We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Tregarthen's Hotel

TripAdvisorUS$322*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$322*
US$322*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Tregarthen\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

268 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 266: English reviews
Start your review of Tregarthen's Hotel
 Click to rate
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Wonderful holiday at this lovely hotel. Pleasant bedroom. Wonderful restaurant with excellent imaginative menu, overlooking the harbour. The staff were very pleasant & couldn't have been more helpful. Can't wait to return next year.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Penny F
Tregarthens H, Manager at Tregarthen's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Penny. Thank you for the review and so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We very much look forward to seeing you again next year.

Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Have just returned from a very enjoyable six night stay at this lovely hotel.it has a wonderful position overlooking the harbour which is also very convenient as boats depart from there every morning to enable visits to the other islands. The bedroom we had was very spacious and comfortable with nice views over the bay. Similarly both the bar/lounge area...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Adrian D
Tregarthens H, Manager at Tregarthen's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Adrian. Thanks for your review and we are glad to hear that your accident did not deter you from enjoying your holiday on the Isles of Scilly. We do look forward to welcoming you back.

Snarestone, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

The location is excellent as are the views from the balcony! The rooms are clean and quite well equipped, although rather small. Thus far, so good. But, and it is a good but; the breakfast is shambles. Nothing to do with a stressed-out, friendly waiters and waitresses, but the management. Most of the mornings there was just one half-working toaster...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank seppohakkinen
Tregarthens H, General Manager at Tregarthen's Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. It looks as though we have shown a few "start of season niggles" which we believe are now all sorted out. Our new Restaurant Manager has just joined us and very much has things in hand ... plus new toasters are on the way over from the mainland, having had some fail us over the...

Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Have just returned from an excellent 3 night break at Tregarthen's . The early season deal provided great value for money and we particularly enjoyed the 3 course evening meal which was included as part of the offer. We were allocated a sea view room, (despite not having booked this), and the view was totally amazing - out over the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 113ollie
Tregarthens H, Manager at Tregarthen's Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and it is so good to hear how much you enjoyed your break at Tregarthen's Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back again for another relaxing break.

Weston super Mare
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel tried a pre season opening this year offering accommodation and breakfast but no evening meal. We thoroughly enjoyed our three night stay and welcomed the chance to eat our evening meal in the local pubs as the hotel bar wasn't open. Our bedroom was fresh and clean with lovely views and the hotel lounge was airy and open...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Petherbridge19
Tregarthens H, Manager at Tregarthen's Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback and good to hear you enjoyed your break. It is good to hear about some of the elements that we did not get 100% right and will feed that back to the team and look to improve.

Taunton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel room was just right for us, with a nice view of the islands and harbor. We found the staff very friendly and helpful and the manager, Nick was very genial. The hotel was in winter mode so dinner was not provided but the breakfast was good although the chefs idea of scrambled egg was very much like an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lou661
Tregarthens H, Manager at Tregarthen's Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks very much for your feedback and it is good to hear you enjoyed your return visit to the Isles of Scilly. It has been the first time we have opened over the winter season and have learnt a lot. We will certainly be looking at staying open over future winters as the Isles of Scilly has so much to...

Penzance, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 March 2017 via mobile

Arranged a one night stay for work. Hotel was open on a bed and breakfast basis as it was the winter season. Very friendly staff and a comfortable cozy room with fabulous sea views. Lovely bathrooms, all very clean and well maintained. Breakfast in the morning was excellent. Due to bad weather my flight home was cancelled and I booked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank suecocking
Tregarthens H, Manager at Tregarthen's Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for the feedback and the 5 star rating. Occasionally it can be challenging travelling to a from the Islands, especially in the winter season, but we think that just adds to the charm. Very glad we could help out this time and look forward to welcoming you back.

Reviewed 26 February 2017

We had to stay an extra couple of nights. Our first room was fine, the second room was small had no fridge, had very poor decor. We enjoyed our stay but it was winter and there was no dinner service. Breakfast was not wonderful the staff didn't understand our orders seemed a little confused about things. We had one morning...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian J
Tregarthens H, Manager at Tregarthen's Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback and I hope you let the team know at the time of the problems you had. This is the first time we have been open over the winter because we feel very strongly that the Isles of Scilly are a great destination all year round. We are one of the only hotels open and at the...

A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 23 February 2017 via mobile

We stayed recently with a few friends all in our own rooms. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the breakfast was delicious and the views of the sea from our room were stunning We were also allowed a late check out, which was great

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Tregarthens H, Manager at Tregarthen's Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for the 5 star review and it is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Even over the winter months the Isles of Scilly are a great place for a break.

Redruth
Reviewed 30 December 2016

We had a November break on St Marys, Isles of Scilly. We flew - no option - the Scillonian ferry had stopped running for the winter. At this time of year the only regular boat to the mainland is the the supply ship, the Gry Maritha. We had been before out of season, so knew what to expect. We stayed...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 2CornishBlackbirds
Tregarthens H, Manager at Tregarthen's Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback and it is great to hear that you enjoyed your winter break on the Isles of Scilly. We opened this year for the winter for the first time, just on a bed and breakfast basis, because we feel that the Isles are a great destination all year round and would like to start extending the season....

156 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (76)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (80)
Viewed
Room/Suite (44)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (27)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hugh Town
0.5 km away
St. Mary's Hall Hotel
St. Mary's Hall Hotel
#1 of 6 in St Mary's
366 reviews
0.2 km away
Star Castle
Star Castle
#2 of 6 in St Mary's
424 reviews
5.7 km away
Karma St. Martin's
Karma St. Martin's
#1 of 1 in St Martin's
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#4 of 6 in St Mary's
340 reviews
0.2 km away
Schooners Hotel
Schooners Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hugh Town
175 reviews
0.8 km away
Colossus
Colossus
#8 of 38 in St Mary's
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A warm welcome….With Outstanding sea views and the best position on St Mary’s, just yards from the Quay. Tregarthen’s Hotel is the perfect base for a truly unforgettable holiday or short break.• Outstanding views• High quality accommodation• Family rooms• Close to the town and quay• Delicious food served all day• Garden Terrace and Patio• Lounge and Cocktail Bar• Conservatory Lounge• Evening restaurant• Private Dining and Functions• Free Wi-fi for all patronsOverlooking the clear waters of St Mary’s Harbour and enjoying stunning panoramic vistas of the islands of Treso, Bryher, Sampson and St Martins, Tregarthen’s boats the best views of any hotel on St Mary’s. All of our bedrooms are recently refurbished, many of which have breath taking sea views and can accommodate family’s. With St Mary’s Quay on our doorstep, a lounge, restaurant and an elegant garden terrace and patio overlooking the ocean there is no better place to experience the unspoilt beauty of Scilly.Delicious food is served all day. Our restaurant specialises in classic English cuisine with a contemporary twist using fresh local produce wherever possible, the same restaurant in which Her Majesty The Queen and Prince Phillip enjoyed lunch.So if your craving peace, tranquillity and relaxation in an unspoilt paradise – be our guest! Our experienced reception team will be delighted to arrange your stay and journey to the islands. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Tregarthen's Hotel

Address: Hugh Town | St Mary's, Hugh Town TR21 OPP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isles of Scilly > St Mary's > Hugh Town
Price Range: €238 - €340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Tregarthen's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tregarthens Hotel St Marys
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Tregarthen's Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
5 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Tregarthen's Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a sea view”
Petherbridge19, 31 Mar 2017 | Read review
“On booking we had the choice of a sea view and thought our room was fine.”
Lou661, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Don't book in the winter.”
ianj360, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a sea view.”
2CornishBlackbirds, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Obviously any with a sea view, which is hard not to do”
900Lancasterfamily, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
TripAdvisor
US$322* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$322
Priceline
LateRooms.comUS$324
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates