We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Park Royal Hotel & Spa

Save
Share
Stretton Road, Stretton, Warrington WA4 4NS England
Lowest prices for your stay
Official Hotel Site
US$126
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
FindHotel
US$94
View deal
Booking.comUS$114
Expedia.comUS$114
TravelocityUS$114
View all 17 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (420)
Room & Suite (144)
Dining (88)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Contactless check-out
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 3 hotels in Stretton
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Park Royal, set in beautiful Cheshire Countryside yet easily accessible to motorway links, is the ideal location for a leisurely weekend or business trip. Ideally located to visit many of the North West attractions, or as a stop over on your way to the North or South. Our friendly team will ensure that you stay is everything you are looking for, our team of Chefs will provide excellent quisine and our spa therapists can pamper you to perfection.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Massage
Salon
Steam room
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Seating area
Telephone
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Languages Spoken
English
2082Reviews21Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 973
  • 661
  • 248
  • 115
  • 85
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
ShiftZZ wrote a review Sep 2022
Warwickshire, United Kingdom651 contributions262 helpful votes
1st the rooms ate very clean, the hotel is spotless. Some issues. The hotel states its dog friendly, this is true, but it's not clear on their website that not all rooms are dog friendly, so the superior room we had booked was downgraded, and a £20 fee added as a charge for the dog. If you are dog friendly then make sure you fully reflect this in the website. Evening meal in the restaurant, the staff were very friendly and efficient. It would appear that the full online menu is not available in the restaurant , a cut down version. Ok. We were advised that the Thai Green Curry was not available. Ok. We ordered, soon afterwards, we were advised that the beer battered onion rings was also off the menu. Hmm, so every is not freshly cooked, but pulled out of the freezer. Even an average chef could manage to produce a batter and cook onion rings, not difficult . Right, the room, is fine, but no ability to regulate the heat, reduced opening on the windows, didn't help. Right, breakfast. We arrived at 8:40, the restaurant was fairly empty. We were taken to a table. The staff appeared to be totality uninterested. We went to the buffet bar, no eggs, asked and were advised they were cooked to order. So we ordered two poached eggs and two fried eggs. No. They can't do fried eggs, only poached or scrambled. That confirms that nothing is actually cooked. No eggs, are they being serious? The scrambled arrived it appear to be swimming in some liquid, not pleasant. Right the cold buffet bar looked poor, the yoghurt was empty. No white bread to toast. The staff were not bothered to ask if we wanted our coffee topping up. At precisely 9:00 AM the staff kicked into action and cleared the hot food. I asked when did they stop serving, they answered 9:30, but they cleared everything away at 9:00. Paying customers who turned up after 9 looked dismayed at the empty hot buffet. The uninterested stsff had to go and get the food from the kitchen .I've stayed in a large number of hotels ranging from guest houses to 5 star, but have never seen such poor attitude at breakfast, a failure to fry an egg. Needs looking at..
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Michl B wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution
After reading reviews i thought this is a good hotel to stay with our 3 year old. How wrong i was. Overpriced, unfriendly, dirty. Its a miracle to me where they got the 4 stars from. Breakfast was horrible, liquid scrambled eggs, dry bacon, super sugary juices and no other choices then English breakfast. Staff doesn't know how things at the breakfast bar work. Reception told us to pay at checkout and that was fine the first day. However second day staff at breakfast bar insisted we need to prepay and therfore refused a 3 year old his breakfast, unbelievable. Spa facilities all broken and closed. Very strange that jacuzzi, sauna and steam room are all broken at the same time despite being independent from each other systems?? Did tgey jyst close them to safe energy costs while still charging customers the full price?? Who knows? No discount to our room offered for this. We booked this hotel especially because it had spa facilities. Will never cone back here and I can only recomend to avoid this place.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Steven Lawson, General Manager at The Park Royal Hotel & Spa
Responded 4 days ago
Dear michlb2016 Thank you for your feedback, I am surprised that you did not enjoy your breakfast as we do receive multiple comments on the good quality and choice of our breakfast offering, however i will address your comments with the Head Chef. With regards to the Leisure department we had an unforeseen breakdown in the plant room this resulted in some emergency works that affected the operation of the club, I am sorry that this affected your stay the issue has been rectified but I can assure you that it was something that was out of our control. I am sorry that you feel you wont recommend or stay with us again in the future. Regards Steven Lawson General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Claire P wrote a review Sep 2022
Crewe, United Kingdom28 contributions4 helpful votes
+1
Very well organised and the staff were all polite and friendly from the lady on reception, the gentleman who served the lunch and the therapist (Davina - Great Massage). It was all explained to me, there was coffee / tea you could help yourself to in the reception area. The pool area was warm (which is important if you are lounging around the pool), all the facilities were clean and working including the sauna, spa, jacuzzi and changing rooms. The lunch was really nice and imaginative (served in a box style platter) and again that area was warm, which i know seems daft to mention, but when you are in your robe it matters! Will definitely be going back.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Did not stay the night.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Steven Lawson, General Manager at The Park Royal Hotel & Spa
Responded 4 days ago
Dear clairep294 Thank you for your lovely review regarding your spa experience with us, please be assured that I will share all of your lovely comments with the team and we do hope that you can visit us again for another enjoyable and relaxing spa day. Kind regards Steven Lawson General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Amy G wrote a review Sep 2022
Leeds, United Kingdom14 contributions1 helpful vote
The room was pleasant and warm, the bed was large however the headboard was so squeaky that you literally couldn’t move. The pillows weren’t great either. Not the best quality considering the room was £190 per night. The biggest disappointment was the food, portion sizes were a joke. Considering fish and chips were £17.99, I had a single fish goujon (picture attached). I’ve had more at the local chippy for £7.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Steven Lawson, General Manager at The Park Royal Hotel & Spa
Responded 4 days ago
Dear amygasc0igne Thank you for your review we regularly receive many positive comments regarding our bedroom package and I am sorry that you did not enjoy it. I have noted your comment relating to our food and beverage pricing and can assure you that our pricing is in line with other same standard establishments in the local area. Kind regards Steven Lawson General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nicholas C wrote a review Sep 2022
3 contributions
During a difficult time for myself and my family, the staff and management were excellent. Everyone, in all departments treated us, but especially my parents, with respect, kindness, thoughtfulness and friendliness. We were extremely touched, and words cannot express the family's gratitude. Thank you once again very much and we hope to return soon.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Steven Lawson, General Manager at The Park Royal Hotel & Spa
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Nicholas C Thank you for you lovely feedback I was delighted to read your review and please be assured that i will share all of your feedback with the team. Best wishes, Steven Lawson General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nicci T wrote a review Sep 2022
4 contributions
Stayed at this hotel as it seemed like the best one in Warrington but it wasn't great. I wouldn't say its a 4 star, its a low 3 star but I guess the facilities make it 4. The staff were nice. I tried to call for room service but nobody answered!! Rang twice and for a long time! We wanted prosecco as it was my sisters wedding day so we never got it!! The room wasn't cleaned properly, hair on the floor in the bathroom, toilet had stains. Not great especially during covid times. I wouldn't stay here again, I dont think it's worth the prices. The pool facilities were probably the only good thing about the hotel. I wouldn't advise you stay here if you can avoid. The breakfast was also terrible, very low quality food. They ran out of non dairy milk too so my mum couldn't have a cup of tea at breakfast. Disappointing as it was for a special occasion.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Steven Lawson, General Manager at The Park Royal Hotel & Spa
Responded 4 days ago
Dear 352niccit Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. I have addressed your feedback with the Head Housekeeper and Food and Beverage Manager to ensure that the issues your describe are rectified. I am sorry that you encountered such issues but I am certain that we have addressed these accordingly. Once again thank you for your detailed and constructive feedback. Kind regards, Steven Lawson General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jilly wrote a review Sep 2022
21 contributions2 helpful votes
Gym Easy to find lots of parking Clean staff okay, Pool very busy, not many private changing cubicles. 4 hair dryers. Only one set of straighteners at the end of the hairdryers. Have to stand over person drying hair to use them. Needs more straighteners at separate section. Very limited classes available Especially on Saturday & Sunday.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: If they have wedding at weekend very busy
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Steven Lawson, General Manager at The Park Royal Hotel & Spa
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear jillyMaster Thank you for you review I have shared your feedback with Amanda the Health Club Manager and the appropriate action will be taken. Kind regards Steven Lawson General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A8483YNandrewf wrote a review Sep 2022
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom39 contributions5 helpful votes
We have been twice recently having been attending for 10 years. We booked a suite for two nights on arrival we were told we could only have one night in the suite ??? Second trip booked and checked they had electric chargers told they did on arrival it wasn’t working and hadn’t been for 3 months. Sadly the hotel couldn’t even find a plug for me to connect to very unhelpful.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Steven Lawson, General Manager at The Park Royal Hotel & Spa
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear A8483Yandrewf Thank you for your review and I am sorry that you did not enjoy our hotel like many of our other guests do. I have noted your comments regarding the charges which i will address with the maintenance team. Kind regards Steven Lawson General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Terry M wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution
Having stayed at this hotel several times and have seen various issues one team that always stands out is Karen and her team that look after you at breakfast. Nothing is ever to much for them and they will help with everything. Once I stayed with a disabled lady and they walked round with her every day and got her breakfast. A truly great team. The other part which is good is the spa facilities, is good to come home from work and be able to go for a swim and sit in the jacuzzi.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Steven Lawson, General Manager at The Park Royal Hotel & Spa
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Q4869HDterrym Thank you for your feedback which has been shared with all of the team especially Karen and we do hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Steven Lawson General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Robert N wrote a review Sep 2022
Horton, United Kingdom1 contribution1 helpful vote
Nice clean and comfortable hotel in a good location. Staff were also good and helpful. Unfortunately, it was the food that let it down badly. We had dinner on the first night as part of the package - the "vegetables" was a lettuce leaf !!! and the chicken breast was so tough you could barely cut it, let alone eat it. The breakfasts were swimming in grease and some of the afternoon tea sandwiches were inedible (again part of the package).
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Steven Lawson, General Manager at The Park Royal Hotel & Spa
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Robert N Thank you for your review I am sorry that you were offended by our food offering and did not enjoy it like many of our other guest do. I have shared your feedback with the management team so we can review. Many thanks, Steven Lawson General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$83 - US$136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the park royal hotel stretton, park royal warrington, hotel park royal, park royal hotel warrington
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCheshireWarringtonStretton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
146
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Park Royal Hotel & Spa
Which popular attractions are close to The Park Royal Hotel & Spa?
Nearby attractions include Clue HQ - The Live Escape Game (5.9 km), Cheshire Alpacas (3.8 km), and Vale Royal Falconry Centre (7.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Park Royal Hotel & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The Park Royal Hotel & Spa?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at The Park Royal Hotel & Spa?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Park Royal Hotel & Spa?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Park Royal Hotel & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bold Street House, The Dining Room, and Mr Laus Dim Sum Bar and Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Park Royal Hotel & Spa?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Is The Park Royal Hotel & Spa located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Stretton.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Park Royal Hotel & Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Park Royal Hotel & Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to The Park Royal Hotel & Spa?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Norton Priory Museum and Gardens (7.3 km), Walton Hall and Gardens (3.3 km), and Arley Hall & Gardens (5.7 km).