We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Forest Holidays Cropton, North Yorkshire

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pickering
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Forest Holidays Cropton, North Yorkshire
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

491 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Forest Holidays Cropton, North Yorkshire
See the most recent reviews
Showing 491: English reviews
United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 June 2016

I won a break here in a Silver Birch Cabin but on arrival I was given a Gold Oak which was a lovely surprise. The cabin was lovely, reasonably private with nice view to the forest. We had wonderful weather here so made good use of it to do some of the walks and sitting out on the decking. It...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sheils6
Kerry M, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Cropton, North Yorkshire, responded to this review

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Cropton. Congratulations on winning a Forest Holidays break; we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed it so much. Thank you also for your feedback and we hope you will stay with us again. Kerry

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 June 2016

I was treated to a 3 night log cabin stay for my birthday and wasn't disappinted. The cabins are beautiful with a log burning stove, our own hot-tub and fluffy dressing gowns and slippers provided. The kitchen area is well equipped and there is underfloor heating throughout. We paid for the wifi package which was well worth it as this...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rachel S
Kerry M, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Cropton, North Yorkshire, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent break at Cropton. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay so much and that it left you feeling so relaxed. We would love to see you again and hope you will be back soon. Kerry

settle
Reviewed 7 June 2016 via mobile

We stayed at Cropton Forest last week in a silver birch. The lodge was amazing! Really spacious, clean - and the hot tub . . . . Missing that already!! My little boy was in it at 7:30 am every morning!! We were in a lodge on the edge of the park with forest behind - personally I wouldn't want...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sarah-k-83Settle
Kerry M, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Cropton, North Yorkshire, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent Forest Holiday at Cropton. We are delighted you enjoyed it and that your little boy did too. It sounds as if you enjoyed the forest location and some of the local attractions. We hope to see you again in the future Kerry

Durham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 May 2016

We have just came back from cropton, we had a golden oak cabin, on the day we arrived we were expecting the log cabin that was advertised on the official website. NOT even close (check it out for yourselves) tatty dirty leather look sofas, kitchen leaves a lot to be desired, dirty oven door off previous guests, I had to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda K
Kerry M, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Cropton, North Yorkshire, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are very sorry to hear that your cabin was not up to the standard it should have been and we hope the team dealt with your complaint in a friendly and professional manner. We are pleased you had an otherwise enjoyable break and we are grateful for your feedback. Kerry

Reviewed 21 May 2016 via mobile

3rd visit here, always excellent It's self catering so don't expect a Michelin starred chef on site , I agree that if you don't want to cook you should be able to get a good meal on site but it's snack food so don't expect to much! There's an Indian that delivers through hungry house if you want a slap...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Paul S
Kerry M, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Cropton, North Yorkshire, responded to this review

Thank you for your review following your latest break at Cropton. We are pleased you enjoyed it once again and are grateful for your feedback. We try to strike a balance between preserving the serenity of the forest and making sure our guests have all that they need. As we don’t have a late restaurant service, we are always happy...

Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 May 2016

We'd picked Forest Holidays because the website seemed to offer exactly what we were after. I needed proper relaxation and a bit of a treat, so we were very excited when we arrived. We stayed in a Golden Oak Hideaway and the lodge itself was lovely. It had everything we needed and a bit more, with a log burner, two...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Emma B
Kerry M, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Cropton, North Yorkshire, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are very sorry that the peace and relaxation of your holiday was spoiled by noisy neighbours. We do work hard to preserve the tranquillity of the forest and we let all our guests know that noise must be kept to a minimum later at night. We will always deal with disturbances as soon as...

Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 May 2016

We stayed in a Golden Oak lodge in both January and April 2016. Both stays were superb and the staff really customer friendly. So why the 1 star rating? Well after the second stay I left my glasses only realising when I got home. My husband rang and the glasses were located. He was then advised he would have to...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Alison E
Kerry M, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Cropton, North Yorkshire, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your breaks at Cropton but most concerned to hear about the situation with your glasses. We would certainly like to look into this matter for you and get your glasses back to you as soon as possible. Please contact our customer service team on customerservices@forestholidays.co.uk and...

Reviewed 13 May 2016 via mobile

My partner and I have just returned from a break away here for our anniversary. The cabin was standard at most...not cleaned to the standards I would have expected. I was disappointed at how close together the cabins are. On the first night we decided to eat in the forest retreat...one word of warning...DON'T. Food was abysmal, poor choice and...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Sarah B
KerryMForestHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Cropton, North Yorkshire, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy the food during your recent break with us and we hope you brought it to the attention of the staff so that they could either replace your meals or refund you. We do hope you enjoyed other aspects of your break and we wish you a...

Reviewed 9 May 2016 via mobile

Nice lovely comfortable cottages Self- catteried Old styled reception services The only negative thing I didn't like that when I checked out they didn't help me with my luggage as I didn't have a car . I haded to drag my bags in the rain and in the mud although I asked the reception to help us she said we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Halima A
KerryMForestHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Cropton, North Yorkshire, responded to this review

Thank you for your review following your recent break at Cropton. We are pleased you enjoyed your holiday and found it a relaxing place to stay. Please accept our apologies that there was no one available to help you with your bags; of course we should have helped you to carry them to your cabin. Kerry

Reviewed 30 April 2016 via mobile

We had a fantastic time at Cropton Forest, such a peaceful and remote location to relax and enjoy some quality family time. The Lodge was amazing and had everything you'd need for a family break. Hot tub was amazing and the site as a whole was great. Using Cropton as a base we spent everyday out and about day tripping...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Neil K
KerryMForestHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Cropton, North Yorkshire, responded to this review

Congratulations on your recent marriage and thank you for taking the time to write a review following your honeymoon at Cropton. We are delighted you enjoyed a peaceful break with some quality family time and we hope you will come and stay with us again in the future. Kerry

397 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (393)
Viewed
Room/Suite (90)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
View from Room (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (47)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Other (182)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pickering
22.6 km away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
1,795 reviews
8.7 km away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
622 reviews
11.3 km away
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goathland
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 km away
BEST WESTERN Forest & Vale Hotel
4.2 km away
Rocklands Lodges
Rocklands Lodges
#4 of 26 in Pickering
252 reviews
31.9 km away
Griffon Forest Lodges
Griffon Forest Lodges
#1 of 2 in Flaxton
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Forest Holidays Cropton, North Yorkshire

Address: Cropton, Pickering YO18 8ES, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Cropton Cabins Hotel Pickering
Forest Holidays Cropton, North Yorkshire Pickering
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Forest Holidays Cropton, North Yorkshire staff and other travellers.
32 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (32)

Questions? Get answers from Forest Holidays Cropton, North Yorkshire staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms good, almost all plots are private.”
 of 5 bubbles D8607NOmarkr, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Go with flow, all cabins seem great and not to close to each other”
 of 5 bubbles Steven525, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Golden Oak Hideaway cabins have more privacy”
  • The dining area.
  • The cosy and comfy living room.
  • The clean and tidy kitchen.
  • The bathroom has toilet, a huge bath, double sinks, a double shower and heated towel rail.
  • The lovely decking area and the amazing hot tub
  • The beautiful bedroom
 of 5 bubbles georginae47, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Take a touch and plan and take food or shop in Pickering as the shop on site is abit expenives”
 of 5 bubbles mow796, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Cabin 49 for an open view and great for catching the sun for most of the day”
  • View from decking of Cabin 49
 of 5 bubbles JMLea, 11 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5