We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Balmoral Lodge Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

386 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 383: English reviews
Start your review of Balmoral Lodge Hotel
 Click to rate
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We just here for a couple of nights whilst house hunting. Our room was clean, well equipped and with comfortable beds. The bathroom could do with some TLC. The cooked breakfast was simple but very good. Good place for a short stay

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 812tony
44WALIS, Owner at Balmoral Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your very nice review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us. Kind regards

Stoke-on-Trent
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The Hotel is a nicely situated Hotel, it has a bar and restaurant. The bedroom was excellent with a mini bar but the breakfast was awful: very very greasy. It was as though everything had been cooked in a frying pan and then just tipped out on to the plate. The main door remained locked throughout the day, you had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank philbaluk
44WALIS, Owner at Balmoral Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review, we are sorry that you did not like our breakfast as much as the other customers. Kind regards.

Shepton Mallet, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Slept very well, eat well and had a great bath. Value was great, great old building, little bit tired and dated but that was certainly reflected in the price. If you want friendly and reasonable stay here.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank J0nmaine
44WALIS, Owner at Balmoral Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your excellent review, we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Kind regards

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Very good value for money, rooms were spacious and clean with tea and coffee making facilities. The staff were really kind and friendly and we had a fantastic breakfast; cereals, toast, drinks and cooked breakfast. Walking distance to the town but nice and quiet too. Would stay again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kelly d
44WALIS, Owner at Balmoral Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your excellent review, we appreciate your nice comments, Kind regards

Stafford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed one night and, having read the reviews, didn't know what to expect. The staff were friendly and can not be faulted. The room was huge, good facilities and clean. Ok it's a little rough around the edges, but it's an old Victorian building with lots of quirks, and our room was fine. Breakfast was good, lots of choice...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ange f
44WALIS, Owner at Balmoral Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your pleasant review, we are looking forward for your next visit. kind regards

Blackpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 March 2017 via mobile

This was our second visit to this hotel and our stay was as good as the first time, hotel is really nice great room and really nice breakfast the staff were nice and friendly and made us feel very welcome we will be booking again for next year's trip to Southport would recommend this hotel

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David M
44WALIS, Owner at Balmoral Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much! We are waiting for your next visit, Kind regards

Rochdale, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 March 2017

A quaint, unpretentious hotel very close to the centre of Southport and other attractions. Our room was warm, very clean,with comfortable twin beds, large telly, a great shower in a large bathroom and access to a small verandah leading onto a small garden. Free wifi and tea and coffee provided, as well as a mini bar fridge at reasonable prices....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 444AlanR
44WALIS, Owner at Balmoral Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your excellent review, we are waiting for your new visit in the summer. Kind regards

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 March 2017

It's basic, but everything you need for an overnight stay. I'd agree that in some places it could do with a deep clean, but the rooms were generally ok, with little add ons, such as fridge. Bed very comfy, and lovely staff. Breakfast ok.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Flobert78
44WALIS, Owner at Balmoral Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Kind regards

Reviewed 1 March 2017 via mobile

Lovely people who made every effort to welcome us. Nice breakfast, with option of English, continental and other niceties. Hotel is good. A bit tired if I'm honest but we did not pay Ritz prices, so who are we to complain when everything else was fine! Oh one thing I would say is that we were a little bit cold,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah P
44WALIS, Owner at Balmoral Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review, we appreciate your kind comments. Kind regards

Reviewed 24 February 2017

Just returned from a 3 night stay at the Balmoral Lodge. Firstly the good points. I only saw 3 members of staff but all were exceptionally friendly and polite. The location is excellent being a short walk to the centre and coast. They have a car park for 7/8 cars. Negatives. There is extensive signs of damp in the room...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Alan H
44WALIS, Owner at Balmoral Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

We are very sorry that you did not appreciate your stay! We have seen you so many times during your stay that i wonder why you did not tell us anything about your disappointment as we could have help you out. Kind regards

108 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (92)
Viewed
Room/Suite (33)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.9 km away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 28 in Southport
2,741 reviews
1.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
1.3 km away
Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Vincent
Vincent
#4 of 28 in Southport
1,124 reviews
1.4 km away
Premier Inn Southport Central Hotel
0.5 km away
The Bold Hotel
The Bold Hotel
#3 of 28 in Southport
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Balmoral Lodge Hotel is a very friendly hotel where you can relax in your room, the lounge, the restaurant or even the garden. We have 15 en suite-bedrooms with flat tv, wifi, tea and coffee facilities.Some bedrooms are on the ground-floor with access to the garden.We are 10 minutes walk from the city-centre and the promenade. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Balmoral Lodge Hotel

Address: 41 Queens Road, Southport PR9 9EX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Price Range: €37 - €73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Balmoral Lodge Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Balmoral Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Hotel Southport
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Balmoral Lodge Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Balmoral Lodge Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Mobility access might be a problem. Better to enquire first.”
444AlanR, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I don't think there is a good one.”
  • Bedside table, of sorts.
  • Damp.
  • Loose socket.
  • Dirty.
  • Very dirty inside the wardrobe.
  • Rusty fridge and mirror.
alanhT2343JP, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“avoid room 8 unless the bed is changed, slight movement and it creaks very very loud.”
866marief, 9 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We were in room 5, and it was lovely.”
heidid734, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 9 is huge!”
, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5