We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Killeavy Castle Estate

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (616)
Dining (92)
Room & Suite (66)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 1 castle in Newry
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
ACCOMMODATION AT KILLEAVY CASTLE ESTATE Far away from the maddening crowds, our range of cosy, comfortable accommodation has something for everyone to enjoy. Hotel Where old meets new is probably the best way to describe the Hotel. Originally a Mill and Coach House, the building has been lovingly transformed into a family-owned hotel that’s full of charm and elegant comfort. Clean lines and a great use of space brings the outdoors inside. Designed to embrace the sweeping views of the Estate, each of the 45 guestrooms and lounges are sensitively decorated in a soothing contemporary style. Walls in soft greys, burnt oranges and sage greens, echo the seasonal colours of the surrounding landscape. Spacious rooms are all equipped with the latest technology and all suitable for double or twin occupancy with ample relaxation spaces, indoor and outdoor, for you to enjoy. Killeavy Castle For that ultra special family celebration, Killeavy Castle is available for exclusive hire. Inside the Grade A listed building, a full restoration programme has reformed the magnificent Castle back to its original glory. Enjoy the romance of its gothic glamour with impressive reception spaces, private dining room, original library and restored architectural features. Fully self-contained with four bedrooms, lounge space and extensive relaxation, each room emulates the original period style. With stone walls, hanging tapestries, rich fabrics and plush four-poster beds, every angle throws up new silhouettes and shapes. The Gatelodge For a more modern experience, the Gatelodge located at the entrance to the Estate offers secluded self-catering accommodation for up to six guests. The attractive holiday lodge has been built to a very high standard of comfort and is within easy walking distance of the Hotel, Castle and the hills beyond. Ideal for small groups, it is perfect for cycling, walking or activity holidays in Northern Ireland.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Hiking
Children's television networks
Car park
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool with view
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Walking tours
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Body wrap
Facial treatments
Foot bath
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Light therapy
Makeup services
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Salon
Solarium
Waxing services
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Extra long beds
Walk-in shower
Soundproof rooms
Bathrobes
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
767Reviews3Q+A65Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 648
  • 56
  • 35
  • 15
  • 13
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
charleneparkins wrote a review Feb 2024
1 contribution
The food was very high standard and the staff were really friendly and very helpful. The tour was very good of the castle . The spa area was a disappointment for me and my husband. The price you pay for one night doesn't equal the level of spa facilities we've been to before.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
ZyzzMC wrote a review Aug 2022
Portstewart, United Kingdom7 contributions4 helpful votes
Property's Favourite Review
I recently stayed at Killeavy Castle to celebrate my one year wedding anniversary . Wow! The staff go above and beyond and it's so refreshing to see staff use your name. The staff are a credit to the place you can really tell they enjoy their roles. We had the 7 course tasting menu which was delicious and also decided to go for the wine pairing which was a really nice addition to the experience. We then retired to the bar for a few cocktails. The next morning we had spa treatments which were again fantastic and then used the spa facilities. Top marks for Killeavy, a truly stunning setting all made even more special by fantastic passionate staff.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Killeavy Management, Guest Services / Front Office at Killeavy Castle Estate
Responded 18 Oct 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with such positive feedback on your recent stay with us, it was a pleasure to read. We always aim to exceed our guest expectations so it is rewarding to read that you were impressed with our overall guest journey. We look forward to welcoming you back to Killeavy Castle Estate in the times ahead. Kind regards, Killeavy Castle Estate
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
eilishkerr wrote a review Feb 2024
1 contribution
Beautiful hotel, amazing views and walks. Spa facilities are top class. Friendly staff and excellent service. Food in the bar was beautiful, would highly recommend to stay and I will definitely be returning.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Killeavy Management, Guest Services / Front Office at Killeavy Castle Estate
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with such lovely feedback following your recent stay. We are delighted that you enjoyed all that you experienced especially while relaxing in our spa or dining in the Bistro Bar. We look forward to welcoming you back to Killeavy Castle Estate soon. Kind regards, Killeavy Castle Estate
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
jac693 wrote a review Feb 2024
