We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Golden Lion Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Golden Lion Hotel
Golden Lion Hotel
Panoramas (20)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

905 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 832: English reviews
Start your review of Golden Lion Hotel
 Click to rate
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

This hotel is in the perfect location for a night out in Stirling. It has its own locked car park which has a security camera. The main reception area is beautiful as is the function suite. The room we had was a good size and was nicely decorated. The breakfast was brilliant. A buffet style with plenty of choices. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank martinnic0la
Berwick-upon-Tweed, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Booked by my husband for a 3 night stay for our wedding anniversary (with our kids aged 6 and 8). Have eaten in restaurant before on a previous trip and thought would stay this time. Room a good size but bathroom quite dated and would benefit from updating (Lino coming away and sealant behind basin very dirty). Beds comfortable and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JulieGilmourDervaig
skeandhu1, General Manager at Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review

THank you for commenting, Our apologies for the inconvenience you endured unfortunately some of our Family rooms are above our Ballroom WE are looking to replace the pigeon netting which is overall between 4 properties so not an easy issue to resolve. I have spoken to the adjoining property regarding their Fan. Thank you

Reviewed 1 week ago

this should have all the hallmarks of a lovely hotel. A nice location in a beautiful serene and picturesque city, some history added into the mix and usually when you pay a reasonable amount in a small town, scottish or otherwise, you expect a good experience. I had booked through booking.com. I am not a technophobe, but neither am i...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jason T
skeandhu1, General Manager at Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir You were fully aware of the terms on booking which was advance purchase. if you had even called on the date you originally meant to book, then i may have accommodated this request, howver you did so after wards where the policy applied. When you book through a booking agent Clients do not realise that the Hotel has...

scotland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I booked this hotel on behalf of my mum and dad. Mr & Mrs Greig They really enjoyed their stay here again, lovely staff, excellent food and town centre location. I had also requested the room they had the last time, they said they will try their best as busy at this time but fortunately they got the room had...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank michelle1971
skeandhu1, General Manager at Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review

THnak you for your kind comments I will pass them on to the team and hope to accommodate you again in the foreseeable future Regards H Cronies Bar & Restaurant Open all Day every Day

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

cannot fault this hotel for the outstanding meal we had, you can see the Chef puts his heart and soul into his cooking, as a trainee chef myself it is always nice to see how much the Chefs take care and pride in each and every dish,

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Catriona-an M
skeandhu1, General Manager at Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Many THanks for your kind Comments , I will pass this on to our Chef Happy Easter! Cronies Bar & Restaurant open all day every day - Entertainment tonight(Saturday) and Wednesday 19th april 2017

Ayr, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here with my husband for one night. We booked a double room online but were allocated a triple room with 3 single beds. We were moved to a double room on request but it was tiny and very outdated. You could lie in bed and literally reach out and touch both walls either side of it. Not really what...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank theabear
skeandhu1, General Manager at Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review

THank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. I am disappointed to hear of your dissatisfaction with breakfast which is unusual to say the least, unfortunately having no info on your booking i can not investigate any further when this occurred but to apologise. I will discuss this with our Chef accordingly. In regard to your...

Evanston, Wyoming, United States
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had high expectations for the Golden Lion. I stayed in a room with two twin beds. The bed I slept on was terrible. The bathroom was okay, but with no towel bars or hooks to hang things on (just some heated bars, that were difficulty to figure out). The bathtub was very slender and long. Like for tall thin...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BowTown
skeandhu1, General Manager at Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review

THank you for your review All bathrooms have heated towel rails within where the towels are placed - we are updating replacement beds on a rolling basis throughout the year and duly noted

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

very relaxing environment. large and beautiful room. nice service. Easy parking space. a lot of time to rest after a long travel. best location in town. very good stuff. if you travel around this area do not hesitate to choose this hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank _teloraccomando
skeandhu1, General Manager at Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Thank for your kind comments why not Visit our New Cronies Bar & Restaurant open all day every day offering Afternoon/High Teas and Full a la carte menu

Errol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed at the Golden Lion with my husband on Saturday night. This was our 2nd visit and weirdly ended up with the same room as last time! We visited as a friend's band were playing at No2 Baker street nearby. This hotel was ideally located being about 100 yards away from the venue. Room was a bit run down, fairly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank caz59682015
skeandhu1, General Manager at Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review

THANk you for your kind review, we are in the process of refurbishing certain areas at this time , and aim to improve our offering proactively throughout the year when we can On your next visit, book direct with us and we can offer you one of our newer rooms where you will see a marked improvement Open all day...

Gourock
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

On a day out in Stirling we decided to stay there for tea. The bar in the Golden Lion has been refurbished and is comfortable and attractive. Thought the prices were slightly on the high side though. We decided on their High Tea menu which was served in their lovely restaurant. You very rarely see High Tea being served now...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carol B
skeandhu1, General Manager at Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you we aim to please - open all day every day for Food in our New Cronies Bar & Restaurant

355 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (191)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (62)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Other (63)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (141)
Viewed
Double Room (13)
Viewed
Family Room (26)
Viewed
Dining (48)
Viewed
The Hotel (39)
Viewed
Twin Room (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stirling hotels
0.3 km away
The Stirling Highland Hotel
0.1 km away
Friars Wynd Hotel
Friars Wynd Hotel
#4 of 21 in Stirling
162 reviews
3.0 km away
Stirling Court Hotel
Stirling Court Hotel
#7 of 21 in Stirling
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Premier Inn Stirling City Centre Hotel
1.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Stirling
0.4 km away
Lost Guest House
Lost Guest House
#14 of 21 in Stirling
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hotel dates back to 1786, one of Stirling's first hotels filled with old world charm in a friendly environment. IN THE HEART of historic Stirling, the Golden Lion Hotel has for more than two centuries welcomed guests including royalty and even the national bard, Rabbie Burns (plaque on wall by front door in acknowledgement of his stay). Nowadays the ideal setting for leisure, business and special occasions, the family-owned Golden Lion provides traditional Scottish hospitality in thoroughly modern style. From the splendid buffet breakfast to the contemporary comforts of the 67 beautifully rooms and the timeless elegance of the stunning Regency Ballroom, this is a hotel with character as well as professional commitment. Close to magnificent Stirling Castle, and a short trip from the famous Monument to William Wallace, the Golden Lion makes an ideal base for the tourist. Practical advantages add to the appeal: the hotel’s city centre location - with free car parking - is only a few minutes drive from the national motorway network. The principal bus and rail stations are within easy walking distance(5 minutes)of the Golden Lion’s front door. There is an excellent choice of shops on the doorstep next to the Thistle indoor shopping Mall. The warmth of our welcome awaits you! Free WIFI available in all public & conference areas. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Golden Lion Hotel

Address: 8-10 King Street, Stirling FK8 1BD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirling > Stirling
Price Range: €89 - €156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Lion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Golden Lion
Stirling Golden Lion
Golden Lion Hotel Stirling, Scotland
Golden Lion Stirling
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Golden Lion Hotel staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question
Perth
Glasgow
over a year ago
Congleton, United Kingdom
6 days ago
5 months ago
6 months ago

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Golden Lion Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“even someone who regularly stays in trave lodge would fell like they are in a barn”
U6988GYjasont, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The lift to the floors is very small and if higher located rooms call the lift you will have a long wait, or use the stairs.”
johnryan1951, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
“They are all diff,but nice and cosy and plenty of room”
livi54, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a view .”
  • Coving in bedroom
  • Air vent in bedroom
cbs194, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“At the back may be quieter”
normanm670, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5