We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Jungle Retreat by Kupu Kupu Barong

Traveller (495)
Room & Suite (124)
Dining (67)
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]}}
About
  • Excellent57%
  • Very good23%
  • Average12%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible3%
Certificate of Excellence
For travelers who want to take in the sights and sounds of Bali, Jungle Retreat by Kupu Kupu Barong is the perfect choice. Set 4 km from the excitement of the city, this 4-star hotel commands an excellent location and provides access to the city's biggest attractions. With its convenient location, the hotel offers easy access to the city's must-see destinations.
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Shuttle Bus Service
Room Service
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Airport Transportation
Show more
Room features
Suites
Non-Smoking Rooms
Air Conditioning
Minibar
Family Rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Safe
Park View
HOTEL CLASS
Reviews (344)
Filter reviews
185 results
Traveller rating
111
39
19
8
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
111
39
19
8
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews la view kupu kupu barong voyage prive rooftop pool lives up to its name choice of restaurants this lovely hotel minutes drive to ubud hotel surroundings large balcony included in our package l'occitane spa true bali can't recommend this place enough four star bath products romantic breakfast
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 185 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed in a villa for 4 nights. The setting is very quiet and beautiful overlooking the river and jungle. The villas are large and well fitted out with everything you could wish for. The spa treatment I had was probably the best massage ever....More

Thank Sue C
Reviewed 10 October 2018

we stayed for 3 nights and loved it , the Indian menu in the main restaurant was superb & a must when staying in this lovely hotel , the staff were an example of pleasant , polite and very warm hospitality , it really is...More

Thank lizzie232
Response from KupuKupuResorts, Manager at Jungle Retreat by Kupu Kupu BarongResponded 22 October 2018

Dear lizzie232 Thank you for staying with us at Jungle Retreat By Kupu kupu barong and thank you for your lovely review I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and I am especially happy to hear that our associates delivered friendly, helpful and attentive...More

Reviewed 12 September 2018

Nice hotel tooked out of the way, it is a bit of a treck to the centre of ubud but the hotel accommodate you with a free shuttle. We paid about £5-7 for a taxi drive back after a late night. The hotel it's self...More

Thank Sophianrob
Response from KupuKupuResorts, Manager at Jungle Retreat by Kupu Kupu BarongResponded 20 September 2018

Dear Sophianrob Thank you for staying with us at Jungle Retreat by Kupu Kupu Barong and thank you for your wonderful review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and I am especially happy to hear that our associates delivered friendly, helpful and attentive...More

Reviewed 3 September 2018 via mobile

Our room was amazing, huge bathtub fit 2 people! Gorgeous balcony overlooking the rainforest! The staff goes above and Beyond to help you with anything, soooo polite and sweet. The hotel is secluded from downtown, but they provide a free shuttle. The complimentary breakfast is...More

Thank VictoriaL2524
Response from KupuKupuResorts, Manager at Jungle Retreat by Kupu Kupu BarongResponded 20 September 2018

Dear VictoriaL2524 Thank you for staying with us at Jungle Retreat by Kupu Kupu Barong and thank you for your wonderful review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and I am especially happy to hear that our associates delivered friendly, helpful and attentive...More

Reviewed 31 August 2018 via mobile

This hotel is old. Far away from the city. Price and quality of food is way to expensive and zo is the spa. Bathroom is old needs and upgrade. The gym is the worst in its kind dumbells are sticky, treadmill is dangerous i almost...More

Thank JiggszD
Response from KupuKupuResorts, Manager at Jungle Retreat by Kupu Kupu BarongResponded 20 September 2018

Dear Jiggsz D Firstly I must specifically thank you for choosing our resort for your stay in Ubud, Bali and Thank you for taking the time to review our resort and giving us your feedback on Trip Advisor. I am sad and sorry to read...More

View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
caztom
17 February 2018|
Answer
Response from Ruth T | Reviewed this property |
Depends what you order. I love Indonesian food which is cheap. Other dishes between $20 and $30AUD. Catch the free shuttle into Ubud and dine there which has many restaurants and much cheaper.
1
Vote
obe1234
15 October 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from kplmaheshwari9 | Reviewed this property |
Yes the Food is bit costly as other restaurants in the locality.Wines are costlier but beers are cheaper. the ambiance and locations of the restaurants are truly marvellous. the staff is friendly
1
Vote
BeccaJayne65
1 June 2017|
Answer
Response from LeeshAsianTraveller | Reviewed this property |
The resort has an hourly shuttle (if i recall correctly), complementary to guests. Its about 15min ride to Ubud centre. Uber is not recommended in Ubud (Ubud tourism wants to promote their own taxi use so frowns on Uber... More
1
Vote
Room Tips
"Rooms in higher floors have fantastic views and are close to the pools which are on the top floors."
K532ZDnicoleg
2 Jul 2018
Read review
"you need a deluxe room at least"
jillian48
23 Jun 2018
Read review
"needs a floor fan or ceiling fans to circulate air"
catsmeow1228
19 Apr 2018
Read review
"The rooms usually located at the bottom look nicer but go for any."
ImranKA
29 Mar 2018
Read review
Show More 
PRICE RANGE
US$110 - US$184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
IndonesiaBaliGianyarUbudKedewatan
NUMBER OF ROOMS
39
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing