We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Talalla Retreat

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Talalla Retreat
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

552 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 438: English reviews
Start your review of Talalla Retreat
 Click to rate
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed yesterday NEW

I attended the 5 day yoga retreat here and had a fantastic time. The yoga teachers were extremely knowledgeable and were a joy to spend time with. The buffet here is ridiculously good and certainly make the exercise you do here a touch moot. I stayed in the dorm and found it to be very spacious. It would have been...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank geelongexpat
Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The location is just amazing. The beach is beautiful and the yoga teachers are really good (15$). They have a 7:30 class and a 5:00 class. I would suggest the beach villas, it was really quiet at night, we didn't ear the noise from village at all, only the waves! The food is also good (specially the buffet for diner,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank steftravel2017
TalallaManagement, Owner at Talalla Retreat, responded to this review

Hi Stef....I am happy you enjoyed Talalla....we are so proud of our yoga teachers....Talalla yoga is such an asset and joy for us....and the shop is a work in progress...we had a great designer from New York...Nicki Poulos....spend time at Talalla to design the shop and the clothing range....see you next time.

Lancashire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

There are so many great things to say about Talalla Retreat. My only stumbling block are the rooms. Very few look out onto the ocean and justify the 'open air' cabana style. Ultimately, there is a troop of Talk Monkeys who are happy to entertain and ransack your open air room along with a whole load of squirrels who also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JoJo036
TalallaManagement, Owner at Talalla Retreat, responded to this review

Hi Jo Jo...glad you enjoyed Talalla and sad you didn't enjoy the rooms...of course I'm biased as I designed them but I love the rooms.....we do have squirrels and we do have monkeys ...life in a tropical island.....we also have eighty rooms...five different styles...and the management would be happy to find something you liked..but again thank you for your kind...

Amman, Jordan
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

We booked a room away from the sea in the 'big house' and had a horrible time. Loud music from the property next door until 2am, toilet is basically next to the bed with no separation, and no privacy at all.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FrankTult
TalallaManagement, Owner at Talalla Retreat, responded to this review

Hi Frank....The big house is close to the village...and sometimes village people can be heard...it can be chanting from the temple,a party or dogs or just people living life.....in saying this the big house surrounds are quiet most of the time...and it must be remembered that big house is one of our least expensive room choices....we are happy to find...

liverpool
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had been led to believe by our tour organiser that we would be staying in open sided Cabanas , open to sea breezes and hearing the ocean ....In reality we had the open sided rooms with no air conditioning, but no breeze as our rooms were as far away from the ocean as possible...too hot to sleep.We needed to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank her177
laurie432, Owner at Talalla Retreat, responded to this review

Hi....thanks for enjoying Talalla...sorry you found it warm at night....the temperature at night is nearly always 25/25 degrees...some find this fine and I guess some find this to warm....Talalla is seven acres...not all rooms can be on the beachfront....when you book next time book a beachfront room...all the best.

Zagreb, Croatia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

While being there for 2 nights, lots of noisy guests were there, occupying the pool. WI-FI working only in the restaurant/lobby. No minibar nor kettle in the room. Open shower part of the bathroom. The room itself is also "open", in a sense of partly open walls, so only fan is cooling. The morning light falls right on the bed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank andrea n
TalallaManagement, Owner at Talalla Retreat, responded to this review

Hi Andrea...I am glad you enjoyed the beach....enjoy your travels.

Detroit, Michigan
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I went to Talalla Retreat with friends hoping to relax and do yoga. It's a rustic place. The yoga teachers are great and I really enjoyed being part of the camp. The retreat is closed off and has easy access to the beach. I enjoyed the buffet dinners and there was always something I could eat (vegetarian). Some areas for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tricia C
TalallaManagement, Owner at Talalla Retreat, responded to this review

Hi Tricia....Let me be clear that we have no business arrangement with the Ayurvedic clinic over the road....I guess you could say they are competition for our spa....but we do recommend them because they are good. We take all complaints very seriously...many emails were sent to owners ,managers,the owners of the Ayurvedic spa......the therapist was so upset...he explained you seemed...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The best things about this place is the beach: pure, secluded, not peopled. The hotel is a little worn down, but overall ok. Be aware some rooms don't have walls (not suitable for kids). Garden and pool rooms have lots of mosquitos. Great organic buffet. The general vibe is chilled, good for families and travellers looking to recharge and disconnect.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Katja S
TalallaManagement, Owner at Talalla Retreat, responded to this review

