We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Rosmuck H91 X5WY Ireland
E-mail hotel
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
View all 12 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (119)
Dining (36)
Videos (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Screebe is one of Ireland’s finest Victorian country houses, offering unparalleled tranquillity in a beautiful setting in Rosmuc, Connemara, just 40 minutes from Galway City, Ireland. Experience the best of Connemara at Screebe House, with glorious scenery, country and seaside walks, as well as superb fishing and hunting on-site. Enjoy a revitalizing treatment in our exclusive Spa Lodge with a heated swimming pool and relax and unwind in the sauna or outdoor hot tub. Afterward, why not curl up with a book by the open fire in the living room overlooking Camus Bay. Dinner features the best of local and in-season produce, prepared to perfection by Head Chef, Max Schindler. All rooms are tastefully furnished with antique interiors and heritage decor, and boast underfloor heating in the bathrooms. We look forward to welcoming you to Screebe House. The house can be hired on a private, all-inclusive, and exclusive basis, making for a truly unique experience. - Family owned and operated - Exquisite dining experience - Your home away from home - Heated indoor pool and spa facilities - Sustainability at the core - A peaceful escape PLEASE NOTE: New Covid-19 measures to protect you and our team: Screebe House will introduce a Resort Fee of €3.00 per person/per day, which will cover the use of the spa facilities, towels, and other leisure-related amenities.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycles available
Hiking
Banquet room
Secured parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Sauna
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Fishing
Patio
Board games / puzzles
Spa
Massage
Steam room
Adults only
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Clothes dryer
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Soundproof rooms
Housekeeping
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bidet
Bath / shower
Air purifier
Bathrobes
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Hidden Gem
Languages Spoken
English, French, German
157Reviews2Q+A34Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 131
  • 15
  • 7
  • 3
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Hawkeye200 wrote a review Oct 2021
31 contributions27 helpful votes
Booked 2 tables for 9 in person for Saturday, staff friendly however staff checked bookings book for restaurant in front of me and advised that is no problem took name number all okay, received phone call from the same person 2 hours later saying that they are fully booked out and cancelled the booking. I can understand an overbooking but not when it’s person and booked is in front of you and the pages where blank? No apology just that joe had made an error in the booking, however joe was the person who made the booking! Ashame as I heard a lot about the place and the food especially with Max as chef
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Early booking advise led
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Gradgirl wrote a review Oct 2021
Ireland100 contributions82 helpful votes
Screebe has been on my bucket list for years and it didn't disappoint. Just the most tranquil place. The food was incredible and the staff couldn't have been nicer. I left feeling super relaxed. One of the most special places I've stayed in. I cannot wait to return.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Mc1712 wrote a review Aug 2021
15 contributions16 helpful votes
+1
We had a wonderful stay this week at Screebe house. The perfect location for a short getaway. The outdoor hot tub was a highlight for us. Such a perfect setting with the most gorgeous scenery. Dinner experience was perfection with such attention to detail and flavour in every bite. We both really enjoyed the Connemara Lamb so full of flavour absolutely delicious. A truly memorable meal compliments to a great chef. Many Thanks to Ursula and staff for a wonderful visit. We hope to stay again soon Xx
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Rick K wrote a review Jul 2021
Newport, Ireland32 contributions5 helpful votes
From the moment we drove into Screebe House we felt it was something special and we weren't disappointed. As soon as we met Ursula and Julian we were made feel at home. We spent 2 fabulous relaxing days at Screebe House. Nothing was too much trouble for Ursula and her staff. The locally sourced food was magnificent and cooked to perfection by chef and presented by a lovely, friendly, attentive and knowledgeable waiting staff. Ursula personally engages with all the guests over dinner, a very nice touch. We had a super room with great sea view and an unbelievably comfortable bed. We had use of the spa and sea swimming is right on the doorstep. If relaxing is your thing then Screebe House is the place! The best way to recommend Screebe House is to book another stay there which we have done for November. Ursula, thank you and your staff for a fabulous stay.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Tatiana & Niall wrote a review Dec 2020
Galway, Ireland301 contributions74 helpful votes
We love this place and Connemara where we often travel. So, we are coming back soon. The house and grounds are very beautiful. We had a very warm welcome (all Covid rules are in place, you feel safe). Special thanks to Ursula for her attention to details and the chef who made a delicious dinner for us. Breakfast also was one of the best. You will never be disappointed with the food in Screebe House. Our room was very clean with a seaview and comfortable bed. There is a lot to see around the house and if you drive into Connemara. Scenic area, fantastic views. The video reviews about Screebe House and Connemara can be found on my Youtube channel (link in Bio).
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Ursula Burkart, General Manager at Screebe House
Responded 26 Apr 2021
Thank You so much and hope to see YOu soon again - regards
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$116 - US$278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
IrelandWestern IrelandProvince of ConnachtCounty GalwayRosmuck
NUMBER OF ROOMS
13
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Screebe House
Which popular attractions are close to Screebe House?
Nearby attractions include Lost Mariner's Memorial (3.6 km) and The Green Bee Honesty Box (1.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Screebe House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Screebe House?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Screebe House?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Screebe House?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Screebe House?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, and German.
Does Screebe House have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the bay view available here.