We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Gable End Guest House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Gable End Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

855 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Gable End Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 848: English reviews
Leigh-on-Sea, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 October 2013

I stayed in Gable End during a course held in another hotel locally, and it was the second time I stayed. Nothing was too much trouble for Mary and Joseph. The welcome was very hospitable, lifts to and from the course venue on both days, great breakfast. The room was lovely and spotlessly clean. Mary and Joseph couldn't have done...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Singingmaria111
Mary_GableEnd, Owner at Gable End Guest House, responded to this review

lovely to have you stay with us and we hope we will see you again soon. thank you for the lovely review. Kind regards Mary & Joseph

Bedfrordshire, UK
Reviewed 5 October 2013

I needed to park the car for a week away and thought I would try these guys. Well I was not disappointed. We were dropped off right outside the terminal and on our return picked us up within 10 minutes of our phone call. That beats using the airport car park any day and better value. Very nice couple to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CPM1Bedfrordshire_UK
Mary_GableEnd, Owner at Gable End Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we hope to be of service to you again soon whether for parking only or a stay with us before you go away again. Kind regards Mary & Joseph

Perth, Canada
Reviewed 4 October 2013

If you plan to be picked up at Gatwick follow signs for Hotels and Charter Buses - Not local buses as we lost over an hour here...When using central phone look at sign on fence not phone numbers you have been given. Joseph was great picking us up and making reservations at restaurant for our unfortunate late arrival. We enjoyed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rideauski
Mary_GableEnd, Owner at Gable End Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are sorry you didnt have the correct information we give out to all our guests for arrival into Gatwick and being collected. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at the guest house and we hope that you will stay with us again when you are next flying out of Gatwick. Kind regards Mary...

Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 September 2013

It was our first ever flight from Gatwick and not wanting to stop at the "plastic chain hotels" within the airport , we turned to Trip Advisor to find a decent B+B which was within a short drive from the airport.We booked the Gable End for one night with 8 days car parking . Arriving late on a Saturday afternoon...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Suzywong1966
Mary_GableEnd, Owner at Gable End Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely (and informative!) review. I am sorry that I didnt get to see you before you went home and hope to see you back again with us in the future. Kind regards Mary

Halifax, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Gable End Guest House is a real treasure and has everything a traveller could want. We stayed 2 nights; 1 before and 1 after our holiday abroad in September 2013. And loved our stay! The house is attractive and quite spacious. It’s spotlessly clean and homely where nothing is too much trouble. With excellent breakfasts and very comfortable beds it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Belle G
Mary_GableEnd, Owner at Gable End Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Eileen and David, thank you so much for your lovely review, we look forward to having you stay with us again. Kind regards Mary & Joseph

Waltham Abbey
Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here before we travelled to Sardina based on the good/excellent reviews. Our room (11) was small and facing a main road. It was too noisy to have the window open so the room was very hot and there was no air con. No sleep whatsoever. The shower was so high on the wall and not adjustable so I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amanda25904
Mary_GableEnd, Owner at Gable End Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are sorry you didn't feel the room was suitable, if you had mentioned to us on your arrival when we brought you to your room, we could have moved you to another, no problem at all. We hope that you will come back to stay with us again at Gable End Guest House. Kind...

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 September 2013

I wanted to book somewhere overnight before our flight to Florida so began looking at the usual hotel chains ... All extortionately priced! I came across Gable End on trip adviser so took the plunge and booked. What an absolute gem! From the moment I contacted Mary it was like dealing with a friend. Unfortunately we had an horrific journey...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dawn B
Mary_GableEnd, Owner at Gable End Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review and we look forward to seeing you back again with us soon. Kind regards Mary & Joseph

Reviewed 25 September 2013

We came across this B&B by accident, standing outside Gatwick airport in the early hours. Mary and Joseph made us feel so welcome, the place is very clean and homely with a very tasty breakfast, the service is over and above and we always enjoy staying here. Mary and Joseph Many thanks Steve & Carol

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve A
Mary_GableEnd, Owner at Gable End Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Steve and Carol, we were happy to help and thank you for your lovely review. Hope to see you again. Kind regards Mary & Joseph

Swansea, South Wales
Reviewed 25 September 2013

It had been a few years since staying at the Gable End but nothing has changed,. The welcome from Mary and Joseph was as warm as ever, nothing too much trouble. The room was homely, comfortable and spotlessly clean. The breakfast was excellent and set us up for the day. Joseph took us to the airport and was waiting for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nidan02
Mary_GableEnd, Owner at Gable End Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Roger and Judy, it was lovely to see you again and thank you for your kind review. We look forward to seeing you both soon no doubt. Kind regards Mary & Joseph

Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Gable End! It was our first night in the UK, Mary and Joseph were did everything to make us comfortable! Mary was a gracious hostess and went out of her way to be helpful and informative. She drove us to the village and made sure that we arrived at the airport In plenty of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Slpihs1
Mary_GableEnd, Owner at Gable End Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review, we hope to see you back again with us soon. Kind regards Mary & Joseph

84 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (53)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horley
1.1 km away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
1.3 km away
Sofitel London Gatwick
1.2 km away
Hampton by Hilton London Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Gatwick Corner House Hotel
4.2 km away
Trumbles Guest Accommodation
0.2 km away
Gatwick Turret Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Gatwick Gable End Guest House is a beautiful Edwardian House that was originally opened for business in March 1995. Mary, Joseph and their girls acquired the business in August 2000 and offer a warm Irish welcome to their family run guesthouse, only five minutes from Gatwick airport.We provide courtesy transfers from 7am to 9pm, outside these hours a taxi will cost approximately £5.We have free Wi-Fi access which is for use with your own laptop throughout the house.We are a completely NON SMOKING guest house. All our rooms are ensuite with tea/coffee making faclities; TV, hairdryer and iron are available on request. We serve a hearty English / vegetarian cooked breakfast from 7.30am to 9am. Outside these hours we serve a substantial continental breakfast of cereals, juices, fresh fruits, yogurts, toast and tea or coffee.We offer car parking for Gatwick airport for our guests and also non guests at reasonable rates. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Gable End Guest House

Address: 23 Church Road, Horley RH6 7EY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley
Price Range: €69 - €94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Gable End Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gable End Guest House Hotel Horley
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Gable End Guest House staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
essex
over a year ago
North Walsham, United Kingdom
Gulfport, Florida
Dorset

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Gable End Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I only know my room, #6, was exposed to very loud creaking floors from elsewhere in the B & B and my floors also creaked loudly.”
 of 5 bubbles Jazzycat2014, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“room in front was fine,no airport noise”
 of 5 bubbles djcollings, 14 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Every room we've stayed in has been good and we've stayed in beardy all of them over the years”
 of 5 bubbles 543DavidB, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are good”
 of 5 bubbles Jackh123, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I stayed in the twin on the first floor and it was very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles AMGVIc, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5