We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Allans Beach Farmstay

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portobello
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Allans Beach Farmstay
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

16 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 13: English reviews
San Diego, California
Reviewed 15 January 2016

We were traveling with an extended family of 11 and absolutely loved the farm stay! Amazingly beautiful, rustic location easily accommodated our group (using the cottage, shed and sleep out). Sam and Christine were very welcoming and friendly and we enjoyed chatting with them. The most amazing part was the short walk to a pristine beach. We saw penguins and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank momof3inrb
sportneill, Owner at Allans Beach Farmstay, responded to this review

It was great to have you all stay at Allans Beach Farmstay. It is not often that we get a group of your size to stay. So glad that you all enjoyed your visit to the Otago Peninsula and our place. We look forward to hosting you again in the future.

Hood River, Oregon
Reviewed 15 December 2015

Emailed the Farmstay to make a reservation and also supplied to them my phone number in the email. All I received in return was a very cold email stating quote, "can't help you" no more no less in this email... No apologies of possibly being booked or a thank you for visiting their website, NOTHING... Not a very good business...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Carol D
sportneill, Owner at Allans Beach Farmstay, responded to this review

Must have caught me as I was about to go out the door. Sorry. We obviously were not able to help you at the time of your inquiry. Glad you found some where else.

Vail, Colorado
Reviewed 27 February 2015

I loved this place so much that I went back on my 3rd visit to NZ. Sam and Christine were wonderful. I loved the cabin - set up with everything you need - but the short walk to the secluded beach is spectacular... heaven on earth for me.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sleddogs7
sportneill, Owner at Allans Beach Farmstay, responded to this review

Wonderful to have you back to stay again. Thank you for the glowing review.

Barcelona, Spain
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The cottage was rally beautiful as you can see in the photo in tripadvisor. Is for 4 people, great, lots of space, great shower, good cooking area. The place is not brand new or luxurius but is well maintained, clean, cute and romantic. From the kitchen and dinning area you have views throught big windows to the landscape. Enough heathers...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jordiDG68
Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 March 2013

We were recommended to stay at this Farm Stay by a contributor on Trip-adviser,and we were not disappointed.We loved the remoteness of the farm and the whole area has stunning scenery. We were lucky enough to go for an evening drive with Sam and the views over the beaches were stunning and so was the terrain which we drove over.We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nestcottage
Hong Kong
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Our two nights with Sam and Christine Neill at Allans Beach Farmstay was one of the highlights of our recent NZ holiday. We stayed in the cottage which was ideal for our family of 4 and the self-catering nature of the property made a refreshing change from having to find a restaurant every night. You really feel you are an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
UK
Reviewed 12 November 2012

Unbelievable location - it really is 5 minutes to the unspoiled beach where we saw sealions and a penguin. And we briefly heard the sound of the waves before suffering 14 hours of heavy rain. The accommodation is remote (4 kms along a gravel road, when the tarmac runs out) but we saw that as a real advantage as the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Montbelle
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 9 June 2012

We stayed in the Shed, which was equipped with everything we need - right down to the much-needed salt for our cookong! A cosy and homely place, with a warm host we found in Christine. The tubby cat Bronco was quite cute, though he shocked us by meowing outside our front door during one rainy night :) The bed warmers...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank merismer
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 March 2011

Firstly I must say the location is as good as it gets, you have the farm all around you and the beach within 5 minutes walk so this is 10 out of 10 but compared with the rest of New Zealand I found the welcome and accommodation very different here and very disappointing. Both my wife and I had the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank yellows
Chrissy1948, Owner at Allans Beach Farmstay, responded to this review

I am pleased that 'yellow' enjoyed staying at our location. Yes, we do consider ourselves very blessed to live in such a beautiful location and we enjoy sharing it with our guests. Yes, our accommodation is not 5 star but we do not market it as such. The pictures on our web site show our accommodation as it is. I...

Scarborough UK
Reviewed 8 January 2011

Sam And Christine know just how to make you feel welcome in their great farmstay Sams off road tour was incredible and we were priviliged to be able to see the wild life he showed us.We will have very fond memories of our stay with them

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JoyceDodds

22 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portobello
5.4 km away
Larnach Castle Lodge
Larnach Castle Lodge
#7 of 58 in Dunedin
542 reviews
15.3 km away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#10 of 58 in Dunedin
253 reviews
5.5 km away
Camp Estate at Larnach Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 km away
Portobello Motel
Portobello Motel
#1 of 2 in Portobello
406 reviews
2.8 km away
Kaimata Retreat
Kaimata Retreat
#11 of 62 in Dunedin
102 reviews
5.1 km away
Otago Peninsula Motel
Otago Peninsula Motel
#2 of 2 in Portobello
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Beachfront
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Allans Beach Farmstay

Address: R574 Allans Beach Road | No 2 R.D., Portobello, Dunedin 9077, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin > Portobello
Price Range: €90 - €137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Allans Beach Farmstay staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Many other nicer lodgings with good views for hire that really need and appreciate the business”
 of 5 bubbles CarolD555, 15 Dec 2015 | Read review
1 of 1