in our award winning restaurant, including gluten free, with excellent wines that can be enjoyed in a warm and relaxed atmosphere served to you with that all important personal touch. Afternoon tea is also available, includes a selection of scones, cakes and sandwiches. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Plough Inn

Address: Rhosmaen, Llandeilo SA19 6NP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Llandeilo
Price Range: €102 - €164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Plough Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Plough Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Plough Hotel Llandeilo
Plough Hotel Llandeilo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Plough Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Cardiff

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Plough Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ground floor rooms at the back are great for dog owners - direct access from rooms to outside.”
, 25 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The ground floor rooms at the back of the hotel look over the car park and countryside beyond. Really easy to load up car and unload.”
Acemumbles, 9 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms to the rear have a view of the beatuful countryside behind the hotel.”
Sheepy344, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Stayed in room 301, overlooking fields and surrounding hills. With no distraction from passing traffic.”
49404020, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We had room 301 which was a corner room, but I saw two other rooms which were all of the same standard.”
joycecme, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Hotels.com
* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisor
Travelocity
Booking.com
View all 6 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates