We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

O Muino de Pena

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
O Muino de Pena
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

84 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 32: English reviews
Start your review of O Muino de Pena
 Click to rate
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 January 2017 via mobile

I stayed at this amazing hotel which is 10 minutes outside of Amenal and was picked up by a shuttle service which is included in the booking. I was in a pleasant room, no:4 which is a twin room and overlooks the water and Mill. I was delighted to find a heater in the room that really warmed the room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank traveldipper
Willow, Alaska
Reviewed 26 December 2016

We were picked up by the owner as we walked the Camino and taken to the mill house where we spent a lovely evening. The room was just OK, comfortable, but not anything special. However, the mill house is full of history and in a beautiful setting. Dinner that night will not be forgotten. Everything was lovely and delicious and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wmailer
Dunsborough, Australia
Reviewed 15 September 2016 via mobile

A group of 8 of us stayed at this hotel on our Camino walk. Javier collected us from the nearby village and told us about his gorgeous hotel. It's an restored watermill and the gardens and river setting is gorgeous. We shared a delicious degustation dinner. Each delicious small course was described and served by Javier who is passionate about...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pengwee
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 August 2016

Delightful setting in dell by millstream, with space to wander. The main building is a converted mill house, and there is a timber-built annexe. Vigorous, enthusiastic style of welcome. A little rough and ready but a good place to relax.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jahr49
O Muino d, Gerente at O Muino de Pena, responded to this review
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por su feedback, Un saludo, Javier

Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 August 2016

We had a terrible experience. The service was almost non existing, the food ridiculous in terms of quality and quantity and the breakfast a joke: cold coffee, hardly any bread, rotten fruit, hardly anything worth eating and no one around to complain. A PLACE TO AVOID!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AngieDoran
O Muino d, Gerente at O Muino de Pena, responded to this review
Google Translation

Hola Angie somos conscientes de que el día de su estancia el servicio no estuvo como acostumbran nuestros estanderes ya...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 6 August 2016

We stayed there with our 2 kids and it was great. It's an old mill that's been restored. We stayed in their little cabin that had a kitchenette and porch. The chef is very talented and we had an amazing tasting menu for dinner. We were walking the Camino de Santiago and they came and picked us up at the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NYCtraveller2015
O Muino d, Gerente at O Muino de Pena, responded to this review

Thanks a lot for your feedback, Greetings, Javier

Boise, Idaho
Reviewed 14 July 2016

We stayed here on our last night along the camino. Javier picked us up right off of the way and brought us to his lovingly restored hotel. The ambiance and feel of the place are a bit quaint by some standards but the hotel itself is relaxing and inviting. Dinner is a must regardless of the price and the tasting...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ticatraveler1997
O Muino d, Gerente at O Muino de Pena, responded to this review
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por sus comentarios me alegra que hayan disfrutado de su estancia y espero volver a verlos, Un saludo,...

Melbourne
Reviewed 18 June 2016

This is an amazing place to stay, an old converted mill, it is full of character and just the place to relax after a day walking the Camino. We were pickup up by the owner at O Pino (hotel) and taken to the accommodation. The place has two resident dogs who are very friendly and will take you for a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WineloverMelbourne
O Muino d, Gerente at O Muino de Pena, responded to this review

Thanks a lot for your comments, they help us to keep improving everyday, Kind Regards, Javier Rey

Singapore
Reviewed 30 May 2016 via mobile

What a treat after a long Camino walk! The place does look so lovingly restored. The room was pretty and the dining area so cosy. It has an absolutely peaceful surroundings, especially the little stream running through the property. What is most endearing is the 3 beautiful dogs that are part of the set up. It makes the place even...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Flyn1170
O Muino d, Gerente at O Muino de Pena, responded to this review

thank you Flyn for your feedback, so happy you enjoyed your stay, Kind Regards, Javier Rey

Cademario, Switzerland
Reviewed 19 May 2016

We stayed 4 nights at the O Muino de Pena, with a group of friends - 8 totally - Some of them walked along the Camino North of Santiago while 2 toured with a minibus but returning alltogether in the afternoon to the Muino. Rooms are simple but well kept by Mrs. Teresa and the dinner is wounderfully cooked by...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rudy4319
O Muino d, Gerente at O Muino de Pena, responded to this review

Thanks a lot for your greeting Rudy, with clients like you this work is a pleasure!!! Kind Regards and take care all of you!!! Nely, Teresa & Javier

70 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (48)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near O Pino
18.2 km away
Altair Hotel
Altair Hotel
#3 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
428 reviews
14.6 km away
Pazo Santa Maria
Pazo Santa Maria
#1 of 3 in Arzua
200 reviews
39.8 km away
La Cabana
La Cabana
#1 of 1 in Palas de Rei
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 km away
Hotel Spa Relais & Chateaux A Quinta da Auga
Hotel Spa Relais & Chateaux A Qu...
#2 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
706 reviews
14.4 km away
La Casona de Nene
La Casona de Nene
#5 of 18 in Arzua
15 reviews
14.3 km away
Casa Brandariz
Casa Brandariz
#1 of 1 in Dombodan
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
• Muiño de Pena is one of the most impressive rural houses to be found in the beautiful Galician countryside. Treat yourself to a special night near the end of the pilgrimage (1.8km) or simply soak up some Galician culture in our Local History Museum located in a natural beauty spot located on the banks of the river Mera and only 6 km from Santiago Airport. • Transport from the pilgrimage or airport is free for all our clients with prior arrangement by phoning the house.• The 200 year-old windmill provides an opportunity to travel from the past to the present. See the past in the local history museum with its array of craftwork and antiques samples from the area’s most traditional professions; milling, carpentry, metalwork and sawmilling, not forgetting the importance of linen production throughout the mill’s long history. Nowadays, the mill continues to work powered by a turbine combined with solar panels, making a significant contribution to ecologic tourism and small technological details like mirrors that do not steam up whilst showering and a central ventilation system allow the guest to feel like they are travelling through time and mean that your stay at O Muíño de Pena will remain one of the sweetest memories of your Galician experience. ... more   less 

Additional Information about O Muino de Pena

Address: A Ponte Punide, 24, 15823 O Pino, Spain
Region: Spain > Galicia > Province of A Coruna > O Pino
Price Range: €57 - €79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — O Muino de Pena 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your O Muino de Pena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from O Muino de Pena staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“try to get a room overlooking the river since it is a beautiful view”
 of 5 bubbles ticatraveler1997, 14 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Get a room upstairs”
 of 5 bubbles SimmoAdelaide, 4 May 2016 | Read review
“I was very allergic to the air fresheners in the room and had to remove them. But no other complaints- I loved it. ”
 of 5 bubbles S2892NYandreab, 19 Oct 2015 | Read review
“The separate cabin is quite lovely.”
 of 5 bubbles hfulghum, 26 Jun 2015 | Read review
“better rooms in upper floor and with view to river.”
 of 5 bubbles kafu123, 20 May 2015 | Read review
5 of 5