Belfast, United Kingdom1 contribution
Breakfast was delicious with a wide selection of foods, staff extremely friendly, courteous and helpful. Hotel and grounds are maintained and presented at a very high standard. I had a treatment at the spa also and thought it was beautiful and so relaxing as was the hot tub and pool facilities. We had an overall fantastic time and would definitely recommend this hotel to others!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Killeavy Management, Guest Services / Front Office at Killeavy Castle Estate
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with such lovely feedback on your recent weekend break. We are delighted that you enjoyed all that you experienced especially while relaxing in our Spa or exploring our woodland walks and estate grounds. We look forward to being able to welcome you back to Killeavy Castle Estate soon. Kind regards, Killeavy Castle Estate
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
wandering_star22 wrote a review Feb 2024
Belfast, United Kingdom1 contribution
We wanted a family overnight trip that would be fun for our 9 year old son but also have something special for us as it was Valentine’s Day half term week. We booked for the 13th Feb and ended up staying a second night as it was so lovely. The facilities and service in this hotel was of a very high standard. What was even more impressive was the overall vision and mission of the estate owners to become carbon neutral with ever increasing degrees of self sufficiency and a commitment to responsibly sourced ingredients and sensitivity to the surrounding natural environment. It was a unique and special place to stay with an interesting and beautifully presented conversion from former stable buildings into a unique luxury experience. The staff were very helpful, respectful and friendly. The pool and. spa facilities were a particular hit for my 9 year old son who had never been in a hot tub before. The child friendly hours were well scheduled and communicated and we had most of the facilities to ourselves whilst we were there. On Valentines night we had the amazing four course set menu and the staff were very friendly and engaging with our son who was given his favourite - dinosaurs! - to colour in during his meal. My husband received an exquisite fine dining experience as a vegan and coeliac. His food was just as carefully and imaginatively crafted as the main menu. The staff were remarkably thoughtful and considerate throughout our stay. A wonderful trip all round in a beautiful hotel and stunning natural surroundings and we would highly recommend it.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Killeavy Management, Guest Services / Front Office at Killeavy Castle Estate
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with such wonderful feedback on your recent stay, it was a joy to read. We are delighted that you and your family enjoyed all that you experienced during your Valentine's Day stay, especially while relaxing in our spa or dining in 'Gullion at Killeavy'. We look forward to being able to welcome you back to Killeavy Castle Estate soon. Kind regards, Killeavy Castle Estate
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Paul J wrote a review Feb 2024
Belfast, United Kingdom101 contributions10 helpful votes
An amazing place. Very well appointed bedroom and bathroom. Presented with a small cake for daughters birthday on arrival. Used the thermal spa in the afternoon this was very enjoyable and had the place to ourselves. Retired to the bar with my book and a pint of Guinness. Loved the swing jazz music. Excellent service. Dinner was in the same area later. The burger was excellent as we're the other meals. Breakfast was just amazing. Freshly cooked and presented so well with excellent service. I had an amazing all body massage with facial treatment. All I can say is that this helped my back so much. Thank you to Nadeen. Nice afternoon relaxing with book. The estate is an amazing place so much to see. I can fully recommend the Hake on the evening menu it was just mouth watering. We all stayed at the start of the week and pretty much had the place to ourselves. Great customer service and value for the stay with spa treatments and use of the thermal pool. Thank you my daughter enjoyed her stay and the end of the birthday celebrations.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Killeavy Management, Guest Services / Front Office at Killeavy Castle Estate
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with such wonderful feedback on your recent stay. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed all that you experienced, especially while dining at our Bistro Bar or relaxing with a Spa treatment. Thank you for also giving a special mention to the staff members who you met during your stay. We look forward to being able to welcome you back to Killeavy Castle Estate soon. Kind regards, Killeavy Castle Estate
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
garystewart707 wrote a review Feb 2024
Belfast, United Kingdom1 contribution
The hotel is fabulous. The warm welcome continued throughout our stay. All staff were so pleasant. The views are just stunning. Our room was spacious and spotless. Food was excellent and we enjoyed some time exploring the estate, both on foot and on electric bikes which are available for hire directly from the hotel. We also had an opportunity to use the spa facilities twice. A 90 minute slot was available on the afternoon we arrived and the morning of departure. Again, staff were superb. I absolutely recommend a visit.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Killeavy Management, Guest Services / Front Office at Killeavy Castle Estate
