We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Banchory Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Banchory Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

483 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Banchory Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 475: English reviews
Peterhead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 June 2016 via mobile

My stay was definately a memorable one. My family and I really loved the great view of the river!!! We really enjoyed looking for fish jumping at the river banks. We really loved having Banchory town centre nearby and lots of thing to do such as the Raemoir trout fishery, the play park and the garden centre. We also enjoyed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bobbydrewbuchan
Susan B, Public Relations Manager at Banchory Lodge, responded to this review

Dear bobbydrewbuchan, Thank you for writing such a fantastic review on Trip Advisor. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Your comments will be passed to all the team. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Susan

Stamford, UK
Reviewed 16 June 2016

Rooms old fashioned but OK. Food quality in the evening adequate but poor at breakfast. No wifi one whole day. No marmelade at breakfast. Supposedly 8 ounce steaks are no more than 5 oz. Many staff EE but all young and pleasant. Large TV in bar. Needs better management to tighten all this up.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anthony T
Susan B, Public Relations Manager at Banchory Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Anthony T, Thank you for taking the time to do a review of your recent stay with us. We apologise that there was no WiFi which may have been due to the weather that day and was outwith our control. We can assure you that the steaks are weighed before cooking and our staff work very hard to ensure...

Reviewed 16 June 2016

Stayed here 1 night with 2 dogs. Lovely room, victorian style double with a chaise longue which the dogs enjoyed :) walls are quite thin in places (it is an old building after all) but facilities are great and service so friendly and helpful. Some good walks for the dogs close by and off a main road so very little...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katy M
Susan B, Public Relations Manager at Banchory Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Katy M, Thank you for your review of your stay with us and your dogs. We're delighted you enjoyed your time with us. We have some amazing walks close to the hotel which is ideal for people who enjoy walks with or without dogs. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel again sometime soon. Kind regards, Susan

Banchory
Reviewed 8 June 2016

This is the third time I have tried to eat vegetarian food at this hotel and on each occasion the experience has been very disappointing. Today I asked the waiter if the soup of the day was vegetarian and he replied "I think so". I asked him to check and was told that the leek and potato soup was vegetarian....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 522lesleyy
Susan B, Public Relations Manager at Banchory Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Lesley Y, It is disappointing to hear that you did not enjoy your vegetarian lunch with us. We have worked hard to introduce several vegetarian dishes including a lovely Asparagus dish (perfect at this time of year), and a Heritage Tomato Salad and that is just for starters. If you eat fish there are many more options too including...

Scottish Borders
Reviewed 8 June 2016

We had a lovely 2 night stay in this spacious and comfortable hotel. The room was on the ground floor in the annexe and with its tiled floor and door opening out to a garden area, was perfect for us as we had our dog with us. The food was absolutely superb served in pleasant surroundings - the décor is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Snoopycat2
Susan B, Public Relations Manager at Banchory Lodge, responded to this review

Dear snoopycat2, Thank you very much for your review of your stay with us recently. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your food and our setting. The staff work very hard to ensure that you enjoy your stay with us. Your comments about the breakfast staff will be looked into further to ensure that there is consistency amongst service....

Paphos
Reviewed 6 June 2016

Set on the banks of the River Dee(Scottish version ). Fantastic weather made the wedding right on the river bank a day to remember. Everything planned by the hotel went well, the setting the meal and evening entertainment. The hotel itself is an old building similar to ltd of hotels in the area. Plenty of character, but needing more modern...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phil R
Susan B, Public Relations Manager at Banchory Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Phil R, Thank you for your review of the wedding you were at with us here at The Lodge. It is wonderful when we can set the wedding outside and for the guests to be able to enjoy the view to the river. Delighted to hear you enjoyed your meal, service and entertainment. Your comments will be passed to...

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 3 June 2016

This is a review of the restaurant, we did not stay in the hotel. We went at the same time as a wedding reception. But surprisingly, the service for the restaurant was prompt and efficient. Had the venison, which was very nicely done, the only complaint would be that the portions were a little small! The fish and chips were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank yss97
Susan B, Public Relations Manager at Banchory Lodge, responded to this review

Dear yss97, Thank you very much for your review of your recent lunch with us. The staff work very hard to ensure that lunch and dinner service is very efficient and that you are well looked after, whether we have a function on or not. Your comments will be passed to the team. Delighted to hear that you enjoyed your...

Reviewed 3 June 2016 via mobile

We had lunch at Banchory Lodge. Service was excellent and with a smile. The ambience was very nice and cosy. There was also a wedding reception going on while we were having lunch. The food was truly excellent. The venison was tasty. We had a wonderful view of the River Dee and River Fuch where it joins the Dee. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leslie L
Susan B, Public Relations Manager at Banchory Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Leslie L, Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your lunch with us recently. We;re delighted to here that you enjoyed your meal and the service. We are extremely lucky to have the location we have at the River Dee. Your comments will be passed onto the team. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon....

Banchory, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 May 2016 via mobile

Being local, there are not too many choices for dining out in Banchory. Decided to return to the Lodge, hoping the menu had changed. We were not really surprised to see the menu has not been changed (same menu since the bar area was refurbished, which is well over a year ago). I'm being kind. The building and internal public...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eric R
Susan B, Public Relations Manager at Banchory Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Eric R, Thank you for your review and comments about your recent meal here at The Lodge. We're a little surprised that you had not noticed the menu changes. We can assure you that the menus get changed every few months and since the refurbishment we have had at least 5 main menus changes as well as 5 dessert...

Reviewed 29 May 2016 via mobile

My partner booked here for a meal for a change from the city, and the meal certainly didn't disappoint. Both of us throughly enjoyed our starter and main. Only slight flaw was the service was a tad slow although this was probably due to a wedding meal/dance on a the same time. Definitely be back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ricky w
Susan B, Public Relations Manager at Banchory Lodge, responded to this review

Dear ricky w, Thank you very much for your review of your meal here at The Lodge. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your meal and your comments will be passed to the team in the kitchen. We look forward to welcoming you back sometime soon. Kind regards, Susan

151 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (136)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (35)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banchory
0.8 km away
Tor-na-Coille
Tor-na-Coille
#2 of 4 in Banchory
325 reviews
3.9 km away
Raemoir House Hotel
Raemoir House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Raemoir
281 reviews
20.7 km away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Burnett Arms Hotel
Burnett Arms Hotel
#4 of 4 in Banchory
153 reviews
31.9 km away
Kildrummy Castle Hotel
15.4 km away
Maryculter House Hotel
Maryculter House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Maryculter
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Banchory Lodge

Address: Banchory Lodge Dee Street, Banchory AB31 5HS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Banchory
Price Range: €98 - €169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Banchory Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HRS, Priceline, SpeedyBooker.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and LateRooms so you can book your Banchory Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banchory Hotel Banchory
Banchory Lodge Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Banchory Lodge staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Glasgow, United Kingdom

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Banchory Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“room 22 and neighboring rooms on the terrace”
 of 5 bubbles 690alistairt, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask how much your rooms are was more than we were quoted”
 of 5 bubbles Troweirfarm, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room looking over the water”
 of 5 bubbles Mitches, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Maybe in main building not the annex?”
 of 5 bubbles ballaterach2, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room 27 has a lovely view of the River Dee”
 of 5 bubbles sharonmI9344LC, 14 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay