We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Best Western Hotel Royan Ocean

Save
Share
57 avenue des Congres Plage De Foncillon, 17200, Royan France
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$95
View deal
Booking.com
US$94
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
US$95
View deal
PricelineUS$94
TravelocityUS$95
HurbUS$100
View all 16 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (100)
Room & Suite (30)
Dining (13)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#8 of 43 hotels in Royan
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Bw
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Beach
Walking tours
Children's television networks
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Street parking
Wifi
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Safe
Telephone
Bottled water
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Bay View
Ocean View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish
454Reviews0Q+A13Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 166
  • 201
  • 57
  • 16
  • 14
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
klb17160 wrote a review Oct 2022
Matha, France1 contribution1 helpful vote
This is a marvellous hotel, right on the seafront and within easy walking distance of beaches, shops and restaurants. The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful and made our stay a very pleasant one. Our room had wonderful views out to sea and across the local beach. Certainly planning on staying here again.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Michel ROCAILLEUX, Owner at Best Western Hotel Royan Ocean
Responded 25 Oct 2022
Hello, Thank you for your good comment on your recent stay at our property. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon. Yours sincerely, Michel ROCAILLEUX General Manager Best Western Hotel Royan Ocean
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
shazzahutch wrote a review Jul 2022
Cork, Ireland68 contributions33 helpful votes
+1
Must say enjoyed our stay here. A hotel that has gotten rid of the fuss of a hotel. The receptionist was very welcoming and helpful. The room was lovely and bright, small but had everything. Breakfast was efficient and everything happened within a few feet of the reception area. Would recommend
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: We had bikes. They were locked outside the front door. Close to port and restaurants
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Michel ROCAILLEUX, Owner at Best Western Hotel Royan Ocean
Responded 14 Jul 2022
Hello, Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon. Yours sincerely, Michel ROCAILLEUX General Manager Best Western Hotel Royan Ocean
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rui Oliveira wrote a review Jun 2021
Bordeaux, France150 contributions61 helpful votes
Although simple in its décor it was very clean and looked like it went through a recent renovation which updated and upgraded the hotel status. The rooms were clean and the mattress was good although the size was small even for a 3-stars hotel but it is all you need for a good night sleep in a weekend getaway. Breakfast was pretty good with enough choices and it was served according to the new safety measures which was a good detail to be added. The staff was very friendly and welcoming. The location could not be better as it was in front one of the main beaches of Royan and right next to the port.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel-cmanager, La Reception at Best Western Hotel Royan Ocean
Responded 3 Jun 2021
Dear Guest, We'd like to thank you for this positive review of your stay. We are delighted that you enjoyed our extensive breakfast buffet, such an important start to the day and are pleased you appreciate the hygiene measures put in place. Your comfort and well-being are a top priority during these challenging times. We are sorry for any inconvenience due to the size of your bed. We do have different sizes in some rooms and our team would be very happy to reserve you one of these on your next visit. Nevertheless, we are pleased that you enjoyed our strategic location. We look forward to seeing you again on a future occasion. Best wishes, La Reception
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
okonyu814886 wrote a review Dec 2019
1 contribution
Very friendly reception, small but comfortable room, comfortable matrasses, free parking on the street. great breakfast. We were upgraded to the 6th floor for better sea view. reception is very helpful with local restaurants advices.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2019
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel-cmanager, La Reception at Best Western Hotel Royan Ocean
Responded 13 Dec 2019
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable review. It is always rewarding for our team to be commended by a guest and we are truly delighted to hear that you received a courteous and professional service. We are pleased you were able to make the most of our tasty breakfast buffet, an ideal way to help start the day. Thank you for the kind mention of our parking facility. We would like to let you know that we do offer rooms of varied sizes. Please do not hesitate to specify your requirements upon your next arrival. We look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards, La Reception
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Marie R wrote a review Nov 2019
Niagara Falls, Canada1082 contributions353 helpful votes
+1
Very friendly front desk staff insisted on helping us unload the car. Nice cheery nautical themed rooms that are updated, clean and welcoming. Situated right across the street from the ocean, kitty corner to the ferry which we will be taking to Bordeaux in the morning, (short cut across the bay). Rooms have beautiful clean bedding , coffee maker, (tea and coffee), shampoo, soap, hair dryer and Kleenex. Pet friendly.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: upper floor with ocean view
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel-cmanager, La Reception at Best Western Hotel Royan Ocean
Responded 4 Nov 2019
Dear Marie, Thanks for this sympathetic review related to your stay Foncillon hotel in Royan. Your kind words about the welcome you received upon your arrival are much appreciated. We do try to make sure all our guests have the best experience they can with us and we will always go that 'extra mile' to ensure your expectations are met. We are glad to know that your room and amenities met your expectations and that our location was convenient for you. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the future. Kind regards, La Reception
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Amanda B wrote a review Oct 2019
19 contributions
Our room was well-appointed and looked like it had been recently renovated to a high standard, including the bathroom. However, said bathroom was little more than a cupboard and totally unpractical. For example, you could not dry yourself in the bathroom after a shower because there wasn't enough room to use the towel! A broad-shouldered male could not turn around at the sink whilst brushing their teeth and literally had to reverse out of the nook to walk away... The room itself was very small with barely enough room to walk around the bed (as long as you weren't carrying something). Bed too firm for our liking but appreciate that this is subjective and guests are all different. The staff were friendly and the price was OK for the area but the 'free parking' was simply out on the street rather than on the hotel grounds as perhaps the 'free parking' listed in the Tripadvisor information might suggest.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel-cmanager, La Reception at Best Western Hotel Royan Ocean
Responded 13 Oct 2019
Dear Amanda, We thank you for taking the time to give your opinion about your stay at Hotel Foncillon, Royan. While we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our friendly service, we regret that you were not entirely satisfied with your room and facilities. Our hotel does offer rooms of different sizes and categories and our reception team is always happy to help you with choosing the one that best suits your needs; please do not hesitate to request assistance in this regard. We have also duly noted your comments regarding the parking and will pass along your remarks to the appropriate department. Nevertheless, we hope to welcome you back for a more enjoyable stay in the future. Best wishes, La Reception
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
readercomm wrote a review Aug 2019
Christchurch, United Kingdom33 contributions8 helpful votes
Our fourth visit to this hotel proved as positive as the earlier ones - with redecorated rooms and other improvements. We were greeted like old friends, and our room was really comfortable, with air conditioning very welcome on the hottest days. we wikk sureky be back!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Some rooms have sea views
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel-cmanager, La Reception at Best Western Hotel Royan Ocean
Responded 6 Aug 2019
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your feedback. We are delighted to know that your fourth stay with us was as pleasant as expected! The acknowledgement of the quality of service on the part of a recent guest is always appreciated and encourages us to constantly improve our performance. We are glad our prime location was convenient for you. We sure hope to welcome you back for another memorable stay. Best wishes, La Reception
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
gbabin441391 wrote a review Aug 2019
Le Mans City, France1 contribution
Good hotel without parking in town center, awful 1hour to find a parking in august also it s a good hotel with a friendly team. Next to the harbor you find shops, restaurants,boat locations and you can take ferry boat to le verdon.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2019
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Very small
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel-cmanager, La Reception at Best Western Hotel Royan Ocean
Responded 5 Aug 2019
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable review. We are glad that you had a pleasant stay with us. The acknowledgement of the quality of service on the part of a recent guest is always appreciated and encourages us to constantly improve our performance. Thank you for appreciating our location. We are sorry for any inconvenience caused due to the parking. We have taken note of your remarks. We hope to welcome you back. Best wishes, La Reception
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
