We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Old Bridge

Save
Share
1 High Street, Huntingdon PE29 3TQ England
eDreams
Booking.com
Priceline
StayForLong
ZenHotels.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (204)
Room & Suite (62)
Dining (32)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#1 of 7 hotels in Huntingdon
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
A handsome, ivy-clad 18th century building, once a private bank, overlooking the River Ouse and yet right on the edge of the town centre. Its atmosphere balances that of a boutique townhouse hotel and a bustling, relaxed, traditional inn. 24 beautiful air-conditioned bedrooms with luxurious bathrooms. Fine but informal restaurant, twice winner of AA award for best wine list in the UK. Also wine shop with 'enomatic' tasting machines, bar with real ales, and free wifi.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Gift shop
Newspaper
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Snack bar
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Flatscreen TV
iPod docking station
Bath / shower
Telephone
Bottled water
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
River View
Historic Hotel
Languages Spoken
English
664Reviews4Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 447
  • 153
  • 44
  • 14
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
David wrote a review 6 Jun
Alconbury, United Kingdom1 contribution
The fist time since September 2020 my partner and I ventured out for a meal and what an amazing experience. I choose the Old Bridge simply by reputation and previous experience and we were not disappointed. The staff are attentive and superbly trained in their craft. Great customer service makes the dinning experience so much better and these guys know what they doing. The food was excellent, my partner and I had the prawn starter, thankfully de-shelled and followed by steaks cooked to perfection, love Caesar salad side. We finished with a great selection of cheese and port. The cheeky Italian wine we shared (sorry I can’t remember the name) was delicious. Unfortunately I never took the names of the staff members who served us, but if the boss is reading this review we ate in the restaurant at 8.30pm 6th June, they were amazing and my our stay so special, they deserve a high five. The Old Bridge is the perfect place to take your loved ones for a well deserved treat.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from John Hoskins, Owner at The Old Bridge
Responded 1 week ago
Thanks DonnyDavid - I am reading! and delighted to hear you had such a great experience. Please come and visit us again soon. Best wishes from all the team at the OB. John Hoskins
Read more
TommoNorfolk wrote a review May 2021
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom245 contributions290 helpful votes
Have stayed before the plague, but this review is purely about my booking experience. We really, really need a break as one of us is on the Clinically Extremely Vulnerable Register, so we have been stuck indoors for many, many months. I love cooking, but it has become so repetitive I could climb the walls. Decided now that places are opening up again, to book a weekend break in July. Rang up and talked to Autumn, one of the most customer oriented people I have encountered. Not only did she explain everything about the room I wanted to book from an accessibility point of view, she also said it would be no problem to book DB&B and have lunch instead of dinner on the Sunday.. Autumn is a star. Please cherish her Old Bridge management.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from John Hoskins, Owner at The Old Bridge
Responded 2 weeks ago
Tommo thanks so much for this review. We are looking forward to seeing you in July. We will look after you as safely as we can - obviously we are a busy hotel so we can't shield you completely from other people, but we will take as much care of you as possible. We will also certainly thank Autumn, she is indeed a wonderful member of our team. Kind regards John Hoskins
Read more
Lucie C wrote a review Dec 2020
Huntingdon, United Kingdom14 contributions11 helpful votes
Me and partner enjoy coming to The Bridge, its lovely location and in the summer lovely to sit out (the chicken tarragon sandwich is probably the best sandwich in the whole world and I say that every time - its incredible1), and in the winter it's very cosy with the open fire. The staff are friendly and professional. However, we came in yesterday 19th December 2020 and were disappointed sadly on this occasion. I ordered cheese and biscuits and was disappointed as it came with only six small crackers and a tiny amount of cheese, and it could have been presented better for £9.50, very thinly sliced cheddar and a couple of thin sticks of celery. We had planned to come for lunch on New Years Day but very unlikely now.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from John Hoskins, Owner at The Old Bridge
Responded 22 Dec 2020
Thanks for your kind words about the hotel in general Lucie. I'm sorry you felt the cheese was poor value. However, I am afraid £9.50 is what we need to charge for 3 cheeses from Neal's Yard Dairy, who really do mature the best cheese in the country). I feel that 6 biscuits is enough for the amount of cheese served (with celery, apple and quince paste) but I realise that everyone is different so I will ask the team to make clear that you can have as many more biscuits as you like. The cheese is the key. This month we have Tunworth (brie-style, very soft); extra mature Lincolnshire Poacher; a new goats' called Elrick Lodge from Scotland; and Colston Bassett Stilton (we buy them whole to maximise the quality). Beyond that I suppose I need to say that £8-£10 is the minimum we need to charge for almost any dish (that isn't simply a nibble). As you know the hotel and the team well, you will understand that every guest has to help pay for a small proportion of the whole cost of running the business. I hope you will re-think your concluding remark, but in any case, have a Happy Christmas. John Hoskins
Read more
DeacsHampshire wrote a review Oct 2020
Bordon, United Kingdom92 contributions56 helpful votes
My wife and I stayed two nights in this marvellous hotel for my birthday. From check in to check out it was amazing. The staff are on top of their game. The food was fantastic. The breakfast was brilliant. We had room service for the breakfast, bang on time and piping hot. The lovely birthday touch was so appreciated and very thoughtful of the staff involved. We stayed in room six the four poster with an impressive en-suite. Please pass on our sincere thanks to all the staff at the hotel, doing a great job under difficult circumstances. All I can say is go and stay there and enjoy. Thank you The old bridge.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from John Hoskins, Owner at The Old Bridge
Responded 29 Oct 2020
Thank you Deacs, those kind words are much appreciated. I hope you have the chance to visit us again soon! With best wishes John Hoskins
Read more
shopwood wrote a review Oct 2020
York, United Kingdom91 contributions43 helpful votes
Four of us stayed here on our way back to York after a week long staycation. We had the dinner, bed and breakfast package and I have to say everything about it was fantastic. I can’t mention all the staff that made our overnight stay a great one, but Charlie and Harvey were fantastic waiters during our evening meal. I can’t remember going anywhere that every member of staff looked as though they enjoyed their jobs. Bar staff, restaurant staff, breakfast staff and reception staff all fantastic. I even requested some milk for a cup of tea to be delivered to our room for 7am, it arrived bang on time. This is a gem of a place and a great find. We will hopefully be returning in the future, we’ll done to all of you, great job !
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from John Hoskins, Owner at The Old Bridge
Responded 19 Oct 2020
One of the most heartwarming reviews we’ve ever had. Thank you so much for your kind words. We are indeed looking forward to welcoming you back again! Best wishes. John Hoskins
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$134 - US$166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the old bridge hotel huntingdon, old bridge huntingdon, old bridge hotel huntingdon
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCambridgeshireHuntingdon
NUMBER OF ROOMS
24
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Old Bridge
Which popular attractions are close to The Old Bridge?
Nearby attractions include Cambs Lock Antiques & Collectables Centre (0.3 km), St Peter's Church (0.3 km), and Niche Comics & Bookshop (0.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Old Bridge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The Old Bridge?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at The Old Bridge?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Old Bridge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Old Bridge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Old Bridge Hotel Restaurant, Barney's Plaice, and Original Thai.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Old Bridge?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at The Old Bridge?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does The Old Bridge offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to The Old Bridge?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Houghton Mill (National Trust) (4.6 km), The Manor (4.8 km), and Island Hall (0.7 km).