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with such wonderful feedback on your recent stay. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed all that you experienced especially while relaxing in our Spa or exploring our woodlands with the onsite electric bikes. We look forward to welcoming you back to Killeavy Castle Estate soon. Kind regards, Killeavy Castle Estate
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Chassa81 wrote a review Feb 2024
Ely, United Kingdom14 contributions8 helpful votes
Food quite averageand overpriced…The ciabatta starter was half of a panini with a slice of ham and a slice of mozzarella, 10.50£, expectations were quite high for the price but it appeared like a tired effort . I had the steak and for the price it was really middle of the road. Location and service is great and can’t fault any of the staff; It really would’ve been an experience if the cuisine lived up to the price and surroundings. Please look at your bill when you pay! You might be charged more than the price reported in the menu!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Killeavy Management, Guest Services / Front Office at Killeavy Castle Estate
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your recent dining visit. We aim for all of our guests to have the most enjoyable time with us and so it is unfortunate to read that on this occasion this was not the case. Your comments will be considered as we move forward to enhance our guest journey. If you wish to continue this matter further, please contact info@killeavycastle.com. We hope to be able to welcome you back to Killeavy Castle Estate in the future. Kind regards, Killeavy Castle Estate
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
seanmcglinchey123 wrote a review Feb 2024
Toome, United Kingdom1 contribution
Pool and spa area very small holds about 6 people , no gym was disappointing, steak was slightly chewy but all in all meal was still very tasteful, very friendly staff , nice location and was relaxing stay, just wouldn’t be rushing back
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Killeavy Management, Guest Services / Front Office at Killeavy Castle Estate
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your recent stay. We are glad that you had a relaxing stay with us however it is unfortunate to read that on this occasion we did not meet your expectations. We do not have a gym in the hotel, however have plenty of woodland walks and hirable bikes which guests are welcome to use during their stay. It is our aim to ensure that all of our guests have the most enjoyable experience, and so your comments will be taken on board as we go forward to enhance our guest journey. We hope to be able to welcome you back to Killeavy Castle Estate in the future. Kind regards, Killeavy Castle Estate
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Aidan C wrote a review Feb 2024
Dublin, Ireland6 contributions
A very enjoyable night away with spa, 7 course tasting menu with wine pairing. Breakfast was great too. Got a chance to recharge, in a great environment, will be back again for sure, highly recommend.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Killeavy Management, Guest Services / Front Office at Killeavy Castle Estate
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with such wonderful feedback on your recent stay. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed all that you experienced especially while dining in Gullion at Killeavy with the taste of the estate menu. We look forward to being able to welcome you back to Killeavy Castle Estate soon. Kind regards, Killeavy Castle Estate
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Newry area.
PRICE RANGE
€198 - €260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomNorthern IrelandCounty DownNewry
NUMBER OF ROOMS
45
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

KILLEAVY CASTLE ESTATE - UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Price Comparison (Newry, Northern Ireland) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Killeavy Castle Estate
Which popular attractions are close to Killeavy Castle Estate?
Nearby attractions include Slieve Gullion Forest Park (0.9 km), Ring of Gullion (0.9 km), and Newry Cathedral (7.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Killeavy Castle Estate?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Killeavy Castle Estate?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, blackout curtains, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Killeavy Castle Estate?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Killeavy Castle Estate?
Yes, free parking, a parking garage, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Killeavy Castle Estate?
Conveniently located restaurants include Loft27, Courtneys Steakhouse, and Art Bar Funkel.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Killeavy Castle Estate?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a sauna, and locker rooms available in the fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Killeavy Castle Estate?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Killeavy Castle Estate offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Killeavy Castle Estate?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Ballymacdermot Cairn (4.6 km) and Killevy Churches (1.5 km).
Is Killeavy Castle Estate accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.