We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Railway Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
The Railway Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

60 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 59: English reviews
Start your review of The Railway Inn
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Went to railway inn for dinner Sunday 16/04/17 .What can I say staff excellent food excellent. Sunday carvery at it best .beef .pork .Turkey and vegetables and all the trimings. Very good value. Plenty of food I ask them to stop putting meat on my plate as I had to much .looking forward to visit again . THANK YOU

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alan R
Todmorden, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 March 2017

visited on a Friday evening for a meal only - did not use hotel so can not comment - busy bar area but made to feel welcome. good range of food & drinks at reasonable prices - excellent meals with fresh veg.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JohnBoy8175
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 February 2017 via mobile

On a Sunday they do a great Sunday lunch carvery. They have three size meals from £4.95 to £7.95 for one course. The only difference is the amount of meat. The food is very good with a choice of meats. The only problem is that the restaurant is quite small and they put in too many tables so there is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank purpletravelat
Reviewed 2 January 2017 via mobile

Thank you for the service good hot enjoyable good .nine people all served together piping hot food.will be back for more soon.excellent value for the money . Good to have fresh food not frozen. chips home made .about 25 minute wait not complaining about that

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alan R
Carly B, Owner at The Railway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the lovely review, look forward to seeing you again. Regards Carly @ The Railway Inn

Reviewed 7 December 2016 via mobile

We food was excellent I had the fillet steak with lovely onion rings and chips and my wife had the steak pie, the proportions were sizable, the staff were friendly and efficient. We had quite a few drinks in the bar where we found the staff and the locals very friendly, all in all we had a very nice stay,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Paul G
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 October 2016

Typical pub food with generous helpings served by friendly obliging staff. In our group we enjoyed the fish and chips and sausage and mash with appropriate vegetables. The treacle sponge for the sweet just about finished us off. Would return. Not the most salubrious setting as it is a very much a local pub supported by regulars.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank regora186336
Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

We came to stay at the campsite which was fine. On Saturday night we went into the pub and were surprised by the amount of F'ing and blinding, not just on a table but shouted loudly across the pub early evening, even though pub wasn't too busy. Plus language not appropriate for a pub. These we feel were the locals...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 17tamjo
Saxilby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 August 2016 via mobile

I visited the railway today 20 Aug with my wife daughter and grandson and what a find ,the food was wonderful and the girls were efficient , friendly , ( and pretty ) I can't praise them all enough ,thankyou we will deffinately return . I can't think of anything better than a few nights on the well kept caravan...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Graham B
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 August 2016

Well. It is a typical old style pub. Nothing special, decor a bit dated and it has a small restaurant area (in the conservatory). However, the food is good quality and well made home style cooking. Thoroughly enjoyed the meal. Very tasty. Will be going back again. Thanks

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank wombatperry
Burntisland, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed at the railway in for two nights whilst in Lincoln burying my Nannas ashes. There was 10 of us in total that stayed, all different ages. My mum had her camper in the grounds which was £12 per night including power & water. The rest of us stayed in the lovely little self contained cottages which were only...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Nova G
Carly B, Owner at The Railway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the lovely review, so happy you all enjoyed your stay with us here at The Railway Inn hope to see you all again soon.

15 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thorpe On The Hill
1.9 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bentley Hotel & Spa
2.9 km away
Ibis Lincoln
Ibis Lincoln
#1 of 2 in North Hykeham
684 reviews
2.8 km away
The Pride of Lincoln
The Pride of Lincoln
#2 of 2 in North Hykeham
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Eagles Guest House
Eagles Guest House
#1 of 3 in North Hykeham
327 reviews
4.7 km away
The Loudor
The Loudor
#2 of 3 in North Hykeham
134 reviews
2.6 km away
The Gables Guest House
The Gables Guest House
#3 of 3 in North Hykeham
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about The Railway Inn

Address: Station Road, Thorpe On The Hill LN6 9BS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Thorpe On The Hill
Price Range: €35 - €47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly so you can book your The Railway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Railway Hotel Lincoln
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Railway Inn staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Sutton in Ashfield, United Kingdom

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Railway Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“This is not a hotel, its a pub, they do have individual external rooms to stay over”
BongoandGert, 27 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at the back best”
alanmm2013, 19 Jun 2015 | Read review
“Room 4 offers a lovely view on the back field”
joshbX1483TV, 18 Jun 2015 | Read review
“All rooms have their own access and albeit next to the railway line its quiet and I'm not deaf!”
Vermodi, 30 Aug 2012 | Read review
4 of 4