The Springs Resort and Spa
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Springs Resort and Spa

9 km West & 3.5 km North from the Center of La Fortuna Arenal Volcano, Palma, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007 Costa Rica
Traveller (3807)
Panorama at The Springs Resort and Spa
360
Panoramas (36)
Room & Suite (944)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#2 of 2 hotels in Palma
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
With a spectacular view of the Arenal Volcano, natural hot springs, five unique dining experiences, and an impressive full-service Spa, The Springs Resort & Spa at Arenal promises to overwhelm you in every aspect of quality, service and design. CNN Travel voted our five-star property one of the seven resorts with the most spectacular views in the world, and we have hosted "The Bachelor" and many other famous TV Programs. On our 165-acre property, families are sure to enjoy the water slide, signature putt-putt course, kids' game room and our on-site Club Rio Adventure Center, offering river tubing, kayaking, horseback riding, rock climbing, hot springs and our amazing Animal Sanctuary.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Pool
Bar / lounge
Game room
Hiking
Books, DVDs, music for children
Valet parking
Wifi
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Private pool
Plunge pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Horseback riding
Mini golf
Billiards
Darts
Entertainment staff
Fishing
Patio
Table tennis
Walking tours
Waterslide
Board games / puzzles
Video game console
Children's television networks
Indoor play area for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Highchairs available
Airport transportation
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business centre
Spa
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot bath
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Hot spring bath
Light therapy
Makeup services
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Salon
Steam room
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shops
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Butler service
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Clothes dryer
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Additional bathroom
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Extra long beds
Walk-in shower
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Radio
iPod docking station
Sofa bed
Whirlpool bathtub
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Mountain view
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Park View
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish

Location

9 km West & 3.5 km North from the Center of La Fortuna Arenal Volcano, Palma, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007 Costa Rica
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles3,382 reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

The Springs Resort and Spa is celebrated for its spacious and pristine rooms that boast breathtaking volcano views, although a few guests suggest a decor update. The staff's friendly and professional demeanor consistently earns high marks, contributing to the resort's homey and modern ambiance. While the resort's cleanliness and extensive amenities, including pools and hot springs, receive accolades, some visitors consider the dining and overall costs to be on the higher side, questioning the value for money.
Atmosphere
Inviting
Rooms
Spacious
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Immaculate
Service
Attentive
Amenities
Comprehensive

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
3,382Reviews205Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 2,794
  • 412
  • 108
  • 41
  • 27
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
lindsayzdz wrote a review Jan 2020
Los Angeles, California
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I have not stayed at this resort so I can't speak on that aspect BUT we had a two-day pass for the springs and it was so much fun. They offer lockers (I think it's 6$ per locker) and towels (you have to give them a deposit, but you get it back when you return the towel). The changing room/showers were very nicely well kept and they offer bathrooms near some of the lower springs so you don't have to walk all the way back to the main ones.

The pools were nice and the layout is great. We spent a lot of time soaking in the pools and even saw the volcano when it came out of it's cloud shroud! Love it here.

TIP: When your towel gets a bit soggy there are towel bins by most of the bars and you can throw the wet one in and get a fresh one!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from JohnPicart, Manager at The Springs Resort and Spa
Responded 27 Jan 2020
Dear Lindsay, Thank you for visiting us on a day pass! Thank you for your tip for all future guests as well. We appreciate your positive comments and hope you get the opportunity to stay with us soon! John Picart john@thespringscostarica.com
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
cr_yyystal wrote a review Feb 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This resort is incredible. We visited The Springs in February 2020, and purchased the two day pass (we stayed at an airbnb nearby). The resort was not overly crowded, and we felt like we had plenty of space to ourselves. While the food and drinks were expensive, the luxury/views/service can't be beat. Every staff person we interacted with was so nice and helpful. I spent a lot of time researching which hot spring to visit beforehand, and am so happy I went with The Springs over one of the competitors.

The Springs accepts colones or dollars for food/drink payment. They also take cards.

There are lockers and towels that you can use onsite, as well as showers (you will need to leave a deposit in cash for the towels - the deposit is returned to you when you leave for the day, when you return your towels). There are many places to lounge around - regular pool chairs as well as "cabana" type beds (no additional charge to use them). There are also a number of activities you can do at The Springs, including kayaking, tubing, birdwatching. We chose to visit the animal rescue that was onsite (the cost was reasonable, about $30 for two people).

You can take a taxi to The Springs if you don't rent a car. We had a rental car and drove ourselves. There is parking available for free, for guests. Would recommend The Springs to anyone I know, and we would definitely go back if we visit La Fortuna again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from JohnPcrt, Manager at The Springs Resort and Spa
Responded 24 Feb 2020
Dear Crystal, Thank you for your day visit to The Springs and for your extensive review of the property! We appreciate all of your detailed comments for future guests and hope you can stay with us a a resort guest in the near future Thank you again, John Picart john@thespringscostarica.com
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
Ryan F wrote a review Dec 2020
Charleston, South Carolina
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This recent trip was planned only a few weeks prior to going, as when Costa Rica opened their borders to US citizens, we planned the trip back to the Springs for the week of Thanksgiving (Nov 21-28th, 2020). This is our 3rd time visiting the Springs and we usually stay for a full week. Our family of 4 is my wife and I and our two boys who are currently 6 and 9yo. Usually we don't make any plans prior to getting to the resort and then allow the hotel to book and organize excursions for us either on the property or off property.

What we love about the Springs is how everything is always done with 5 star service. From never seeing anyone in housekeeping, yet your room is always clean, to the amazing service in the restaurants. I must point our two VERY special people that we found on this trip and that is Tatiana who was serving food in the restaurant for breakfast and lunch and Steven who worked the Sushi bar area for lunch and dinner. These two were the hardest working people I have ever seen and is the epitome of the culture at The Springs. It doesn't matter where you go on the property, we found perfect service. Now we came only a few weeks after they reopened from COVID shutdown for 7 months, and we expected the place to be not as perfect as it has been in years past, but that couldn't have been further from the truth. It seems that during the shutdown, the owners of the resort took that time with no guests and used it to their advantage to redo the hot springs, build new areas, add new guest rooms, etc. I have to hand it to the ownership as this must have been quite scary to take this risk in the uncertain time, but they knocked it out of the park. What ever you do, go to Costa Rica! The people are so thankful for coming to their country and helping the economy and the Springs is the #1 resort we have found in Costa Rica. This was our 6th trip to the country in the past 15 years and we have never had a bad experience.

To the Springs management, please thank you for the amazing resort and please thank all of the staff, but especially Tatiana and Steven for us as they are great employees, but also just great human beings and will be friends forever now.

Lastly, anyone with COVID protocol concerns when in the country or at the Springs. Coming from the US, it is so comforting to see a country that just does the logical items to help stop transmission. They wipe everything down and every employee wears a mask 100% of the time. They did a great job and I have zero suggestions on what they could have done better. Bravo to the management and staff of The Springs, as well as all the other wonderful Costa Rican's who made our trip special and memorable.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: All rooms are amazing, but we love the 2 bedroom suites which are room 217 and 317.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from John Picart, General Manager at The Springs Resort and Spa
Responded 28 Dec 2021
Dear Ryan, Thank you for flying down asa soon as we opened! We appreciate your visit so much and love your positive review. We hope to have your family back very soon! Thank you John Picart john@thespringscostarica.com
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bjohn42 wrote a review Jan 2020
St. Petersburg, Florida
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The property is nice and tropical and has great views of the volcano from your balcony. The bed was definitely the most comfortable bed in Costa Rica. The food at the casual restaurants was okay, not as good as at it's sister property Peace Lodge. The food at Las Ventanas was outstanding, as well as the service. I would recommend eating there every night. The difference in service and quality was considerable. Definitely worth making the reservations. They make you feel special and you couldn't ask for better service.
The springs were great. We had to make sure we got to check them all out. Between the resort and Club Rio there are alot of springs to soak in. The hotter ones are definitely the best.
The room was spectacular. We had one of the honeymoon suites. It had all the comforts you could ask for and spectacular views. There was a hottub out on the patio overlooking the volcano. There was also a security camera attached to the wall outside the patio that looked right down over our room. So, for being on your honeymoon, unless your cool with possibly ending up on a website somewhere, it kinda takes away the bonus of the patio jacuzzi......
After we had stayed at Peace Lodge, the difference in the quality of service and inclusions on the property with your stay was lacking, especially considering this hotel is quite a bit more expensive. The animal sanctuary was inclusive at Peace Lodge, but you had to pay at The Springs. The Springs seemed more commercial, comparable to Atlantis in the Bahamas, that everything is an upsell and added costs for everything.
I think that coming from Florida takes away some of the awe at the tropical landscape, but it was a beautiful hotel. Just would've been better without the creeper cam on the patio
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marcella Marshall wrote a review Nov 2020
Atenas, Costa Rica
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We have just finished a glorious three night stay at The Springs Resort. We have visited numerous times on day passes and brought guests with us, but had not stayed at the hotel and experienced all of the amenities.
The staff were all top notch. They were professional, friendly, attentive and so happy to see guests returning after being closed for months due to the pandemic. We were greeted by Jennifer and Carolina, both welcoming and informative. At the bar, we befriended two great staff members, Steven and Mykail (hope I spelled correctly). At the Club Rio, Daniel, Roberto and Rolando made us feel like VIPs when we visited the nature reserve and went tubing. Equally impressive as all the staff was meeting the owner of the hotel, who was on site, working alongside the staff to make sure the facilities were all up to the best standards.
The rooms were immaculate and had everything we needed to include toiletries and coffee.
We love this resort and plan to return regularly. We live in Costa Rica and are blessed to be only a 2 1/2 hr drive away. Every time we bring guests they cite The Springs Resort as a favorite. The property is spectacular in beauty, especially the Club Rio area. We saw three types of toucans during our stay as well as other critters. What truly helps make this place extra special though, are the enthusiastic and attentive staff.
We ate all our meals at the hotel too even though we had a car. We were happy to sample many items on the menu and recommend the chicken picatta, sweet corn guacamole and salsa and the potato leek soup.
If you are blessed enough to be able to visit this wonderful paradise, you will want to come back as often as possible!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from John Picart, General Manager at The Springs Resort and Spa
Responded 22 Nov 2020
Dear valued guest! Thank you so much for such an extensive and wonderful review of our property! We are so happy to be back and finally welcoming our guests! We know how hard it is to travel in these trying times and appreciate your visit so much! We have worked very hard to improve our facilities and services and are happy to hear that you had such a memorable experience. Thank you for the staff mentions, we will definitely recognize their efforts. We hope to have you back very soon! John Picart john@thespringscostarica.com
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Yvette R wrote a review Jan 2020
London, United Kingdom
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Big, Americanized and very impersonal. $800 per night and they still charged extra for breakfast - which we were appalled by. We didn’t get any sort of greeting on arrival despite them having asked us several times for our arrival time, though they did address this well. Lovely pool areas but sadly they sell day passes to locals and other tourists not staying at the property and this creates an atmosphere that you don’t want when you’re paying a huge price to stay there - loads of locals in the pool on both days we were there (Saturday and Sunday - so may be quieter on weekdays) which put me off using them. Restaurants very poor apart from Ventanas which was ok. More of a family resort than for couples. I would not return or recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from JohnPcrt, Manager at The Springs Resort and Spa
Responded 20 Jan 2020
Dear Yvette, I wanted to take this opportunity to personally apologize for not meeting your expectations. Please know that we strive to deliver flawless service and unforgettable experiences to our guests and I am saddened that we did not meet our goal during your visit. Regarding your comments on breakfast not being included, none of our rates include breakfast and we do make this very clear during the reservation process and confirmation document. I want you and future guests to know that we sell Day Passes for non-hotel guests who are staying in other hotels of the area, however, we do limit this day tour passes, especially during peak seasons. This is a busy time for tourism in this country and every hotel is busy during peak seasons. There are times where some pools will be busier than others but given the 165 acre property that we have, and more than 25 different pools in 3 different sections, you can almost always find a tranquil place with less people during the busy seasons. I appreciate you sharing your feedback but wish I would have been made aware while you were here so I could have addressed all of your inconveniences immediately. We have forwarded your comments on impersonal service and restaurant quality with our management team and will be improving our service and quality for all future guests. Thank you again! John Picart john@thespringscostarica.com
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
WakeChmp wrote a review Nov 2020
Miami, Florida
5.0 of 5 bubbles
It was a nice return to Costa Rica. Tourism is slowly recovering in Costa Rica. They were thrilled to see tourists returning, although the hotel was still pretty empty. First off, the service during our stay was 5 stars all the way. It was impressive to say the least. The resort was very clean and is taking all of the covid precautions seriously. The resort grounds were impeccable and we loved the anount of hot springs on the property. The service here will be memorable. Tatiana was great, among others.

One suggestion is that the hotel should offer some more variety of items on their menu. I realize it was impacted by Covid, but I suggest they offer a “daily special” or theme nights. After a few days, we were tired of the food. The resort should offer pizza or flatbreads as well. Also, they charge 40 dollars for a trip to Fortuna, a 10-15 min drive from the resort. We felt that was just too much.

Not every stay can be perfect, but rest assured if you have issues this resort will fix them and take care of you. It is always good to have that peace of mind. Great trip overall, go visit Costa Rica!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from John Picart, General Manager at The Springs Resort and Spa
Responded 31 Dec 2020
Dear valued guest, Thank you so much for your 5 star review! We are thrilled to hear you were impressed by our service and facilities. We honestly can't thank you enough for your stay, it has been some rough times but reviews like these remind us that the wait was worth it. We will definitely be taking your suggestions in consideration, this is the only way we can improve our service and quality, and we truly appreciate your comments. We will be waiting for your return visit! John Picart john@thespringscostarica.com
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
deb r wrote a review Feb 2020
Seattle, Washington
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The Springs is an incredible property and we had a wonderful stay. Very friendly staff, AMAZING hot springs spread out across the property are done in such a beautiful way that it is easy to find seclusion even in a busy place. Club rio down by the river is a delight. The rooms are absolutely lovely and comfortable, and our view was stunning.

Our only complaint about our stay was that most of the food was mediocre or sub-par. Lunch at Club Rio was actually our only really good meal at the property. The breakfast buffet was fine. The other meals we ate at the main restaurant and the sushi restaurant were incredibly overpriced and underwhelming in their quality, creativity, and flavor. We were so surprised and disappointed that a place this amazing had such poor cuisine!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from JohnPcrt, Manager at The Springs Resort and Spa
Responded 24 Feb 2020
Dear valued guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at The Springs. We're happy to hear you had a wonderful stay and that you enjoyed the property, rooms and staff. Please accept our apologies that we were not able to meet all of your expectations, we take our guests’ feedback very seriously and please know that we have addressed your comments about the food quality with our entire Food & Beverage team. I wish this problem you experienced had been brought to my attention when you were on property so I could have addressed it immediately. On behalf of everyone at The Springs Resort & Spa, we hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future. Sincerely, John Picart john@thespringscostarica.com
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
vpar4 wrote a review Dec 2022
High Point, North Carolina
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This resort was a big contrast to our first few days in Costa Rica along the west coast. The cooler temps, frequent rain and lush greenery all added to the experience. We opted for the Vista Grande room, which was wonderfully spacious for the 4 of us and had excellent views of Arenal volcano (in theory). Unfortunately, we never did get a complete view due to the regular clouds, but we did see the peak once for about 10 minutes. There was a very large balcony with chairs and a hammock. Housekeeping was excellent with included evening turndown. It was really a nice touch. There are free washer/dryers and shoe dryers which help if you are involved with a lot of the adventure activities. The natural thermal pools were nice, although I assumed the water would be hotter in them. There are several on the property and a few at the Club Rio. We enjoyed horseback riding at Club Rio and it was not simply one horse behind another. They made it a point to encourage the horses to spread out and even gallop a bit if desired. We crossed the river a couple of times as well. We spent three nights and stayed primarily at the resort the whole time. The main building has a game room with video games, foosball, table tennis as well as pool/darts/chess cards on the same level. That was a real highlight especially in the evenings. Staff was very friendly and engaging. Probably the only negative was the relatively long waits at meal time. The first night at the sushi restaurant was almost an hour before we got our food. We had lunch at the Les Tres restaurant and there was only one other small group in the restaurant but it took an unusually long time to get the food. Maybe we were just unlucky. Overall though, we were happy with the experience and would certainly recommend a stay here.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HappyFamily43082 wrote a review Apr 2021
Westerville, Ohio
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We arrived on April Fools Day (April 1) for a two night stay. We booked this hotel for the amazing volcano views. We NEVER saw the volcano due to the heavy fog and near continuous rain. However, the hotel did not disappoint. Despite rain, there is still so much to do. We spent a morning at Club Rio. Our original tubing trip was rained out, but the guides added an extra trip just for our family of four. They had to hold each of tubes to guide us down the rive safely. We also visited the animal sanctuary on the morning tour. It was very informative. Lunch at Club Rio was delicious. Rainy afternoons are perfect for the hot springs that are hidden throughout the property. Our 13 and 14 year old boys enjoyed the game rooms. Meals at Tres Cascadas were very good and reasonably priced. The breakfasts were very filling. Our Vista Grande room was lovely. There was so much storage space. The hotel also offers free laundry facilities, so were were able to wash and dry our swimsuits after our time in the hot springs. The staff were so friendly and accommodating, offering umbrellas and golf cart rides. We used Liberia Shuttle (Liberiashuttle.com) to drive us from the Westin Playa Conchal to The Springs and then back to the airport.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from Arvan2013
New Haven, Missouri179 contributions29 helpful votes
Hotel breakfast is fantastic. La fortuna has food places.
Answer from Arvan2013
New Haven, Missouri179 contributions29 helpful votes
Hotel did not arrange transportation. We rented a car
Answer from Chanel J
42 contributions1 helpful vote
Nothing is included. You pay for everything. Expect to pay maybe $300-$500 extra for the excursions and food. Most of the hot springs are private. The biggest ones are on full view. But even then .. when it’s night time there aren’t many people around. The resort is pretty private in my opinion.
Answer from Arvan2013
New Haven, Missouri179 contributions29 helpful votes
Relaxing and peaceful
Answer from stephaniehedrick1
Loganville, Georgia77 contributions10 helpful votes
Yes 2 nights is enough for just those things. The resort can be covered in one day even if you go down to the activity center which has more hot springs to see and sit in down there. They are beautiful so I do recommend going down the hill by bus on the resort property. And the waterfall is only about an hour from The resort at most and that excursion can be done In 1/2 a day.
Greg Y wrote a tip 14 Jul
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Make time to enjoy all the activities the resort has to offer "
Read full review
Samantha S wrote a tip Jun 2024
San Carlos, California1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"You only get service on the hot spring side of the pool - do not bother trying to order anything on the cool side of the pool. "
Read full review
Lindi M wrote a tip May 2024
Hamilton, Georgia23 contributions10 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Peaceful setting with tons to do in the immediate area. Make sure you do a zip line & tubing tour with Go Adventure Tours"
Read full review
Christopher K wrote a tip May 2024
Asbury Park, New Jersey27 contributions11 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Expect pricey drinks"
Read full review
TracyB wrote a tip Apr 2024
4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book early to get the room you want "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Palma area.
PRICE RANGE
€383 - €865 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the springs resort and spa at arenal hotel la fortuna de san carlos, the springs hotel
LOCATION
Costa RicaProvince of AlajuelaArenal Volcano National ParkLa Fortuna de San CarlosPalma
NUMBER OF ROOMS
102
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE SPRINGS RESORT AND SPA - UPDATED 2024 Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (Palma, Costa Rica) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Springs Resort and Spa
Which popular attractions are close to The Springs Resort and Spa?
Nearby attractions include Tabacon Hot Springs (4.8 km), Bogarin Trail (6.8 km), and Arenal Oasis Wildlife Refuge (7.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Springs Resort and Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free wifi, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at The Springs Resort and Spa?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Springs Resort and Spa?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Springs Resort and Spa?
Yes, free parking, secured parking, and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Springs Resort and Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Soda & Restaurante Rodríguez, Herbario Restaurant, and Casa Fortuna Restaurante Familiar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Springs Resort and Spa?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does The Springs Resort and Spa have airport transportation?
Yes, The Springs Resort and Spa offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Springs Resort and Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Springs Resort and Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Springs Resort and Spa?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
All Palma HotelsPalma Hotel Deals
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire