We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The George Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The George Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

523 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The George Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 521: English reviews
Manchester; England
Reviewed 23 March 2016 via mobile

This hotel is dirty, run down and nothing like the pictures on-line. This hotel is full of construction contractors, to give some idea of the type of hotel, cheap but nasty. No shower curtain in the room. Window would not close, however room was very hot. Breakfast was just about about edible, and appeared to have been stood awhile. Even...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SJones41
Jeff H, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Mr Jones, I am sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. As you are aware being a keen reviewer all pictures taken are not supplied by the hotel some are from guests and we believe that they do give a true representation of the hotel. As for our guests as you have stated we do...

Darlington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 March 2016 via mobile

Celebrated our wedding here yesterday from ceremony through to the evening. We hired the Pavilion Room for the day which was perfect for our small wedding of 30 people. In all big occasions you expect a few minor hiccups or some sort of niggles. All day we waited for something and yet we are still waiting. The whole thing went...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank phoenixmarlor
Jeff H, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words about our hotel I am so glad to hear how much you enjoyed your wedding here with us. I will pass your comments on to Jo and the rest of our team, please remember not to be a stranger!!!

Leeds uk
Reviewed 18 March 2016

vivited The George for the 4th time. Food and bar were very good, room was acceptable and clean, published rates without breakfast was £49.50 but add breakfast then VAT the cost was £146. Drinks were pricey but food was reasonable

 Report
Helpful?
Thank philthestripe
Jeff H, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the Brilliant review Phil we are very happy that you continue to be a loyal customers of ours and are very glad to hear you enjoyed it. With regards to the bill all of our rooms for sale at the hotel are including VAT however we do break them down on your final bill. If this wasn't...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 March 2016 via mobile

Stayed with my mum and a friend. We booked a triple room, this was a double and a single bed (not a sofa bed). The room was really spacious. The bathroom had a great shower and a jacuzzi bath. The beds were so comfortable, I had a great nights sleep. The pub/restaurant was great too. The food is a little...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Emma C
Jeff H, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for this fantastic review Emma we pride ourselves on our guest feedback and this is exactly what we want to hear! I hope that you will be coming to visit us again soon and bring the rest of the family!!

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 March 2016 via mobile

We booked this place after reading the good reviews but I can only conclude that the reviewers must have been to a different hotel! It's such a shame because this place has potential to be pretty good, however, the customer service is nearly non existent. This is perhaps a little unfair and perhaps it's due to understaffing. The young girl...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank billyridley
Jeff H, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent visit to The George Hotel Piercebridge. Going forward; I have already communicated your feedback to my managers, and I am confident they will initiate relevant actions to prevent any of the negatives you have mentioned occurring in the future and please accept my apologies if you felt that we...

Reviewed 21 February 2016 via mobile

Visited yrsterday and i made a mistake on our booking. Not only did the staff help me sort it out they went out of their way to make our stay special. The room was out of this world, food amazing but the staff are what made it perfect. Thankyou as well for my lovely birthday pudding!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kitty123456789
Jeff H, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Kitty it was a pleasure to meet you and assist you with your booking. It is great to hear that you enjoyed all your stay and hope to see you again soon for our entertainment nights!!

Reviewed 20 February 2016

love this little hideaway all the staff r fab,was my husbands birthday they went above and beyond are friends ali and jon were amazed ,they loved it .the rooms are amazing we were upgraded to the honeymoon suite ,its laid back and fantastic .they made my husband a chocolate cup saucer and plate on a slate with happy birthday on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kaiyya
Jeff H, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your fantastic review Kaiyya it was lovely to meet you and it is our pleasure we are happy to treat our valued guests to a little something different. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your latest visit and hope you will be back soon!

York, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 February 2016 via mobile

Stayed the night before Valentine's Day, we were pleasantly surprised at the size of the room(had a family room) well decorated and the swans on the beds were a great touch! Didn't use the bar or restaurant but both looked cosy and welcoming with real fires everywhere. Hotel grounds and nearby area were very pretty. Bargain price too! Will definitely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicola M
Jeff H, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review Nicola! I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and hope that we do see you again in the future

Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 February 2016

Spent Valentines night here on a very good value deal. Really loved the place, lovely spot, great staff and the food was excellent. The bar is cosy with a roaring fire and whilst the room was lovely it was very cold. The building in very old and we did have snow but we had to get into bed and watch...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue G
Jeff H, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Sue I would first of all like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am very glad to hear that you found ourselves and our food to be excellent. I am sorry to hear that your bedroom was cold this is not a problem we don't normally encounter this had we have know we...

Spennymoor, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 February 2016 via mobile

This Christmas, my partner & I received a stay @ the George courtesy of my sister, knowing we've enjoyed nights here on many occasions. After a rough year, a relaxing break was exactly what we needed and gladly, my sister came to the rescue. The lovely lady who checked us in casually let us know we'd be spending the night...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MissRP_1988
Jeff H, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. Please accept my apologies that you were disturbed during your recent stay with us as you can imagine the staff were rather panicked with water leaking into the bar and wanted to ensure above all that you were safe. Your feedback is important to us and...

250 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (248)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (64)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (16)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (96)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Piercebridge
3.9 km away
BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel
9.6 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Croft Hotel
34.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel
BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel
#4 of 9 in Hartlepool
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 km away
Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf
8.2 km away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
3,031 reviews
32.0 km away
Chapters Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Address: Piercebridge DL2 3SW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Piercebridge
Price Range: €64 - €143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Hotel Piercebridge
George Hotel Darlington
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The George Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“family room with 2 double beds was great for us”
berbriboo, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
“plenty to choose from up or down, river views”
gffryhdgk, 25 Dec 2016 | Read review
“save your money - dont go”
jocka11, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Go for the recently refurbished rooms”
susansS6903MY, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 226 has a nice view of the river.”
Abigail1410, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5