We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Piazza del Monte 2, 42121, Reggio Emilia Italy
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Package deal
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
ZenHotels.com
US$135
View deal
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (210)
360
Panoramas (34)
Videos (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#1 of 24 hotels in Reggio Emilia
Travellers' Choice
The Hotel Posta is one of the most ancient hotels in Italy. located in the hearth of the town of Reggio Emilia it is a four star hotel with 38 rooms. the meeting room with frescoes from the XIII century are famous and very well known. Breakfast room in liberty style, all rooms are different, gym, bikes, wi fi internet in all areas. Parking space inside the building. perfect location to tour the area between Piacenza and Bologna. the owners have also a farmhouse - cavazzone - in the countryside at 10 miles from the city centre where they produce the famous balsamic vinegar. tours are free of charge for guests that stay for two nights or for guests that will stop for dinner in the farmhouse.
Read more
Hotel links
Special Offer:Package deal

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
0Restaurantswithin 0 km
0Attractionswithin 0 km
Contact
Piazza del Monte 2, 42121, Reggio Emilia Italy
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Guglielmo Marconi Airport56 kmSee all flights
Parma Airport26 kmSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
482Reviews5Q+A36Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 241
  • 185
  • 40
  • 8
  • 8
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Angrydiner19 wrote a review Mar 2020
Elie, United Kingdom2 contributions2 helpful votes
Avoid this place unless you like being insulted and defamed by incompetent management. The hotel location is great but that's as good as it gets. The rooms look like they haven't been decorated since the Allies last liberated this place. Room was very noisy too. Breakfast is really average and staff are surly and rude. We were in the best suite they have and it was shockingly bad so heaven help you if you are in one of their normal rooms. I imagine that, since this review is critical, there will soon be a totally false and defamatory management response beneath it. I almost feel sorry for them because they will likely be out of business soon since very few people will be travelling to this region right now.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: To get a good room, choose a different hotel
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Colin M wrote a review Feb 2020
114 contributions147 helpful votes
Really disappointed with this hotel. Service was shocking. Breakfast was poor and the waitresses were surly. However, special mention needs to be made of the hopeless receptionist. She was incompetent and rude with terrible attitude. This place really needs to refresh the faded decor but more importantly to get rid of some of the awful staff.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from UmbertoHP, Proprietario at Hotel Posta
Responded 3 Mar 2020
Dear Mr Colin, I am the manager and owner of the Hotel Posta. I am absolutely surprised about your review and also really angry! you have reserved for your one night stay, two standard rooms and one economy double room (the cheapest!). at your arrival we have offered three complimentary up gradings to one suite and two junior suites and you thank you a lot my front desk manager for this special offer. You were surprised and happy and you have transfered your sentiment to my employee, then it has happened something with the restaurant that is not our direct fault. you have asked us at 8.45 p.m. to reserve a table in a restaurant for 6 people. friday evening is clearly all fully booked and more difficult especially for a party of six people!!! but the restarant attendant told us that one table could be left and you could wait until the time it was available. They didn't specify how long but you decided that it could be good to go and wait and may be drink a glass of wine. Then it is no more our problem. we have offered you a service but we can't be responsible for other activities. you can't offend my employees especially if they are polite, elegant and professional. V. (my employee) is really quiet and respectuful and she didn't offend or she didn't gave bad information. If we read other reviews all of them speaks about TOP service, staff Helpfull and really polite. the opposite you have found. I am sorry but I consider my Hotel not like your idea. I accept critical reviews if they are truth and not accept bad people. This Hotel need certainly to avoid guests like you. Rude, messy and arrogant. You have also left rooms in terrible condition and really dirty!! unrespecteful for chambermaids. if you consider to change your idea and cancel this review I will be happy to share a new experience with us. Regards, Umberto Sidoli (direzione@hotelposta.re.it).
Read more
DonnaandCraig wrote a review Dec 2019
Doylestown, Pennsylvania390 contributions222 helpful votes
We enjoyed immersing ourselves into the pace of life in Reggio Emilia using Hotel Posta as our base for a week. The hotel is on the square directly across from the clock tower, so all of the city is just a few minutes walk away. Our room was a little dated, but the bathroom was newly renovated and the wifi worked well. The city was just getting ready for Christmas and our window offered a view of the square and all its activity. The hotel has limited on site parking for 12 euros per day with a reservation. They also offer a city tag for you to place on your dashboard that allows free parking in designated spaces within the historic center. We did this and had no problems with the car. They have very nice common areas and the breakfast buffet was very extensive and good.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
Value
Rooms
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from UmbertoHP, Proprietario at Hotel Posta
Responded 27 Dec 2019
Dear Guest, thank you very much for your review! we are very happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us. we hope to welcome you again in future! Best regards, Umberto Sidoli
Read more
Karen M wrote a review Dec 2019
Southport, United Kingdom270 contributions138 helpful votes
Luckily the hotel has a talented employee who drove our car into the hotels limited car park through very narrow arches. Would highly recommend this help and also arrive early to get a space! Valeria was so welcoming and helpful on reception- always smiling! Our suite was old style but very comfortable. Loved the light and noise blackout blinds. We overlooked the square, above a bar and over a side street- room 108- can imagine it gets very noisy in summer. Breakfast was ok - quite average- but loved the Parmesan and meats. Scrambled egg had sat for quite some time over heat. Good tea selection and freshly made cappuccino was very nice. Reggio is a great town to explore on foot but beware of many bicycles!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled on business
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from UmbertoHP, Proprietario at Hotel Posta
Responded 27 Dec 2019
Hello, we thank you for your review. Happy to know that you have enjoyed your experience with us. We hope you will have again the opportunity to stay with us and appreciate other rooms or views! Umberto
Read more
Michela N wrote a review Nov 2019
Peschiera del Garda, Italy5 contributions6 helpful votes
In this historical building, dating back to the 14th century where the 'capitano del popolo' usied to live rooms are clean and spacious. Breakfast is outstanding with the best croissant you have ever tried as they are hand made and baked in the hotel freshly every morning. Staff in kind and location is perfect.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: if you travel with children ask the suite on top, number 502. It has a HUGE terrace and 2...
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from UmbertoHP, Proprietario at Hotel Posta
Responded 7 Nov 2019
Thank you very much for your review! happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay with our services. we hope to meet you in future for another stay! Umberto Sidoli
Read more
Previous
123456
LOCATION
ItalyEmilia-RomagnaProvince of Reggio EmiliaReggio Emilia
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Posta
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Posta?
Nearby attractions include Sala del Tricolore (0.2 km), Basilica della Madonna della Ghiara (0.4 km), and Piazza Fontanesi (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Posta?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Posta?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Posta?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Posta?
Yes, paid private parking on-site and paid private parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Posta?
Conveniently located restaurants include Terme del Colesterolo, Herbe - Food & Drink Vegetale, and Interno TRE.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Posta?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Hotel Posta located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 km away from the centre of Reggio Emilia.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Posta?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Hotel Posta?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Hotel Posta offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.