We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Golden Lion Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Golden Lion Hotel
Golden Lion Hotel
Panoramas (20)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

862 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Golden Lion Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 792: English reviews
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 April 2015

I booked the Golden Lion Hotel for Easter Sunday for an overnight stay with my fiancée on advise from a work colleague & I have to admit I was impressed, we arrived early & unfortunately our room wasn't ready but the hotel reception took our luggage anyway & told us our room would be ready at 2pm as stated on...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Scott M
Glasgow , Scotland
Reviewed 4 April 2015

Arrived on Good Friday and paid for a two night stay.We were given a room on the fifth floor.First impression was although the room was clean the decor looked a bit tired and shabby.Then we noticed a chunk out of the plasterboard wall opposite the bed. We reported this to reception and requested an alternative room.We were given another room...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Mirrorballs
Reviewed 29 March 2015

Excellent location lots of shops and eating places nearby, the staff are so friendly and pleasent and helpful if u need anything, food and drink was good value for money. Hotel itself is clean and modern and we felt very comfortable in the cosy surroundings. I was recommended this hotel by a friend and I would highly recommend it to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Hubbabubba306
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 27 March 2015

We stayed here to visit my daughter who was attending Stirling University. The hotel was very nice and had a great breakfast buffet. Our rooms were huge, clean, and quiet. Great location for us. Would definitely recommend!

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Linda D
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 March 2015

Stayed for one night midweek booked at the last minute directly on the hotel's website. Got a very good rate. Much, much cheaper than the Colessio or Stirling Highland hotel. Or room was very nice, large and just as nice as the Stirling Highland. Staff were friendly but not intrusive. Central location and free parking helped. Some of the hallways...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sl675b
Weston
Reviewed 23 March 2015

Stayed March 23, 2015. Am paying approximately $105 for one night. About $50 to much or one night. Roomy is tiny, no WiFi in any of the rooms. Have to visit the hotel lobby or bar for a wifi signal where the temperature feels like 80 degrees Fahrenheit. My tiny room has a broken door knob that does secure the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank G3652WXdavidg
Goldenlionhotel S, General Manager at Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment- you already discussed to me this morning - the room has good accommodations and the door veneer has split just near the door handle which was evidently nothing to do with an attempt to break in, the lock is secure - if you had requested to have a room with double beds...

Blairgowrie, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 March 2015

My husband and I stayed here last Thur.a nd Frid.We had booked 2 weeks in advance and asked for a room with a walkin shower and twin beds as he is quite disabled. We were made very welcome on arrival and shown to our room 207 I have never seen such a large bathroom with so many facilities .The shower...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ismah
Goldenlionhotel S, General Manager at Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review

thank you for your kind comments , I will convey them to the team accordingly Regards

Reviewed 22 March 2015

My husband and I stayed this wkend along with another couple for my birthday. First impressions of the hotel were good. Nice foyer, and reception area, tastefully decorated and in keeping with the hotels age and history. However, when we were given our 1st set of room keys (377), my jaw literally hit the floor. I can honestly say, I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Paulaandgreg
Goldenlionhotel S, General Manager at Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay I am disappointed to hear some of the comments herein stated which was noted by the Manager in question, I am aware the remainder of your party who resided were in nicer rooms which you observed and mentioned why you were not in similar accommodations, reason being, you...

Reviewed 21 March 2015 via mobile

This is the third year in a row our awards night has been hosted here, and every year I am disappointed. The room this year is decorated quite nicely and looks fairly new, but there are cobwebs hanging from the ceiling, the shower was luke warm at best and the corridor is a shambles of shabby paint work, damp patches...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Crowpot
Goldenlionhotel S, General Manager at Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for commenting on your recent Visit , I am disappointed to hear you did not enjoy your meal, you are correct that the soup was not as hot as it should of been which we only found out after servicing and annoyed myself this happened to say the least. Three bar staff were allocated for this event and...

Kinross, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 March 2015

We have stayed a few times at the Golden Lion , and accept it's not 5 star , and has a perfect location (if you know how to get into the car park ...some detailed driving directions would be handy on the web site ) , but having stayed last night , we were very disappointed .. We stayed in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank donmag520
Goldenlionhotel S, General Manager at Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments - unfortunately this room overlooks an adjoining property who have a pigeon netting to deter the obvious which is beyond our control, however I have discussed with the party concerned to remove the debris which is lying thereto and hopefully remedy this to some extent - with only one coat hanger and 1 empty bottle...

349 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (180)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (62)
Viewed
Room/Suite (33)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Other (55)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (141)
Viewed
Double Room (13)
Viewed
Family Room (26)
Viewed
Dining (48)
Viewed
The Hotel (39)
Viewed
Twin Room (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stirling hotels
0.3 km away
The Stirling Highland Hotel
0.5 km away
Premier Inn Stirling City Centre Hotel
3.0 km away
Stirling Court Hotel
Stirling Court Hotel
#8 of 21 in Stirling
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Stirling
0.1 km away
Friars Wynd Hotel
Friars Wynd Hotel
#4 of 21 in Stirling
135 reviews
2.8 km away
King Robert Hotel
King Robert Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bannockburn
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hotel dates back to 1786, one of Stirling's first hotels filled with old world charm in a friendly environment. IN THE HEART of historic Stirling, the Golden Lion Hotel has for more than two centuries welcomed guests including royalty and even the national bard, Rabbie Burns (plaque on wall by front door in acknowledgement of his stay). Nowadays the ideal setting for leisure, business and special occasions, the family-owned Golden Lion provides traditional Scottish hospitality in thoroughly modern style. From the splendid buffet breakfast to the contemporary comforts of the 67 beautifully rooms and the timeless elegance of the stunning Regency Ballroom, this is a hotel with character as well as professional commitment. Close to magnificent Stirling Castle, and a short trip from the famous Monument to William Wallace, the Golden Lion makes an ideal base for the tourist. Practical advantages add to the appeal: the hotel’s city centre location - with free car parking - is only a few minutes drive from the national motorway network. The principal bus and rail stations are within easy walking distance(5 minutes)of the Golden Lion’s front door. There is an excellent choice of shops on the doorstep next to the Thistle indoor shopping Mall. The warmth of our welcome awaits you! Free WIFI available in all public & conference areas. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Golden Lion Hotel

Address: 8-10 King Street, Stirling FK8 1BD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirling > Stirling
Price Range: €55 - €212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Lion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Golden Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Golden Lion
Stirling Golden Lion
Golden Lion Hotel Stirling, Scotland
Golden Lion Stirling
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Golden Lion Hotel staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Glasgow
over a year ago
2 months ago
2 months ago
Pisa
8 months ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Golden Lion Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms at the back will be quieter from the front as the front rooms are on a main walk way with shops etc.”
 of 5 bubbles BeverlyF16, 22 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Go elsewhere”
 of 5 bubbles keithh847, 13 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with good water supply. The man said the further you are into the hotel, the worse the pressure of the water is.”
 of 5 bubbles emmajdocherty, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Avoid Room 102 and those around it!!!”
 of 5 bubbles Sparra53, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Central but quiet”
 of 5 bubbles mollstone, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay