We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Localita Schiopparello Palo 4 Località Schiopparello, 4, 57037, Portoferraio, Elba Island Italy
Booking.com
eDreams
Priceline
Agoda.com
StayForLong
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (149)
Room & Suite (21)
Dining (20)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#6 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Portoferraio
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Hotel Tirrena is only a few minutes drive from the beautiful beaches that characterize Elba Island and only 100 meters from the beach Schiopparello, Oasis of Birds Protection. We are situated within the Schiopparello SIR - The Prade (Site of Regional Importance), a natural oasis, the largest of only two of a certain size remained on Elba, about 4 hectares of coastal area in Municipality Portoferraio, close to the beach Schiopparello-Le Prade.The Hotel consists of a two buildings: restaurant and reception area and a main building with the bedrooms, some of which are situated at the ground floor with direct access to the surrounding garden. Two big terraces with a beautiful view of the Gulf of Portoferraio are at our guests’ disposal.A large and beautifully tended garden of plants and flowers typical to our Mediterranean climate surround the hotel. The swimming pool in the verdant, peaceful gardens, has a large area for sun bathing with sun beds and umbrellas and offers a pleasant alternative to the beach.There is also a small annex of six rooms which can be accessed directly from the surrounding countryside. This is situated approximately 100 metres from the main hotel building and the simply furnished bedrooms have bathroom with shower, TV and heating (for low season). Guests staying in the annex have full use of hotel services.All rooms are carefully furnished in traditional Tuscan style and each has bathroom with shower, satellite TV and telephone.The restaurant in Hotel Tirrena offers traditional Elba and seafood cuisine in a concert of flavours typical to the best Mediterranean cooking styles. Wholesome cooking of meat and fish, desserts and pasta are under the personal guidance of Mrs Anselmi and our Chef.The rich breakfast buffet and menu dinner are served in the dining room situated in the restaurant and reception building. Weather permitting, Guests can savour our specialities on the beautiful terrace overlooking the sea.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Show more
Room features
Desk
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Languages Spoken
English, French, German, Italian
237Reviews1Q+A4Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 149
  • 64
  • 11
  • 4
  • 9
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Ane wrote a review Jul 2019
Oslo, Norway2 contributions
The room was humid, i had just finished a cold, and after one night it started to get back. The location, you need a car to get to everything. The beach was awful. The pitcures from their webpage is unfortunately not what we experience. We had booked this hotel for 5 nights, and for the first time, we desided to seek another hotel. Both me and my boyfriend has traveled a lot. We asked the hotel if they could at least meet us half way and refund some of the paid amount, bur they refused. We are now at another hotel, and at the same time the Tirrena are fully booked again, which means that they have rented out our room again and made doble earnings on bad services. We are very disapointed, and really dont recomend hotel Tirrena on Elba. There are so many other good hotels on this beautiful Island, so our tip is to look a litle bit futher.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Dario A, Proprietario at Hotel Tirrena
Responded 29 Jul 2019
Dear Ane, we are always so afflicted when, for any reason, our guests are not fully satisfied with their stay in our hotel. We always do our work with love and care and we believe that the many positive reviews and feedbacks of our other customers confirm this. However we think that any criticism should be based on concrete and objective data to enable us to act, in order to fully satisfy our customers, improving the service we offer. From your review we can only assume that, sometimes, this very useful evaluation tool can be used deliberately for derogatory and defamatory purposes. You have booked the room on Booking.com (a non-refundable, discounted rate) and while doing this you have accepted the cancellation policies. TWO DAYS prior to your arrival you called us asking if we had the possibility to charge you e-car. Unfortunately the island is not equipped for charging electric cars and there is only one station near us, in Portoferraio. So our answer was "Sorry, no we have no possibility". May be you should inform you before choosing our hotel... At your arrival you complained with Booking.com that the beach near the hotel was not what you expected (ok, it's your opinion and you have seen it after the storm of the previous days): we are sorry to inform you that nowhere you will find somethig written, that we have a private beach, but a beautiful swimming pool sorrounded by a flower garden! As this reason couldn't be accepted to cancel the reservation, you had to find other invented reasons to complain: you haven't mentioned at all that the room was damp, during your only one night stay! We would have tried to find other solutions, so we cannot understand what is the bad service? As the photos on Booking website are concerned we confirm that we have made them ourselves with our mobile. What do you mean with "it's was not what we have experienced"? We really hope that you could find what you were searching for to enjoy our beautiful island.