dms666 wrote a review Jul 2019
Ottawa, Canada372 contributions206 helpful votes
My family (wife, 2 kids) booked a room here to break up a long drive to have quick access to the ferry first thing in the morning. From the outside the hotel may not look that appealing. However, our room was surprisingly modern. spacious, and spotlessly clean. We had a balcony (with chairs and couches) overlooking the road (and hotel entrance) below with an amazing view of the beach and ocean across the road. Breakfast was perfectly adequate with the usual contiental items but also included a couple of hot dishes which was a nice surprise. Staff were friendly and helpful. Check-in and check-out were a breeze. We were perfectly happy with this hotel with its great location across from the beach and less than a minute from the ferry.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel-cmanager, La Reception at Best Western Hotel Royan Ocean
Responded 25 Jul 2019
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable review. We are glad that you had a pleasant stay at the Hotel Foncillon. We are pleased to know that the room was to your liking. Thank you for appreciating our modernity and our location. A message of satisfaction from a recent guest is always a reward and incentive for our team members to continue with their efforts to uphold our high standards. It’s great to know we were able to tempt your taste buds with the wide selection on offer on our breakfast buffet. Our dedicated team always aim to deliver the best experience possible to all our guests and you will always find them ready to assist at any time. We look forward to welcoming you back. Best wishes, La Reception
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
CodfordWanderer wrote a review Jul 2019
Warminster, United Kingdom93 contributions67 helpful votes
We arrived at the hotel after a long hot drive. The receptionist was extremely helpful and courteous; she helped us to find a car park space, offered to carry our luggage and dealt with our arrival exceptionally well. Our room was attractively decorated and spotlessly clean, with a sea view. There was only a very small bar and the hotel did not serve dinner. Breakfast was served in a very small dining area but was perfectly adequate. The strong smell of cigarette tobacco from the smoking area was not pleasant. This is a good place to break a long journey.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel-cmanager, La Reception at Best Western Hotel Royan Ocean
Responded 9 Jul 2019
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. Your kind words about the welcome you received upon your arrival are much appreciated. We do try to make sure all our guests have the best experience they can with us and we will always go that 'extra mile' to ensure your expectations are met. We are glad to know that your room met your expectations and that you enjoyed your sea view. As you rightly mentioned we do not serve food except for breakfast here. However, there are a variety of good restaurants so close by to us, which we find many of our guests enjoy experiencing different dishes. We have noted your remark and apologise for any inconvenience with regards to the cigarette odour. However, we are a non smoking hotel. The smoking area is located further away outside the hotel, on a small terrace. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back to hotel Foncillon. Kind regards La Reception
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$84 - US$91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Inter-Hotel Foncillon
LOCATION
FranceNouvelle-AquitaineCharente-MaritimeRoyan
NUMBER OF ROOMS
28
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BEST WESTERN HOTEL ROYAN OCEAN - UPDATED 2022 Reviews & Price Comparison (France) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Best Western Hotel Royan Ocean
Which popular attractions are close to Best Western Hotel Royan Ocean?
Nearby attractions include Notre-Dame de Royan (0.4 km), Gueuleton (0.4 km), and Le Floor (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Best Western Hotel Royan Ocean?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a lounge, and breakfast buffet.
What food & drink options are available at Best Western Hotel Royan Ocean?
Guests can enjoy a lounge and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Best Western Hotel Royan Ocean?
Yes, free public parking nearby and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Best Western Hotel Royan Ocean?
Conveniently located restaurants include L'Instant, Le Petit Bouchon, and Le Carrelet.
Is Best Western Hotel Royan Ocean located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.8 km away from the centre of Royan.
Are pets allowed at Best Western Hotel Royan Ocean?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Best Western Hotel Royan Ocean offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and conference facilities during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Best Western Hotel Royan Ocean?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and French.
Are there any historical sites close to Best Western Hotel Royan Ocean?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Grottes du Régulus (9.2 km), Villas Soulacaises (13.6 km), and Port Du Ribérou (9.6 km).
Does Best Western Hotel Royan Ocean have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.