Hi kanji....Our maintaince team would be sad to here the hotel is worn down....just the other day I was stopped by a guest who asked how old the hotel is...when I told him he said ....wow I thought it was new,...so everything is subjective....we have very few mosquitoes...spraying of the grounds is done every night ...you were probably noticing sand...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

My friend and I stayed here in February in one of the ground floor rooms. The open air shower was lovely and the bathroom was clean and tidy. Towels were provided for use in the bathroom and also by the swimming pool. Soap, shampoo, body lotion etc were also provided. There were plug sockets in the rooms for all plug...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Samantha_RG_54
TalallaManagement, Owner at Talalla Retreat, responded to this review

Hi Samantha...thanks for your kind words and we hope to see you again ...when I hope you try our dinner...I think our food is great..

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 22 February 2017

This place is heaven! The pool is lovely, rooms and gorgeous, food is delicious! The retreat is extremely peaceful, but with plenty to do if that's what you are looking for. I did yoga every morning and absolutely loved it (Evy's class in particular) and surfed every afternoon. Plenty of surf breaks for all levels. The massage with the spa...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank MikkiLipson
TalallaManagement, Owner at Talalla Retreat, responded to this review

Hi and thanks for your kind words...I agree the therapists are great....glad we could sort out the problem you had..see you next time.

446 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (410)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (54)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (78)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (50)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (167)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Talalla
21.2 km away
Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle
Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle
#5 of 20 in Tangalle
320 reviews
19.5 km away
Anantara Peace Haven Tangalle Resort
6.4 km away
UTMT Underneath the Mango Tree
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Secret Bay Hotel
Secret Bay Hotel
#15 of 17 in Matara
82 reviews
16.7 km away
Esprit d'Ici Hotel
Esprit d'Ici Hotel
#1 of 9 in Mirissa
225 reviews
0.7 km away
Talalla Bay Beach Boutique Beachfront Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Spa
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Some places we do not merely visit, we become a part of! Places that touch your spirit, and replenish your soul. Where time fades, and your only schedule is the turning of the tides! Welcome to an undiscovered Beach Resort Sri Lanka paradise. Welcome to Talalla. Talalla retreat is a boutique hotel, offering barefoot rustic charm on the Southern Beaches of Sri Lanka. The retreat sits on Talalla Beach, an undiscovered cove of crystal clear turquoise water, spotless golden sand and mesmerizing sunrises and sunsets. Of all the resorts in Sri Lanka, Talalla offers its guests a level of elegant simplicity just metres from the lapping waters of a secluded cove. Here, time is measured in moments of serenity and pleasure. It is a place to get away from it all and to absorb the unsurpassed natural beauty of Sri Lanka. A jungle paradise, Talalla is built low rise, and set into lush gardens, resplendent with tropical flora. Monkeys play in the coconut palms as they sway softly in the breeze. Monitor lizards roam freely as they have since the days of the dinosaurs. Squirrels twitter as they dart through the grass. And at night, fireflies light­up the surrounds, guiding you lightly to your villa.... Relax in the 20 metre freshwater pool, swing in a hammock or lounge on a sun­chair by day and by night indulge in a cocktail at the bar, or lounge on the sofa nearby. Sri Lanka’s best kept secret is waiting for you, are you ready to replenish your soul and get in touch with nature? ... more   less 

Additional Information about Talalla Retreat

Address: Sampaya House, Talalla 60604, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Talalla
Price Range: €40 - €100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Talalla Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Talalla Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Talalla Retreat staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
Bunbury, Australia

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Talalla Retreat staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try to get a room facing pool / ocean , or opt for one with Air Con”
 of 5 bubbles her177, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“A warning about open air rooms. If you're a light sleeper and rooms are close together or the hotel is near the road, don't. Just don't.”
 of 5 bubbles ERSFBayArea, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms away from the pool”
 of 5 bubbles SharonT668, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“the beach bungalows are amazing”
 of 5 bubbles zoes466, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Best views”
 of 5 bubbles JussiViking, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5