We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Casa das Mares 1

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Casa das Mares 1
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

30 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 19: English reviews
Start your review of Casa das Mares 1
 Click to rate
Knokke-Heist, Belgium
Reviewed 2 October 2016

The house is situated on a small island connected to mainland by a sandbank. The views from our room were breathtaking and the location between two beautiful beaches is very special. This is important because you will not want to spend too much time in your room which needs serious renovation. The shower is so small that if you drop...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nancy B
currumbin
Reviewed 4 September 2015

I have read most of the reviews for this establishment and honestly this is the worst place we have stayed for a long while! The view is amazing but that is it. We booked well in advance and requested their biggest room, what we got given was a tiny room that would have made my cat claustrophobic with a bed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pixi46
CasaM1, Proprietário at Casa das Mares 1, responded to this review

Hello. Also we were disappointed with the comment of this customer. Sometimes we have clients that have already come to our house with a defensive attitude. We believe that may be customers who are demanding (and we have many) which is a challenge for us. Most of the times we have been able to satisfy the most demanding customers (as...

Reviewed 2 August 2015 via mobile

Stay here for the views, it's in a gorgeous spot right on the end of the beach. But not if you want a comfortable mattress, a warm shower, wifi or space to put your suitcase (rooms are tiny) This slightly weird hotel (there's a parrot) isn't worth 80euros a night.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Florence B
CasaM1, Owner at Casa das Mares 1, responded to this review

Dear Florence. We were saddened by your assessment. We always try to do my best in the almost 100 years that our house welcomes tourists from around the world. Unfortunately we could not surpass the expectations of all but at least it's always reassuring that the majority is doing exceptionally pleased with our stay at Baleal and Casa das Marés...

Lisbon
Reviewed 22 July 2015

I stayed here for 2 days (weekend, July), and it was a really great experience. The room where I stayed (nº 1) was not large but had enough space for two people and had two windows with stunning views. The breakfast (served between 9.00 and 11.00) was good - bread, butter, cheese, ham, chorizo, jams, cookies, milk, juice and fresh...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MariaAssis
Reviewed 21 April 2015 via mobile

The palace of baleal!the best...:)really nice hosts and a incredible place for spend a few days at baleal.exclusive view and great location to visit the área!the food is incredible also...the best place at the island and baleal!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David G
Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed 21 October 2014

We stayed in Room 1 here recently for 3 nights, and really enjoyed our stay. The owner, Humberto, who lives in the house, and his family, were lovely, and helpful, with advice for restaurants, weather, and places to visit. Our room, no 1, looked out over the little fishermans beach, and towards the main protected beach of the town, and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bairdy10
Fort Collins, Colorado
Reviewed 7 October 2014

We stayed at the Casa das Mares I for two nights in September. The views out the windows and from the front patio are like a postcard. The highlight was strolling out on the very nearby beach for a walk before breakfast. As for the lodging, I would describe it as being similar to a rustic home-stay. It is, and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank trips2take
Darwin, Australia
Reviewed 29 September 2014

Stunning location at tip of Baleal island, with fabulous outlook over ancient church and local fishermen's cove. The owner and her family welcome you into what was their home, and has been in their family for nearly 80 years.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank richardlayton
Kingston, Canada
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We loved our stay in Baleal at the Casa das Mares 1. We were there before the busy tourist season and enjoyed quiet walks on the beautiful beaches and quiet cafe. The family who owns this charming hotel was interesting and helpful. Breakfast on the front terrace overlooking the beach was yummy and plentiful. Our room was wonderful and overlooked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Irene C
Radovljica, Slovenia
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We found the hotel in the Lonely Planet and selected it for its stunning location. If you like the see view than this is the right place to be. The rooms are clean but not too roomy and particularly the bathroom and shower is unreasonable small. Breakfast was nice and plenty and served by the owner who is very helpful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vnucec

14 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baleal
2.9 km away
Hotel Soleil Peniche
Hotel Soleil Peniche
#2 of 10 in Peniche
384 reviews
3.0 km away
MH Peniche
MH Peniche
#1 of 10 in Peniche
299 reviews
9.2 km away
Evolutee Hotel at Royal Obidos Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
Praia D'El Rey Marriott Golf & Beach Resort
1.0 km away
Surfness Lodge
Surfness Lodge
#1 of 8 in Baleal
23 reviews
0.4 km away
No photo provided
Baleal Beach House
#7 of 11 in Ferrel
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Beachfront
Room types
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Baleal island B&B Guesthouse. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Casa das Mares 1

Address: Rua Raul Brandao 1 | Ilha do Baleal, Baleal, Peniche 2520-009, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Leiria District > Peniche > Baleal
Price Range: €79 - €100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Casa das Mares 1 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Casa das Mares 1 staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms have view.”
  • View from Room nº1
 of 5 bubbles MariaAssis, 22 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Room overlooking fishermen's cove is wonderful”
  • View from room over pirate cove
 of 5 bubbles richardlayton, 29 Sep 2014 | Read review
“We stayed in rooms No1 and No2. There were too more rooms which we did not see. Maybe it would be good to ask the owner to show all the rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles Vnucec, 1 May 2014 | Read review
“all rooms are nice!”
 of 5 bubbles Lillejkovn, 11 Aug 2013 | Read review
4 of 4