We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Shipping Lanes Hotel

TripAdvisorUS$110*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$110*
US$110*
US$110*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Shipping Lanes Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

16 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 16: English reviews
Start your review of The Shipping Lanes Hotel
 Click to rate
Preston
Reviewed 13 October 2016

A lovely welcome on arrival, the room was lovely and clean and had a lovely view, the only downfall was the low ceiling, the bathroom had fresh towel's every day which was nice. Breakfast was lovely, Orange juice, a good choice to pick from cereal, bacon, sausage, mushrooms, black-pudding, beans, tinned tomatoes, hash-browns, eggs and toast, tea and coffee. You...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Margaret A
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 September 2016

After a very warm welcome on our arrival by the owner's, we were shown to our room. All rooms are named after shipping lanes hence the name. Lovely room, very clean and the breakfast was very good. Would definitely stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ann M
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 November 2015 via mobile

After climbing Scafell Pike, arrived at Shipping lanes to a very warm welcome, we were shown to our rooms (the Trafalgar room is a nice double with a big balcony with a fab sea view) for a nice hot shower and then down for a fantastic meal - quality food and generous portions. The bed was comfy with a nice...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jo C
Goldie_and_Brian, Owner at The Shipping Lanes Hotel, responded to this review

Lovely review. Thank you for this. Looking forward to seeing you next time

UK
Reviewed 20 November 2015

I stayed at this gorgeous little seafront hotel, unfortunately for only one night - it's one of those rare places where you book in and find that it far exceeds expectations. Rooms are simple, but very clean and carefully prepared, it has tea and coffee facilities in room, plus a TV etc. The hotel is right on the sea front...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matt2134
Goldie_and_Brian, Owner at The Shipping Lanes Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. Really pleased that you enjoyed the Shipping Lanes fare. Hope to see you again soon

Northamptonshire
Reviewed 30 July 2015

Booked in for just the one night as the band were playing in Lancaster and because it was prize giving or something at the University the prices in Lancaster were very high and looked further away. So glad I found The Shipping Lanes. Was greeted by the owners on arrival and as they were going away for the weekend, they...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Steve A
Goldie_and_Brian, Owner at The Shipping Lanes Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you. Glad you enjoyed your stay

Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 June 2015

This was the first hotel on our trip and got us off to a great start with secure bike storage, friendly welcome and tasty snack as we arrived late, plus there's a small but welcome bar! Comfy bed and good brekkie helped us on our way to complete in 4 days :).

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank celiag680
Goldie_and_Brian, Owner at The Shipping Lanes Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We have taken your advice and are now on the booking website and also accessible from tripadvisor

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 April 2015 via mobile

Our hosts were very welcoming and helped us out with secure parking. We had booked late and were lucky enough to get a room with a stunning sea view, but at the top of the house. Good exercise! Very tasty, huge breakfast - we had to ask for smaller portions. Would book again if we return to Morecambe.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ann M
Goldie_and_Brian, Owner at The Shipping Lanes Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review

Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 March 2015

this is my second year, of staying here and never been disappointed, the staff are so helpful, caring and nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are always clean bright and roomy. Meals are fantastic and bar is well stocked. Would highly recommend to anyone. Wonderful hotel. Well done

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ant R
Goldie_and_Brian, Owner at The Shipping Lanes Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate your feedback

High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 February 2015

This hotel isn't on booking. com (although I've suggested they go on there). I had to hunt around on various websites to find it, because I wanted a reasonably-priced seaview twin room. In the event I found this lovely place, and although the seaview rooms aren't twin, we were offered two rooms, one double, one single at no supplement. We...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank linden-s
Goldie_and_Brian, Owner at The Shipping Lanes Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing us

Northampton
Reviewed 16 October 2014

We booked two rooms as we were in Morecambe for the football. We received an excellent welcome and throughout our stay both owners and staff were exceptional. We chatted to the owner one breakfast morning wondering where to go for a couple of hours and he suggested Carnforth and the brief encounter railway station which we really enjoyed. The hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CobblerDave
Goldie_and_Brian, Owner at The Shipping Lanes Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback

7 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morecambe hotels
1.2 km away
The Midland
The Midland
#1 of 10 in Morecambe
2,331 reviews
0.4 km away
Best Western Lothersdale Hotel
0.0 km away
Yacht Bay View Guest House
Yacht Bay View Guest House
#4 of 25 in Morecambe
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
The Trevelyan Guest House
The Trevelyan Guest House
#1 of 25 in Morecambe
245 reviews
0.1 km away
The Wimslow Guest House
The Wimslow Guest House
#10 of 25 in Morecambe
60 reviews
2.0 km away
The Balmoral Guest House
The Balmoral Guest House
#6 of 25 in Morecambe
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A lovely independent hotel with all en-suite facilities, clean comfortable rooms with a delicious breakfast, tasty evening meals, beautiful rooms many with uninterupted views across Morecambe Bay to the southern Lake District. Our ethos is service, service, service. Offering stunning value for money and a welcome second to none, we are looking forward to meeting you. Free carpark and free wifi. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Shipping Lanes Hotel

Address: 363 Marine Road East, Morecambe LA4 5AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Morecambe
Price Range: €60 - €98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Shipping Lanes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Shipping Lanes Hotel Morecambe, Lancashire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Shipping Lanes Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't ask for a top floor with low ceiling”
MargaretA458, 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Front side offers views of the gorgeous bay”
Matt2134, 20 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Rooms at the front look out over the bay.”
  • View From Cromarty's Balcony
SteveA206, 30 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Sea view is best”
celiag680, 3 Jun 2015 | Read review
“Don't whatever you do ask for Napoleon or Cromarty (balcony rooms) - we may want to use them!!!”
linden-s, 12 Feb 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
TripAdvisor
US$110* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$110
PricelineUS$110
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates