Mulranny Park Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Mulranny Park Hotel

Traveller (362)
View from bedroom on sunlit day
Room & Suite (95)
View from the Breakfast table
Dining (43)

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Fri, 31 May
Breakfast included
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
€242
Fully refundable before Fri, 31 May
Breakfast included
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
€242
Fully refundable before Wed, 29 May
Breakfast included
No prepayment needed
€255
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#1 of 1 hotels in Mulranny
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Value
The Mulranny Park Hotel Mayo is an exquisite hotel overlooking the glittering waters of the Atlantic Ocean with a blue flag beach in front of the hotel. Fine dining and quality cuisine is at the heart of the hotel. Enjoy the 20m swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna, steam room, gym, Seaweed Baths and Treatment Room. We are uniquely situated on the Great Western Greenway. The trail offers some of the best views and scenery in the West of Ireland. At the gateway to Achill Island and close to The Wild Nephin National Park and Dark Skies Park, this is truly a perfect place to explore, relax and take time to discover the very best of what Mayo and the west of Ireland has to offer. If you are looking for a couples getaway, a family celebration or gathering you have found your location.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Hiking
Babysitting
Wifi
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Special diet menus
Windsurfing
Fishing
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Steam room
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Room service
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mountain View

Location

Mulranny F28 N2H9 Ireland
1,296Review7Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 655
  • 363
  • 144
  • 91
  • 43
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Bonder19 wrote a review Jul 2020
Dublin, Ireland6 contributions6 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Our party of four stayed for 4 nights in the apartment suites. The apartment was tired and in need of refurbishment from paint, bathroom grout and blinds. Attention to detail is not there, livingroom lamp didn't work or bulbs were blown. 2 ring stove is not suitable for breakfast cooking. Windows, patio etc were not cleaned and general areas needed weeding. Our apartment wasn't hoovered before we arrived and no cleaning was possible during our stay because of Covid-19 safety measures - does that mean all other areas of the hotel and common areas aren't routinely cleaned on the grounds of safety? Surely staff can enter vacated apartments with protective masks and gloves to change bins and refresh towels at the very least. We left our towels outside the door as instructed and these were not replaced like for like. The kitchen was not appropriately stocked for possibly up to 6 guests that the apartments can accommodate, with only four piece delf. Despite all this the staff were lovely and we have a lovely dinner in the restaurant. Scenery is breathtaking and super access to the Greenway and to the fab Nevins pub. Shame the place is tired and needs TLC because this place could be a real gem.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Dermot Madigan, General Manager at Mulranny Park Hotel
Responded 23 Jul 2020
Dear cdOwling, Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us at the Mulranny Park Hotel. I was lovely to read your positive comments regarding the area, food and our team . However disappointing to read that your accommodation was not up to our usual standard. I can assure you that we are following all of the guidelines set out by Failte Ireland and the HSE for the health and safety of our guests and our team. This is under constant review and your point of entering occupied rooms while vacant is well made and we are working on adjusting this operation procedure. As you can understand we are just entering into our third week of opening which was brought forward by a month and this did present its challenges and we are working to over come them, but our main aim was to get the guest back to Mulranny. Please accept our apologies for not delivering our usual standard of accommodation presentation. I have met with our Accommodation Manager Margaret to address the issues you raised an to ensure they are not repeated. We had planned an upgrade of our Apartment accommodation pre COVID but that did not occur due to the pandemic but i can assure as soon as it is possible we will be back making the necessary improvements. Thanks you again for your time and I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind regards, Dermot Madigan General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sarlaur wrote a review Sept 2020
Ireland30 contributions37 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I stayed in Mulranny Park Hotel in September. It was the most wonderful experience. We had been worried about the advice being given to older people going to hotels amidst Covid.... but we felt totally safe in the Mulranny Park. We had an amazing room, it was huge, overlooking the sea with magnificent views from our three windows. Housekeeping is different, due to the pandemic, nobody came into our room, but any replacement towels, bed linen, etc were left at our door. We wore masks around the hotel and the saw the strict cleansing of each table, chairs, etc.after someone had vacated it.
The 20 metre pool is wonderful and one books ones time slot each day. There is an excellent fitness room also. The hotel is directly opposite the sea and there are steps leading down to the beach.
Bikes can be hired from behind the hotel, to cycle on the Greenway, to Achill Island and back. Of course one can walk on the Greenway as well.
There is the Nephin Restaurant where breakfasts is served from 8 a.m. until 10.30. each day and dinner each evening. Meal times are booked in advance and there is great social distancing. There is also the Waterfront Bistro / Bar, where food is served every day from 12 noon until 9.30.p.m. The food is amazing, we both agree that the quality, presentation, and large helpings, are the best we have ever had, in any hotel we have ever stayed in. My husband is a coeliac and almost everything on the menus, could be adapted for him.
The staff are superb, from reception, the restaurant staff, the leisure centre, housekeeping, service. They do a wonderful job and are always so efficient and friendly at all times.
We would highly recommend the Mulranny Park Hotel and will certainly return.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: A room with a sea view
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Dermot Madigan, General Manager at Mulranny Park Hotel
Responded 22 Sept 2020
Dear Sarlaur Thank you for your lovely comments following your stay with us lovely to read that especially you felt safe and looked after while you were with us. Look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Regards Dermot Madigan General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
cleobyrne wrote a review Mar 2020
Wicklow, Ireland41 contributions66 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Beautiful old building set in absolutely amazing scenery and while it is a four star catagory it is definitely falling short on the finer touches. Corridor very “institutional” with complete lack of colour, pictures on walls, decorative lighting, furnishings etc. Large bedroom with beautiful bay window but better lighting needed, more sockets, pictures better suited to the age/style of the room, insufficient toiletries for two people etc. Room functional but lacking the little extras. The food in the dining room was absolutely faultless and while it is not cheap it is really, really good and could compete with any of the top restaurants in the country.
Bar menu left a lot to be desired, especially if you don’t like burgers, so a little thought and imagination needed there. Staff were top class from the front of house staff to the cleaners - all so friendly and helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Caitriona G wrote a review Aug 2021
Dublin5 contributions1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed for 3 nights in July 2021 in a family room. Although the configuration is not specified in the description of a family room, from the photo I had expected twin beds plus a double. What we got was a superking plus a double. There was no wifi at all in the room, the only available wifi was in the reception area. The room also had one plug socket we could use to charge phones & devices. I understand this hotel was built many years ago but really nowadays you expect to have multiple options for a socket. When we needed to use the hairdryer we had to plug out the TV!

The bar food and breakfast were very average so for decent food and coffee you will have to drive back towards Westport.

We attempted to cycle the greenway one day and were caught in a massive amount of rain. The hotel has no laundry facilities and we were directed to Newport to wash clothes.

This hotel has a lovely setting with lots of natural charm but unless there is a significant upgrade done on this hotel we, unfortunately, won't be back.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Dermot Madigan, General Manager at Mulranny Park Hotel
Responded 5 Aug 2021
Dear Catorina, Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the Mulranny Park Hotel. I have also received your email this morning and I will contact you directly. Our apologies for not delivering our usual standard of service on this occasion. Thank you for your time. Regards Dermot Madigan
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alice wrote a review Jul 2021
5 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Mulranny is a beautiful location, with stunning views across the bay. Main hotel has a good situation overlooking the bay and walkway onto the beach. Mix of accommodation types around the hotel. We stayed in the apartments. Official rating of the hotel is four stars. However, issues with the property and the service (on occasion), don’t live up to this rating. A three star rating for the accommodation and service would be more realistic. Parts of the hotel is in need of refurbishment such as attention in the garden, general tidiness such as stains and cracks, the training of staff and lighting and plumbing. On a positive note, the food is of a good standard and the young waiting staff in the restaurant (however not properly trained) are friendly and helpful. Finally, the hotel has a great location for exploring the surrounding area, including hiking and walking trails and a greenway cycle route. Bike hire is right behind the hotel and staff were lovely. They offered free bike repair if a puncture occured etc. The views across the greenway were beautiful and we did not come in contact with any cars until we arrived in Achill. The beach was also gorgeous. I would however recommend to drive to the beach if you have little ones as the walk from the hotel is quite long.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Dermot Madigan, General Manager at Mulranny Park Hotel
Responded 14 Jul 2021
Alice310, Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. I was lovely to read your positive comments however disappointing to read that our rating did not match your overall experience. We certainly have challenges with a building originally built in the late 1800's that we are constantly working on. Regarding the grounds we are in a never ending battle with our neighbours the Mulranny Native Irish Goad and the free ranging sheep that severely limit us as to what we can successfully grown through out the grounds of the hotel, as such we cannot present manicured grounds and shrubbery as much as we would like to do. I do hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back to stay with us again in the future. Regards, Dermot Madigan General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Anne M wrote a review Aug 2020
Dublin, Ireland13 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in the main hotel for 5 nights. We ate in the restaurant twice and in the bar for the remaining 3 nights. Food was astounding in both areas. Tables were well apart, staff wore visors and details were taken in the bar for contact tracing purposes. There were numerous hand gel stations provided around the hotel. We ate breakfast in our room as the views were fab. We used the pool which was clean and pleasant and has to be prebooked. There were details in the room informing us to change and use dressing gown for the pool. A towel is provided at the pool and discard it after use in linen basket at pool reception. Obviously the hot tub is not open due to Covid which is completely understandable. We found all the staff really friendly and helpful. The views from the hotel and the walks on Mulranny beach were so refreshing. We can’t wait to return to ‘The Mulranny Park’!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Philip A wrote a review Aug 2020
N. ireland29 contributions42 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I'll start with the positives.. Staff seemed friendly, breakfast was good and location very good.
Now the bad news.. Hotel had limited bar menu, plastic menu sheets were being handled and used over and over again. Not all the staff seemed the need to wear masks in the bar.
Room 123 was shoddy, inside of windows smeared and unclean. Remote for TV was grubby and obviously not cleaned.. No mineral water in room or WiFi as promised when booking.. Small TV with limited choice of channels.. One nite with bed and breakfast for 2 was €220...Definity not worth it. I would not recommend.
BTW, on check out, receptionist was just glad to take our money and get rid of us. None of the usual questions like how was your stay etc...I sensed she had had a few complaints already.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Dermot Madigan, General Manager at Mulranny Park Hotel
Responded 18 Aug 2020
Dear Philip A, Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent visit to the Mulranny Park Hotel and for your positive comments regarding our location, team and breakfast. However very disappointing to read your negative comments regarding the accommodation and cleaning and that you felt your room was not with the rate you paid. Some of our rooms are smaller and do not have a sea view which was the case in your room. i will certainly address the cleaning issues and TV in your room today with our team. Once again thank you for your time and feedback. Regards, Dermot Madigan General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Crazy2010 wrote a review Sept 2020
Galway, Ireland165 contributions125 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed for 3 nights. Room is not serviced during this time due to COVID and we were very comfortable with that as didn’t want others in the room while we stayed. Fresh towels are dropped in as needed and they will drop in any other items required.
Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The bar food was fabulous. Had a mackerel with salad and chips. Yum
Restaurant had amazing evening meal.
However breakfast was very basic and nothing special.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Dermot Madigan, General Manager at Mulranny Park Hotel
Responded 22 Sept 2020
Dear Crazy Thanks for your positive comments following your stay with us. Our apologies for not delivering our usual standard of breakfast on this occasion this is not typical of a breakfast experience with us. Kind regards Dermot Madigan General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Natalie wrote a review Oct 2021
Dublin, Ireland8 contributions6 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Before arrival we received an email asking us to call regarding breakfast and dinner bookings. Numerous attempts were made to contact the hotel and multiple voice messages were left, however we did not receive any calls back. We also received an email regarding the closure of the leisure centre, which was understandable. However we were told we would have access to the steam room and jacuzzi, but upon arrival were told this was not the case.

Upon arrival, we were told that we had put requests in the comments box which couldn't be accomadated because they don't get read. If we required further assistance throughout stay we were asked to call reception.

We were put into room 101. Please see the following list of items which need fixing:

1. The window is broke and will not stay open (we had to use a book to keep it open)
2. It is a disabled room, which is not an issue - however we did not ask for this
3. The phone in the room does not work (not ideal when you're supposed to call for clean towels, toilet paper, etc)
4. The small hatch door for access to pipes in the bathroom continously opened
5. The room hadn't been properly cleaned, there were hairs in the bathroom sink and soap marks on the mirror and tiles
6. We were supposed to have handmade chocolates in the room - they were not there (however they were provided by Tara upon departure)
7. For a 3 night stay for 2 people there was limited toiletries (1 shampoo, body lotion, and soap)
8. Again we received enough milk, tea, and coffee for 1 morning
9. The generator directly outside the window continously kicked in at regular intervals which quite disturbed our sleep

On a positive note, Tara in reception , Alice in the restaurant, and Tom the nigh porter were extremely helpful and pleasent. They made every effort to make our stay a positive one.

Locals are lovely and great sense of community
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
preacherirl wrote a review Aug 2020
Leopardstown, Ireland40 contributions66 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed as a family in July 2020 in one of apartments that are part of the hotel.

The location is great with views of the sea amd a very short walk to the sea. The Greenway runs past the back of the hotel.

The apartments are good, spacious bedrooms, a decent kitchen and a great living room with a view of the bay.

The food was amazingly good in the restaurant! As good as you will get at any hotel in Ireland I'd say.

The problems began when we had to deal with the staff. We had no WiFi in the apartment. We called reception but they could not have cared less (when they eventually answered the phone). It was much the same when we went to reception in person. (We never got WiFi to work in our apartment and very rarely in the hotel itself).

This pattern was seen consistently through our stay. For example when we came to the restaurant for breakfast they had lost our reservation even though we had re-confirmed it the day before. We asked for extra towels that never arrived. And while the serving staff wore masks or visors, which was welcome, the supervisory staff/managers did not, which made no sense. The phone in reception was almost never answered.

The pool was open but annoyingly while the showers were in use, the soap and shampoo had been removed.

Apart from the missing masks for the managers, Covid precautions and arrangements were excellent.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from jmhowley
Galway, Ireland23 contributions26 helpful votes
I don't know as I have not stayed in the apartmentss in Mulranney.
Answer from C_Morris_Howth
Dublin, Ireland69 contributions62 helpful votes
Don’t know
Answer from C_Morris_Howth
Dublin, Ireland69 contributions62 helpful votes
I do not have any children myself so I cannot answer such a question but my experience of the Hotel is that they would make every effort to accommodate you
Answer from C_Morris_Howth
Dublin, Ireland69 contributions62 helpful votes
Unfortunately I cannot because I did not stay in an apartment, instead being in one of the rooms in the original historic hotel building. Sorry
Answer from John L
Bray, Ireland
Westport to Mulranny about 18 miles. Takes about 35 minutes. train station in Westport with frequent trains from Dublin and connections to other destinations. Don't know of Westport to Mulranny public transport but to the best of my knowledge hotel staff will pick up guests fron train station. Your family will have a wonderful time in Mulranny Park Hotel.
Jim Dwyer wrote a tip 5 May
Tipperary, Ireland2 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't pay for cappuccinos at breakfast "
Read full review
Jet15915453335 wrote a tip Mar 2024
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bring warm clothes. The rooms are freezing "
Read full review
stardada wrote a tip Mar 2024
Leicester, United Kingdom14 contributions8 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t drive to the top car park."
Read full review
summer1264 wrote a tip Nov 2023
Ireland10 contributions16 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Get to breakfast early as it gets busy, you’ll get Kellys of Newport sausages and pudding. They have a pancake machine, the kids loved it."
Read full review
David Clarke wrote a tip Aug 2023
Dublin, Ireland28 contributions13 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"V little parking"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Mulranny area.
PRICE RANGE
€165 - €215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
park inn westport, park hotel mulranny, mulranny park inn, mulranny hotel mayo
LOCATION
IrelandWestern IrelandProvince of ConnachtCounty MayoMulranny
NUMBER OF ROOMS
60
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MULRANNY PARK HOTEL - UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Price Comparison (County Mayo) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Mulranny Park Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Mulranny Park Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Marlene's Chocolate Haven (0.1 km), Vanessa Parker Rare Books (0.6 km), and Lourdie's Pub (2.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Mulranny Park Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Mulranny Park Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Mulranny Park Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Mulranny Park Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Nevin's Newfield Inn, The Greenway Cafe, and Corleys Pub.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Mulranny Park Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Mulranny Park Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Mulranny Park Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Mulranny Park Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Lost Valley (15.9 km).
Does Mulranny Park Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.
Is Mulranny Park Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire