We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Traveller (57)
Room & Suite (18)
Dining (2)
Certificate of Excellence
Overview
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Pets Allowed
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (212)
Filter reviews
212 results
Traveller rating
118
69
22
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
118
69
22
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub family room open fire causey pike excellent food evening meal both mornings pie excellent stay full english breakfast comfortable room large bathroom hawes end stayed here for nights beer garden black pudding selection of beers
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 212 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The best pub food ever, great quality, excellent value, met all tastes, dogs allowed. Fantastic beer selection, great location after a hard day walking, must be even lovelier in the summer! Electric hook up for camper vans in the car park, separate building for b...More

Date of stay: December 2018
Thank joannegilder-smith
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great for people like me walking Catbells, although tired I don’t mind the pub decor. The price was good but unfortunately the quality of food was definitely below what I was expecting, disappointing really.

Date of stay: January 2019
Thank SuperDaveBrown
Reviewed 12 December 2018

The food here used to be fabulous but, on our last visit, we were rather disappointed. The standard is nowhere near as high as it used to be and the welcome was not as warm either. It is a lovely spot but think they make...More

Date of stay: December 2018
Thank Jan S
Response from Benandsharon H, Owner at Swinside InnResponded 13 December 2018

Oh so sorry to hear that.! I wonder what we were doing theree

Reviewed 22 November 2018

We arrived in Newlands during the effects of a hurricane. We were staying at the farmhouse across the road. The inn allowed us to park our car in their lot as the farmhouse parking lot had tall trees. One had already hit the house. Despite...More

Date of stay: September 2018
1  Thank ammeran
Reviewed 5 November 2018

We stayed here for two nights and found the food, accommodation and staff to be very good. The place was a bit of a nightmare to find in the dark as the Satnav took us over half a mile away. We stayed in Barrow room,...More

Date of stay: November 2018
Thank Sonya C
View more reviews
About
Description
Traditional, over 300 year old, lakeland pub,with bed and breakfast rooms. We're a short walk from Derwentwater and the iconic Catbells. Traditional bar with open fire places. The location of this hotel is More perfect if you want to explore the lake district, with mountain views from some rooms and all bars. We also have a six bedroom holiday let available. Less
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Meeting Rooms
Non-Smoking Hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Pool
Beachfront
Room Service
Spa
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
6
Price range
US$75 - US$153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Location
United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Newlands Valley
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
6
Price range
US$75 - US$153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Location
United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Newlands Valley
Photos
Traveller (57)
Room & Suite (18)
Dining (2)
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all nearby hotels
The Derwentwater Hotel
965 reviews
1.47 km away
The Highfield Hotel
455 reviews
2.51 km away
Lairbeck Hotel
212 reviews
2.58 km away
The Skiddaw Hotel
883 reviews
2.68 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all nearby restaurants
Swinside Inn
266 reviews
1.06 km away
The Chalet Tearooms and Restaurant
721 reviews
1.39 km away
The Royal Oak Braithwaite
406 reviews
1.22 km away
Farmers Arms
244 reviews
1.32 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all nearby attractions
Nichol End Marine
53 reviews
1.40 km away
Braithwaite General Store
32 reviews
1.18 km away
Alpacaly Ever After
40 reviews
1.42 km away
Derwent Water Marina
61 reviews
1.36 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
waldo34
14 February 2018|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Jan S | Reviewed this property |
They are very obliging so would think they would be able to help you. Give them a ring.
0
Votes
gerryjan
7 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Benandsharon H | Property representative |
Sorry Gerry Usually the answer is yes, but we're closed until 17 March 2017 due to a refurb. Hope you'll try us another time. Lucinda on behalf of Ben and Sharon
0
Votes
Melanie J
22 March 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Lucinda S |
All the rooms are dog friendly
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Rooms with a view of the mountains are the best"
janelledarwen
12 Dec 2018
Read review
"No idea - only had lunch and cup of tea."
martinbI4470UK
8 Sep 2018
Read review
"One with view towards hills."
ScotlandHattie
4 Jun 2018
Read review
"Dale head for families"
66JaniceA
6 May 2018
Read review
Show More 
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing