We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Halfway House Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kingseat
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Halfway House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

84 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Halfway House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 82: English reviews
Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 December 2013

I attended a family function and really enjoyed myself here. We tried each other's so I got to taste lots! I tried the haggis balls in honey and whiskey sauce, duck in orange sauce, sirloin steak with roast potatoes and other veg, chicken in apricot sauce, Christmas pudding in brandy sauce and finally, chocolate + orange brownie with cream. All...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank amateur-sun-seeker
Reviewed 28 December 2013

we have never had Christmas dinner out before and were so looking forward to the experience,but were sadly disappointed. There was now heating and felt we should have kept our coats on while eating. There was only one member of staff on at the bar when we arrived and he obviously could not cope. There was no atmosphere in either...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank kizzy199
Halfway_House_Hotel, Owner at Halfway House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Your review is not only exaggerated, but also completely unfair… We were extremely explicit in explaining our situation to you on Christmas day. Given the situation we were in, the staff we had here worked very hard, and I am very thankful to them for the work they did. Given we were 7 members of...

England
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Thanks to the owners , chef and all the young staff for their attention and a wonderful Xmas meal that was prepared for the eleven of us. Will definitely come again and considering probably two hundred had booked a marvelous time was had by all. Also should mention that there was plenty of room for a wheelchair.

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Davidsgems
Halfway_House_Hotel, Owner at Halfway House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Considering we were 7 members of staff short on Christmas day, the team we had, worked so very hard to serve our guests, and I am so very thankful to the team we had here on Christmas day. We had to the choice to either cancel the day at short notice or attempt to give...

kelty
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Went to hhh tonight for high tea we arrived at the end of serving time which is maybe why the meal was a bit tired.as my hubby is going away to work over Xmas three out of four of us had the turkey with trimmings as it was described on the menu......a nice bit of turkey, some peas,chips and gravy.........

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bigjohnKelty
Halfway_House_Hotel, Owner at Halfway House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. As I seem to be stating with every review, had you raised the issues you state whilst you dinned we could have rectified matters, but yet again, anonymous reviews solve nothing, for either the guest or us. At the point of payment, you didn’t raise any issues with me or the staff serving, but happy...

Poole
Reviewed 13 November 2013

I had never had a high tea before and really didn't know what to expect. I hope to return to Fife one day, if only for a repeat visit! Toast and tea were followed by meals chosen from a varied but not outfacingly extensive menu. Gammon and pineapple, mixed grill, braised steak and mushroom stroganoff were all enjoyed by members...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Grable
Cowdenbeath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We got a private room free of charge, doors opened onto play area and we were able to see the children playing which was excellent. We decorated the room and were given blutack as we had brought sellotape. The staff couldn't have been nicer or more helpful ! We had high tea, food was delicious and plenty of choice. Kids...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank anne s
Reviewed 6 October 2013

The restaurant side of the business was recommended to my partner so we tried a Saturday night and booked a table. Pros: Family feel to hotel Great range on menu Cons: Service shocking, missing cutlery, ignored between courses etc. Food ok, but not really value for money, I have paid the same amount for much better in terms of quality...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 53,605
Halfway_House_Hotel, Owner at Halfway House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I’m always perplexed that customers would rather leave overdramatic anonymous reviews, than speak to us personally with any complaints. If you had approached us, we could have dealt with the matters you raise at the time you dined. I would add that in terms of quality, our chefs scratch cook all our dishes, so this...

Cowdenbeath, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Would just like to say a huge thankyou to the staff at the halfway House, my sister and her Husband had their wedding ceremony, followed by a family meal( 26 people), we cannot fault a single thing, we were greeted at the door, everyone was made to feel welcome. Our food was chosen from the bar menu which added more...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Suzanne M
Perth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 September 2013

On arriving at the hotel, I was greeted by Sandra and David the owners who were very friendly. Went up to room with other guests to get changed for wedding, a nice comfortable room. Ceremony was excellent and the meal was home cooked and very tasty and service was first rate, all staff were excellent and attentive to everyone's needs....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Angela149
Perth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 September 2013

After a family wedding and an overnight stay at the Halfway house, i can honestly say the service was second to none , with amazing food and entertainment . The room and breakfast was great and made even better by a lovely lady called Jessie , who made us all feel very welcome ..... great work by Sandra and David.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Elaine D

2 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingseat
3.1 km away
Balmule House
Balmule House
#3 of 12 in Dunfermline
113 reviews
2.3 km away
Premier Inn Dunfermline Hotel
Premier Inn Dunfermline Hotel
#2 of 12 in Dunfermline
420 reviews
7.2 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dunfermline Crossford Keavil House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Travelodge Dunfermline
Travelodge Dunfermline
#6 of 12 in Dunfermline
176 reviews
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Business Centre with Internet Access

Additional Information about Halfway House Hotel

Address: 35 Main Street | Kingseat, Kingseat KY12 0TJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Kingseat
Number of rooms: 12
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Halfway House Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Halfway House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“just ask the manager when you arrive.”
 of 5 bubbles 820rons, 20 Nov 2014 | Read review
“Go elsewhere”
 of 5 bubbles Yorkie_Smith, 13 Aug 2014 | Read review
“Ask for a room on the back and, if they have one, without a connecting door.”
 of 5 bubbles mudfrog62, 26 Aug 2013 | Read review
“We had twin rooms that actually gave us a double & a single.”
 of 5 bubbles chrisbKeighley, 1 Jul 2013 | Read review
“Both rooms we had were nice and quiet even though the were facing the main road.”
 of 5 bubbles 88SueH, 11 Jan 2013 | Read review
5 of 5