We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Richmond Gate Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Richmond Gate Hotel
Richmond Gate Hotel
Panoramas (21)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

931 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Richmond Gate Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 912: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 April 2016

Celebrating a friend's birthday in Richmond Gate. Excellent stay, Daniel at reception recognised us on arrival. Rooms were upgraded which was very much appreciated. Dinner was a great experience again. Chief and Kerry went far beyond their duty to make of the evening a memorable event. Breakfast very good, as usual. The refurbishment done in the hotel public areas and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Iria F
GMRichmond, General Manager at Richmond Gate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent comments on the tripadvisor website. I was delighted to read how much you had enjoyed your recent break with us especially when hearing this from a returning guest. It is always a huge honour to read comments about the service team members have provided and especially how responsive they were to your needs. I will...

Reviewed 4 April 2016

We spent a lovely long weekend at the Richmond Gate Hotel. The hotel is perfectly situated for exploring Richmond Park. The rooms were comfortable. My only complaint was that I couldn't get the window open but perhaps this was hotel policy as the room was on the ground floor. The spa and pool area are fantastic - however it's worth...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank minttu84
GMRichmond, General Manager at Richmond Gate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent comments on the tripadvisor website. I was extremely pleased to read that you had enjoyed your stay with us and in particular the level of service provided by the team. I was further pleased to read that you had enjoyed the standard of the food served at breakfast and dinner. I really do appreciate your...

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 April 2016

Stayed here for a few days over the Easter break. Great hotel with lots of character, and I believe the lobby has just been refurbished- looked lovely when we arrived. Hotel is perfcectly placed to explore Richmond Park, Terrace Gardens and the surrounding area. Lots of choice at breakfast and Juan provided great service, as did Paco who is in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Designer46
GMRichmond, General Manager at Richmond Gate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent comments on the tripadvisor website. I was delighted to read that your stay was a success. It was fabulous to learn about the service individual team members have provided. I will of course communicate your comments to Juan and Paco and the rest of the team. I do hope you choose to stay with us...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 April 2016

We were greeted by a flamboyant character at reception who made us both laugh, whether intentional or not I don't know. This was a nice start to our stay as meant it was already memorable. Finding our way to the room was slightly tricky up various flights of stairs and down a few corridors. The room itself was a great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JoeSophie2924
GMRichmond, General Manager at Richmond Gate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent comments on the tripadvisor website. I was delighted to read that your stay in the main was a success. I was particular encouraged to read that you felt engaged by the team and that you found one of our team members to be flamboyant and amusing we actively encourage our team to engage with our...

Selsey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 April 2016

Arrived a couple of hours before check-in to leave the cases and check out the area. The room was already available which was great, cases left in the room and we walked to the town of Richmond, about a mile. We had lunch at Whole food market, the most amazing store selling wonderful food. Lots of interesting shops and after...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David R
GMRichmond, General Manager at Richmond Gate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent comments on the tripadvisor website. I was extremely pleased to read that you had enjoyed your stay with us. I was also delighted to learn that you felt looked after by the team they are indeed one of our greatest assets. I am glad you enjoyed using Cedars leisure club and its facilities I will...

Stockbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 March 2016

Gem of a hotel great location with good access into the city, without having to battle the traffic and noise of central London. Friendly and helpful staff. Very comfortable clean bedrooms. Wish we'd had longer as the leisure club looked worth a visit, maybe next time.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gmirobinson
GMRichmond, General Manager at Richmond Gate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent comments on the tripadvisor website. I was extremely pleased to read that you had enjoyed your stay with us and in particular the level of service provided by the team. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel when you next visit Richmond. Nick Henry General Manager

Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 March 2016

I had a last minute trip to the Richmond Gate Hotel. It has a great location, with lovely friendly staff. When I was visiting, there were works underway to the reception but you would have never knew they were occurring. Although of a particular age the team work hard to keep things fresh which is nice to see. The walk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shakakhan03
GMRichmond, General Manager at Richmond Gate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent comments on the tripadvisor website. I was extremely pleased to read that you had enjoyed your stay with us again. I was also delighted to read that you felt looked after by the team they are indeed one of our greatest assets. I must admit we do have a great location which allows you to...

Reviewed 30 March 2016 via mobile

A cheap enough hotel and comfy stay. We stayed in the basement level in what I imagine used to be servant quarters in the original foundations of the building. Oddly as you entered the room you came in to a hallway before coming to two doors, one for the bedroom and one for the bathroom. The decor was very dated...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ben H
GMRichmond, General Manager at Richmond Gate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review I must apologise that you felt the general standard of the hotel did not meet your expectations and you found our property dated. I suppose it does depend on whether you prefer to stay in a purpose built Hotel or a more historic property in a beautiful setting with character. We have a mix...

Great Bookham, England
Reviewed 29 March 2016 via mobile

I stayed here as part of a wedding party just for one evening. Overall the hotel was very good there were a few rough edges that just needed some TLC such as a bit of dust here and there and marks on the walls. Having said that all of the staff were very helpful and polite and made out stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dec_Cassar
GMRichmond, General Manager at Richmond Gate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent comments on the tripadvisor website. I was delighted to read that your stay in the main was a success. I admit some of our product is in need of redecoration after an extremely busy year and such high footfall during 2015. We initially started in our leisure club in the first quarter which is now...

derbyshire
Reviewed 27 March 2016

Friendly receptio staff. Climbed 49 stairs to a great room with a view. Great exercise after eating lovely food served by the star of the Gate.. Chief.. He was fantastic. It was a very busy service & he was mostly on his own but we weren't in a rush. He ran out of ice buckets & was very sorry but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sallymack07
GMRichmond, General Manager at Richmond Gate Hotel, responded to this review

I thank you for the time you have taken in writing your review on the tripadvisor website. I was delighted to read that your stay was a success. It was fabulous to learn about the service an individual team member has provided. I will of course communicate these to Chief and the rest of the team. I do hope you...

392 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (129)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (61)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (236)
Viewed
Amenities (13)
Viewed
Executive Room (30)
Viewed
Pool (24)
Viewed
Dining (35)
Viewed
Standard Room (37)
Viewed
Suite (42)
Viewed
The Hotel (55)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.1 km away
Richmond Hill Hotel
Richmond Hill Hotel
#3 of 12 in Richmond
1,356 reviews
0.2 km away
The Petersham Hotel
The Petersham Hotel
#5 of 12 in Richmond
606 reviews
1.8 km away
Premier Inn London Richmond Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
The Coach and Horses
0.7 km away
Bingham
Bingham
#6 of 12 in Richmond
397 reviews
2.9 km away
Kew Gardens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The four star Richmond Gate Hotel is an elegant eighteenth century building situated at the top of Richmond Hill. Located in Surrey just 7 miles from London's West End and within easy distance from London Heathrow Airport. Richmond Gate is ideally located for visiting the attractions of West London and Surrey, including Twickenham Rugby Ground, Wimbledon Tennis, the new Wembley Stadium, Kew Gardens and Hampton Court Palace. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Richmond Gate Hotel

Address: 152-158 Richmond Hill, Richmond TW10 6RP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Richmond
Price Range: €104 - €263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Richmond Gate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels and Travelocity so you can book your Richmond Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Richmond
#5 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#5 Business Hotel in Richmond
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Richmond Gate Hotel staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Richmond Gate Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Front facing down to the river”
 of 5 bubbles linkeo, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“ask for a front facing room, for a view across the river”
 of 5 bubbles PhilipO240, 16 Dec 2016 | Read review
“lower floors better, no lift- narrow stairs and long corridors.”
 of 5 bubbles Transpires, 12 Dec 2016 | Read review
“ask for an upgrade”
  • View from Richmond Bridge
  • View from Richmond Hill. Lovely
  • Richmond Bridge
 of 5 bubbles AnastasiG, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Four poster rooms are large and well appointed.”
 of 5 bubbles SheldonCole, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5