We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sevenford House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pickering
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Sevenford House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

441 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 436: English reviews
Start your review of Sevenford House
 Click to rate
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Fabulous setting and very warm welcome awaited us. Visitors' lounge was very comfortable with a roaring coal fire. The beds are very comfortable and breakfast was delicious. Ian and Linda are great hosts and nothing was too much trouble. They gave knowledgeable advice about local walks etc. Lovely pub within walking distance (torches provided)! One of the best b and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank allinson m
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Roaring coal fire in the guest lounge, coffee and cake on arrival. Our wet and muddy walking boots were dried for us by Ian, Great location and a great welcome. Breakfast was very good. An all round very good experience for a walking weekend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jimandrona
Ian T, Owner at Sevenford House, responded to this review

Dear Jim & Rona, Many thanks for taking the trouble to write a review of your walking weekend at Sevenford House. We are so pleased that you found your stay here "an all round good experience", thank you.

Belgium
Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed for the second time at Sevenford House. Everything was as good as before. Very friendly welcome, tea and cake, help with reserving a restaurant for the evening, help with a minor injury, etc. Nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were warm and comfortable, with lovely views. The breakfast was delicious and the other guests very interesting.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BusymumBelgium
Ian T, Owner at Sevenford House, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review of your visit to Sevenford House, Linda and I are pleased that your second visit lived up to the standards set by your first and you found our other visitors interesting. We look forward to your third visit to this wonderful part of the North York Moors National Park.

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Sevenford House was a Vicarage, and is a typical large Yorkshire country house set in beautiful grounds with fab views of the local National Park. My husband and I stayed with my parents who are 80. Linda and Ian are perfect hosts, who respond quickly to questions during the booking process, are able to meet specific needs (such as supporting...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 67suehg
Ian T, Owner at Sevenford House, responded to this review

Dear Sue, Many thanks for taking the time to post a very comprehensive and positive review of your recent stay here with your parents. I really enjoyed talking to your dad, old people with a "glint" in their eye are always good fun. Once again thank you and we hope to see you back at Sevenford House in the future.

Kingston upon Hull
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Our gang who have been friends for 53 years visited this weekend for the umpteenth year. Linda and Ian certainly know how to look after guests and we now regard them as family. We rent the house and the cottage plus several rooms at The White Horse just down the Dale. We all congregate at the cottage for the Friday...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John U
Ian T, Owner at Sevenford House, responded to this review

Always a pleasure to have your gang stay John, your group gives us hope and inspiration as our senior years loom over the horizon. We look forward to welcoming you all back next year, thank you.

Hull United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 February 2017

A group of us stay at Sevenford every year and have done so for about the last 17 years to my knowledge. Ian and Linda are lovely hosts and the breakfasts are wonderful. The rooms are comfortable, warm and spotless. A wonderful period house surrounded by terrific views. There is also a cottage which would be ideal for families. Would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Geraldine W
Ian T, Owner at Sevenford House, responded to this review

Dear Geraldine, Many thanks for recommending us and posting a review of your weekend stay with us, Linda and I are so pleased you enjoyed the wonderful breakfasts, facilities and the terrific views from the bedrooms.

Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 February 2017

Lovely place to stay with Ian and Linda the most welcoming of hosts. Everything perfect as usual. The cottage and the house together are fantastic for group bookings. And what can you say about the views across Rosedale when the sun is shining!! Also check out the White Horse, great night and great food.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike J
Ian T, Owner at Sevenford House, responded to this review

Dear Mike, Thank you so much for taking the trouble to write a review of your weekend stay with us, we really do appreciate it and pleased also that the sun shone for you on Sunday.

Carlisle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 February 2017

Back again for another faultless visit. Nothing is too much trouble for Ian and Linda- tea and biscuits on arrival, torches for the walk to the popular pub serving a decent meal at the end of the road, wine glasses that magically appear in the room beside the wine we brought with us, fresh milk in the room for the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hermit59
Ian T, Owner at Sevenford House, responded to this review

Dear Sheila & Dave, Thank you for taking the trouble to post a review of yet another visit to Sevenford House, it's always a pleasure to have you stay with us and so pleased you enjoy all the facilities here including Bambi!

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 February 2017

Kath and I have just returned from staying two nights in this wonderful bed and breakfast in the lovely area of Rosedale Abbey. We were made very welcome by the hosts Ian and Linda. With a superb comfortable room, lovely food and a warm friendly atmosphere - it is hard to beat! We will be back! We cannot recomment it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank swight
Ian T, Owner at Sevenford House, responded to this review

Dear Stephen & Kath, Many thanks for your glowing review, Linda and I are so pleased you enjoyed your break. Hope to see you again soon with some Haribo perhaps?

Stuttgart, Germany
Reviewed 5 February 2017

We picked this B&B because we liked the look of it on the website and certainly weren't disappointed. Together with our friends we travel to the UK every year for at least a week and always book B&B's, so we have seen quite a few. Well, they certainly don't come better than this: a beautiful vicarage in stunning surroundings with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cmw20172017
Ian T, Owner at Sevenford House, responded to this review

Dear Christine, Thank you for posting a review of your new year break with us up here on the North York Moors. We are so pleased you felt welcome and enjoyed the "nibbles and treats", mind you if we had known you were playing charades we would have joined in!

73 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (54)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pickering
14.3 km away
BEST WESTERN Forest & Vale Hotel
14.0 km away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
638 reviews
11.8 km away
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goathland
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 km away
Old Manse Hotel
Old Manse Hotel
#3 of 3 in Pickering
209 reviews
21.7 km away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
1,906 reviews
2.3 km away
Ann's Cottage and The Old Smithy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sevenford House sits in large gardens on the slopes of Rosedale Abbey in the North York Moors national park, about 10 miles from Pickering, and enjoys beautiful views of the village below.Linda Sugars has been welcoming visitors to the North Yorkshire Moors for 25 years and with her partner Ian they offer a warm family welcome. Rosedale Abbey lies at the centre of the Moors National Park, making Sevenford House a great base to explore the region’s many famous attractions and historic sites.Bed and breakfast accommodation includes three beautifully decorated and large guest rooms, a guest lounge with library and open coal fire, a dining room with grand piano that visitors are welcome to use and an information point with tips on things to see and do in the region. The nearly four acre landscaped gardens are open to visitors and include a private summer house. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sevenford House

Address: Rosedale Abbey, Pickering YO18 8SE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Price Range: €40 - €52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Sevenford House Pickering, Yorkshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Sevenford House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms were excellent!”
 of 5 bubbles swight, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“All rooms have stunning views”
 of 5 bubbles BarrowLeicester, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms are of excellent standard with stunning views over the moors”
 of 5 bubbles 584DS, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“all rooms have an amazing view you are spoilt for choice. All rooms are quiet and have all the extras you could wish for.”
 of 5 bubbles 1940sdiva, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Book a room overlooking Rosedale Abbey. House a little difficult to find on hill”
 of 5 bubbles kathiIN, 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5