Read more
Nikka C wrote a review Aug 2018
6 contributions1 helpful vote
Stay was ok but cancellation policy and hotel attitude is very customer unfriendly! I had to shorten my stay by one week, two or three weeks prior arrival. They made me pay 50% of the cancelled week (half-board!), despite that I maintained my booking for the second week! When asking about at least a partial refund, they refused pointing to “house policy” and did not show any sign of understanding. Even if the hotel was fully booked and did not suffer any loss through my cancellation. Additionally, my room was approx 200m away from the main building, so I as a single traveler, had to walk a dark, unlit way between the fields alone every night after dinner. Plus, being away this far, there was no WIFI available in my room. In total, despite the beautiful location, I cannot recommend this hotel. Instead I strongly suggest to better book another hotel that cares about their guests.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from Dario A, Proprietario at Hotel Tirrena
Responded 25 Aug 2018
Dear Madame, thank you so much for your review, we're sorry that you had to cancel the first week of vacation, for which you had previously received our cancellation policies .We confirm that we were able to resell the room, but having canceled beyond the terms for which you were expected to be reimbursed, we had to resell it at a very discounted rate and not at full rate, and this is the reason why the deposit was not returned (as per booking conditions of the package booked through the sailing school (and not with us directly). The room were located in our dependance, just 100 meters away from the main building and not 200 (two minutes walk). When you booked through the German sailing school, you knew very well where the hotel is located and which services we offer and you were not obligated to book a room in our hotel. A Country Hotel by definition is not in a village but in the countryside. However, we are pleased that you enjoyed the location, cleanliness and food. Kind regards. Fam. Anselmi.
Read more
EvaMohl wrote a review Sep 2017
Stuttgart, Germany36 contributions26 helpful votes
We stayed for three nights end of August and had booked half board. The staff was very friendly. The room was on the upper floor and clean. It was obvious that the room was renovated but apparently quite some time ago. The room had no aircondition, no fridge, no safe and no kettle. So it was pretty basic. In August it is naturally very hot in Elba and we woke up somewhat soaked. The breakfast was very good and the terrace, where you can have your breakfast has a pretty view to the garden. The dinner we liked the first evening. The second evening the hotel prepared pizza and there was live music. Personally we prefer a normal dinner to pizza. You could sign in whether you would like to participate but as we had booked half board we wanted to eat in the hotel and therefore did not have really a choice. The third evening we did not like the food very much. We had fish soup. The fish had a lot of fishbones and the large prawn was not peeled. Difficult to eat because it was soaked in tomato sauce.. When we asked for a spoon they seemed to be surprised. I did not like the sauce with the gnocchi which we had as a starter. One evening we wanted to have a glass of prosecco at the bar. The glass was very small such as a tasting glass and the lady poured only two thirds which was much less than 100 ml. No chips or anything was offered with it.They put it on the invoice with 3 Euro per glass, which is very much in particular in Italy for a prosecco at the bar considering the extremely small volume. Although the service was freindly all the time we will not book this hotel again, when we come back to Elba.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2017
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: For families the ground floor rooms are best due to easy access to the pool
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Susan A wrote a review May 2017
14 contributions1 helpful vote
What a lovely place to stay and experience Elba. Our room was magical. We could look out our window and the city across the water. Breakfast was amazing. We loved selecting our dinner menu the night before. The cook and servers were more than we could have imagined.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2017
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Frederic_Montfort wrote a review Jul 2016
Heidelberg, Germany10 contributions4 helpful votes
Stayed one week half board in the low season for a training I had with the German DHH sailing school there. Unfortunately very few public transport to reach the hotel. You have to take a taxi. Amazingly cheap for the quality of the room (insist not to be put in the dependencie but in the main building !) and above all for the quality of food served and the nice laid back athmosphere. A thanks particularly to Françoise, the Swiss girl, working there in the evening. Rooms especially the ones at the garden level may be cold in the low season. Small swimming pool with very cold water in April and unfortunately a beach which is not so nice at 250 m. Breakfast are prodigious and dinner so plentiful, with fish, seafood and local specialities, but unfortunately much much too rich (cream, butter, fat,...). You would like sometimes to just have the simple delicious meals for which Toscana is famous. Rich food has probably something to due with the almost 100 % German clientele you have at this season. So be prepared for some disagreement of being with Germans when they are in majority somewhere or be yourself very German and you will certainly enjoy being exclusively with your own people...
Read more
Date of stay: April 2016
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Ask not to be in the dependencie but in the main building !
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Previous
12
PRICE RANGE
US$79 - US$142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
ItalyTuscanyProvince of LivornoElba IslandPortoferraio
NUMBER OF ROOMS
24
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Tirrena
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Tirrena?
Nearby attractions include Spiaggia di Sansone (6.7 km), Sottobomba Beach (4.4 km), and Spiaggia di Capo Bianco (4.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Tirrena?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Tirrena?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Tirrena?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Tirrena?
Conveniently located restaurants include Trattoria di pesce il giardino, Altaluna Pub, and Enoteca Wine Bar I Sapori Del Sole.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Tirrena?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Hotel Tirrena?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Tirrena?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, German, and Italian.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Tirrena?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Forte Stella (2.7 km) and Villa of San Martino (4.6 km).
Is Hotel Tirrena accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.