We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The County Arms

Show Prices
#5 of 6 Hotels in Truro
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The County Arms
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

411 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 402: English reviews
Truro, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Always fairly reliable and excellent staff service. This is a 3 star place and the prices are about right. We visit here often and it delivers what you would expect; sometimes it surpasses expectations, sometimes it is under par. Not somewhere to go for a romantic meal, but if you fancy a decent portion this is the place.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mobwort
Truro, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very helpful staff, both front desk and room staff. Very clean, good room, pity it overlooked just the outside bar area, and a tiny bit noisy. Comfortable bed Excellant stay Central position for those coming by train, good bus links

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Goodfoody47
StAustellManagement, Manager at The County Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for your 5* review, We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I was down for Christmas drinks with my team in Cornwall and they booked me into the county arms. I stayed on a friday night so it was quite lively but the rooms were silent. Room was nice and spacious with the usuall tea and coffee nice sized bathroom ect, the room was finished to a modern design and to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Scott S
StAustellManagement, Receptionist at The County Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely 5* review. We are delighted to hear you had a great stay and found the hotel to be quiet. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Amazing staff, very polite and very helpful. Lovely patio, perfect for summer at all times. Imagine having a coffee with a view, while watching the train whizz past. Great food too, with amazing deals every day of the week. Very clean. Must visit St Ives, accessible by both bus (outside the hotel) and the train (from Truro station). I would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lostmysoultocoffee
StAustellManagement, Manager at The County Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely 5* review! We are thrilled to hear that our food was amazing and that our staff were friendly and polite, we look forward to welcoming you back in the not so distant future for another 5* visit!

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 December 2016

Room clean & loads of space, bed comfortable, bathroom roomy, staff very friendly & helpful. Tea, coffee & biscuits in room nice selection. Not much of a walk into town handy for the shops & bars. We paid for breakfast the only complaint is the food came on cold plates, We would stay again,

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Debbie58_12
StAustellManagement, Manager at The County Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review!. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Reviewed 30 November 2016

Rooms are clean & comfortable but what makes this hotel special is the service from the lovely staff. I had an accident & broke my leg & they were so helpful it made a difficult situation a lot easier

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui L
StAustellManagement, Reception at The County Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for your 5* review, we are thrilled to hear that what we did, albeit a small gesture, made the situation easier for you. We always aim to do all that we can for our guests and it's great to hear that we aided you during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future...

Walkhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 November 2016

We stayed here for two nights as it is handy for hospital visiting. We had a toddler with us and this caused no problems. The staff were wonderful, the hotel staff were great. The rooms are large and modern with excellent sound-proofed glazing - it is adjacent to one of the main roads into Truro. We had good breakfasts in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richardt1008
StAustellManagement, Reception at The County Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing us here at The County Arms, we are glad to hear that your stay was problem free, this is exactly what we aim for with every one of our guests. We are also thrilled to hear that our high standards of customer care and satisfaction are coming across with guests visits. We have made the kitchen...

Newquay Cornwall
Reviewed 20 November 2016

Food not up to usual standard requested certain things be left of the meal & they weren't , as for the room I found to be very expensive overheated to the extent it was too hot to sleep also because we had a front room was very noisey due to traffic & drunks going past shouting , surely triple glazing...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rodhg
StAustellManagement, Reception at The County Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We regret that you did not sleep well and can only advise that on future visits you make our reception team aware who will assist with the air conditioning and happily move you to a quieter room whenever possible. We are disappointed that our usual high standard of food was not achieved on your visit,...

Redruth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 November 2016

to day the food was not up to their normal standard my food test very poor brown bread test like it was 3 days old and the cheese chips test like it was cold i was not very happy with the food to day i just think is was bushiness that why it was not like their normal standard. But...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank david b
StAustellManagement, Receptionist at The County Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are disappointed that the food was not up to our usual standards. We hope to reassure you that this was a one off and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future for a more enjoyable visit.

Cornwall, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 November 2016 via mobile

I often eat here, this is another of my chosen restaurants in Truro .. my partner and I ate here this evening (14/11/16) and it was spot on, food came out fast, good service and tasty food! Couldn't even fit in dessert! I have eaten here with children aswell and still a nice evening out :)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sarah_cox4
StAustellManagement, Receptionist at The County Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely 5* review. We are delighted that you enjoyed the food and service. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

70 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (43)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Truro hotels
2.2 km away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 6 in Truro
752 reviews
1.4 km away
Merchant House
Merchant House
#4 of 6 in Truro
350 reviews
4.9 km away
Premier Inn Truro Hotel
Premier Inn Truro Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carnon Downs
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Mannings Hotel
Mannings Hotel
#2 of 6 in Truro
548 reviews
4.2 km away
The Old Vicarage
The Old Vicarage
#1 of 38 in Truro
244 reviews
0.7 km away
The Donnington Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The County Arms, Truro is one of Truro's most popular places to meet, eat, drink and now stay. County Arms offer 33 top quality en-suite bedrooms, in addition to its popular bar and restaurant. The central mid-peninsula location makes this the perfect stopover for business trips and leisure breaks in Truro and Cornwall- Includes a 24 Hour reception desk ... more   less 

Additional Information about The County Arms

Address: Highertown, Truro TR1 3PY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro
Price Range: €77 - €125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The County Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The County Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The County Arms Hotel Truro
The County Arms Truro, Cornwall
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The County Arms staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The County Arms staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Top floor rear”
 of 5 bubbles Goodfoody47, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We had ground floor back room very quiet”
 of 5 bubbles Debbie58_12, 15 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at the back have a lovely view”
 of 5 bubbles 753jacquil, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I can't comment on the other rooms; ours overlooked the car park and was fine. Beware the horrendous rush-hour traffic when travelling here.”
 of 5 bubbles Richardt1008, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Get a room with views over the lovely valley.”
 of 5 bubbles 735mylesw, 20 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay