We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Guesthouse Kvoldstjarnan

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Guesthouse Kvoldstjarnan
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

21 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 12: English reviews
Start your review of Guesthouse Kvoldstjarnan
 Click to rate
Reviewed 12 January 2017

We've made a roadtrip through te South and West of Iceland this winter. This Guesthouse was from far the best we did !! Thorwalter was a great host, and we enjoyed every minute we spend over there. Everything was clean, well organized. Not one negative word about this place. If we're back in Iceland we're definitly staying again at Kvoldstjarnan...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yannick05
Washington Dc, District Of Columbia
Reviewed 21 October 2016

Nice, clean guesthouse. The room was small, but clean. There's a sink in the room and the shower/toilet is shared with two other rooms. The host was friendly and accommodating but I would recommend to call her when you're on your way because she lives in Selfoss which is about 15 minutes down the road. A simple breakfast of bread,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 August 2016

Nice room, shared kitchen, toilet room, and shower room. Although both toilet and shower shared on the ground floor, there were only 3 rooms and you also had a wash basin in the bedroom. Breakfast was a wicker basket in the fridge (juice, yogurt, bread, cheese, butter, marmalade) with also cereals and milk - all good. Overall guesthouse quite new...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GlasgowTonto
Pensacola, Florida
Reviewed 10 August 2016

The owner and his father were great people to talk with and understood English. Room was small but clean and affordable since this was peak tourist time. Located near a excellent restaurant and a gas station that was easy to find. Close to the ocean.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AlanDW1951
Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewed 31 July 2016 via mobile

We spent there one week in beg of July. Everything was just perfect. Room and bathroom were extremely clean, kitchten well equiped. Jacuzzi and BBQ in the backyard made the stay even better. Nice host. THANK YOU, you made our stay in Iceland unforgettable!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Iva B
Reykjavik, Iceland
Reviewed 10 August 2015

this little family run guesthouse is a great place to stay in a small village by the sea, just 10 minutes away from route 1 an easy to find, the lobster place at the end of the street is also amazing, we used the hot tub outside and had a great time while we were there

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Omar_Ingason
Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 25 June 2015

We headed to Stokkseyri simply because a guide book listed the lobster restaurant, Fjorubordid, as one of the top places to eat in Iceland. We were not disappointed. We had a long day of driving and stopped at the restaurant to secure dinner reservations, and inquired about nearby lodging. They recommended Guesthouse Kvoldstjarnan which was only 2 blocks away, and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dawn R
Bjarni M, Owner at Guesthouse Kvoldstjarnan, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your experience at our guesthouse. And we hope you had nice vecation and good experiance in our lovely country, Iceland. You are always welcome to stay with us if you come back to visit Iceland :-)

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 April 2015

Kvoldstjarnan is a great find! The place is spacious, very clean and wonderfully equipped. Breakfast basket was a cute touch and a great way to start a busy adventurous day! We had a great one night stay at this guest house and really enjoyed having it to ourselves :) Thank you.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AlwaysSpeakOut
Bjarni M, Owner at Guesthouse Kvoldstjarnan, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a complimentary review of your stay with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your short stay and hope to see you again next time you visit Iceland.

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night and were very pleased. The rooms were spotless, as was the rest of the building. We enjoyed a lovely breakfast basket and used the hot tub the next morning which was great. There is a fab lobster restaurant just across the street. *** If you arrive to find the building empty, the owner lives next door-...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sam1703
USA
Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

Given how hard it is to find a place to stay during the offseason, we were pleasantly pleased with this place. Took a few phone calls to get in touch with the owner to see if rooms were available, but overall, clean and comfortable. They even provided breakfast for the morning. Great little seafood place nearby too. As with all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SevillesBarber

40 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stokkseyri
29.5 km away
Hotel Borealis
Hotel Borealis
#3 of 8 in Selfoss
168 reviews
19.7 km away
Frost and Fire Hotel
Frost and Fire Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hveragerdi
568 reviews
32.5 km away
Stracta Hotel Hella
Stracta Hotel Hella
#2 of 5 in Hella
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 km away
Hotel Grimsborgir
Hotel Grimsborgir
#1 of 8 in Selfoss
569 reviews
0.5 km away
Guesthouse Heba
Guesthouse Heba
#1 of 3 in Stokkseyri
53 reviews
5.2 km away
Bakki Hostel & Apartments
Bakki Hostel & Apartments
#1 of 2 in Eyrarbakki
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Stokkseyri is an old fishing village on the south coast of Iceland. The beach at Stokkseyri has no equal in Iceland, and here you will also find one of Iceland's most famous lighthouse Knarrarosviti. In Stokkseyri can enjoy horseback riding, kayaking and biking. There is a small pool with hot springs and facilities for disabled people. Restaurant Vid Fjorubordid is a nationally known lobster restaurant every day is visited by many tourists. There is a small nursery with flowers, and it's easy to get to fish, both trout and bait from the beach ... more   less 

Additional Information about Guesthouse Kvoldstjarnan

Address: Stjoernusteinn I 7 | 825 Stokkseyri, Stokkseyri 825, Iceland
Region: Iceland > South Region > Stokkseyri
Price Range: €95 - €279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Guesthouse Kvoldstjarnan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Guesthouse Kvoldstjarnan staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“they grow flowers in greenhouses just 50 meters away”
 of 5 bubbles Omar_Ingason, 10 Aug 2015 | Read review
“If the place is busy, you probably want to be upstairs as this is a two-story guest house.”
 of 5 bubbles DawnR773, 25 Jun 2015 | Read review
2 of 2