We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Huilo Huilo Canopy Village

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Neltume
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Huilo Huilo Canopy Village
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

87 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 15: English reviews
Concord, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is one of those times when I wish I could give 2 ratings - a great one for the people who work there and something less than 0 for the lodge itself. Setting aside the conditions of both of our rooms in reino fungi (we moved because the sliding door did not close), which, being charitable, were very rundown,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cindy S
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2015

We stayed in total 4 nights at Huilo Huilo Bio Reserve. We did 2 activities every day - kayaking, hiking, canopying, rafting, etc. We also had the opportunity to meet some of the creators of the magical forest fairies. Each experience was top level, very professional services provided with good quality of the gear. The Nothafagus hotel was super great... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gergana N
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
137 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2015

If only we would have read the reviews first! Doh!!! We heard wonderful things about Huilo Huilo from several friends that have since left Chile. We are currently living in Chile & have done quite a bit of traveling here, and this is by far the worst experience we have had. There is no doubt in my mind that Huilo... More 

Helpful?
9 Thank Kristen B
Huilo Huilo R, Director Comercial at Huilo Huilo Canopy Village, responded to this review

Dear Kristen, We are so sorry to hear you had a disappoiting experience in the Canopy Village and be sure that we are taking proper actions so the things you mentioned will not happen again. Thanks for your generous feedback. Best regards, Rodrigo Mata More 

Santiago Metropolitan Region, Chile
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2015

A beautifull location in the heart of a wilderness region with many waterfalls, amazing rivers, dense forests, snow capped volcanos. A great concept in that it also employs, trains and educated about the Mapoche people and allows one to imagine Chile as it was before European settlement. Pricey but staying in wilderness areas of Chile always is - the food... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank TomEngel
Vina del Mar, Chile
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2015

The natural beauty and unique design of this resort has been utterly neglected by poor management. The entire reserve appears to be ran by teenagers from the town next door, while I'm sure they are lovely people, they have absolutely no clue about hospitality. From reservation to check out, it was a disaster. The website reservation system didn't work and... More 

Helpful?
6 Thank Bonnie W
Sant Cugat del Valles, Spain
Level Contributor
49 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2014

We've spent one week in Huilo Huilo Canopy Village. The experience is amazing. Immersed in the biological reserve we enjoyed amazing very close views of the red deers from our cabaña, including some fights between two young males. The cabanes are charming but totally plain. No beds, just very simple cots and also small table with four basic seats. In... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Francesc P
Geneva, Geneve, Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

The Petermann family has destroyed this paradise. One day they decide to build a water slide then 2 years after nothing is completed. There's construction leftovers everywhere, trees dying, tourists wandering without care for the magnificent woods. There's even the idea to build a sort of gondola to a very small hill... Just to keep charging people and destroying the... More 

Helpful?
16 Thank Ignacio B
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

The hotel is poorly managed and maintained e.g.in the SPA area several windows are broken and the door to the steam bath and out door pool could not open. Our bath room was poorly cleaned (Spider webs and fungus in the corners). We asked the management to provide us another room but was informed that was not possible since we... More 

Helpful?
6 Thank J T
AndreaPetermann, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Huilo Huilo Canopy Village, responded to this review

Dear Sir, We kindly thank you for your comments. We really appreciate them, giving us the oportunity to improve our service and infrastructure. We are really very sorry for the inconvinience that you have described, We apologize for them. We hope, to have the chance to have you in the HUILO HUILO BIOLOGICAL RESERVE again and give you an amazing... More 

Somerset
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

This is a daring and inspiring piece of architecture integrated into the local temperate rain forest and built by local craftspeople. The approach to Eco-tourism is to be commended. We think the person who conceived it, and those who designed and built it, will be disappointed with how it is managed. The electronic door locks did not work, the lifts... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank hkroverSomerset
AndreaPetermann, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Huilo Huilo Canopy Village, responded to this review

Dear Sir, We kindly thank you for your comments. We really appreciate them, giving us the oportunity to improve our service. We are very sorry for the inconvinience that you have described, We apologize for them. We hope, to have the chance to have you in the HUILO HUILO BIOLOGICAL RESERVE again and give you an amazing new experience. Best... More 

Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
73 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

This is a great tree house if you dont have high expectations on the standard inside of the tree house. It is more like camping than an ordinary hotel. Amazing to stay so close to nature and animals and the whole Huilo Huilo area is very exciting. We stayed here 2 nights before moving to the more expensive Nothofagus for... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank RRC_12
AndreaPetermann, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Huilo Huilo Canopy Village, responded to this review
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por su tiempo y por elegirnos para sus vacaciones !!!! esperamos tener la ocasión de poder saludarles nuevamente... More 

95 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (90)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Neltume
3.1 km away
Huilo Huilo Nothofagus Hotel
21.1 km away
Huilo Huilo Montana Magica Lodge
2.9 km away
Huilo Huilo Nawelpi Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Karu Domos del Fuy
Karu Domos del Fuy
#2 of 3 in Neltume
21 reviews
17.8 km away
Patagonia Mawida
Patagonia Mawida
#1 of 11 in Neltume
79 reviews
3.0 km away
Huilo Huilo Reino Fungi Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Imagine sleeping in the branches of a tree and waking up to the sounds of the wind whispering through the leaves and the songs of the forest beings. The days pass by full of nature and life in these cozy tree shelters located on beautiful grassland. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Huilo Huilo Canopy Village

Address: | Camino Internacional, Neltume 7650185, Chile
Region: Chile > Los Rios Region > Neltume
Price Range: €47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Huilo Huilo Canopy Village staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Huilo Huilo Canopy Village staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms seem to be great”
 of 5 bubbles 359gerganan, 15 Oct 2015 | Read review
“We stayed on a high floor and wanted a large balcony - I think a view of the VillaRica Volcano is probably the best.”
 of 5 bubbles TomEngel, 23 Mar 2015 | Read review
“The bathrooms are extremely far away. Get a unit with an en-suite.”
 of 5 bubbles bonniew72, 21 Jan 2015 | Read review
“Ask for a rom which looks over the forest, our picture window looked out over a very public reception and meant we kept the curtains closed.”
 of 5 bubbles hkroverSomerset, 1 Mar 2014 | Read review
“Some of the rooms have bathroom inside the tree house, this is absolutely worth it. There is a shared kitchen so you can make your own breakfast and other meals if you wish.”
 of 5 bubbles RRC_12, 9 Feb 2014 | Read review
5 of 5