We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Imperial Tenby Hotel

Show Prices
#15 of 24 Hotels in Tenby
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Imperial Tenby Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

583 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Imperial Tenby Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 583: English reviews
Stranraer, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 August 2015

Love it here and visit daily when in Tenby on holiday. I have also previously stayed in the comfortable and reasonably priced rooms. Clean, spacious dining and lounge area and friendly professional staff. They allow dogs on the terrace outside if they are well behaved. Food is reasonably priced and a good range. The only disappointment is that they seem...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Catherine D
Simon M, General Manager at The Imperial Tenby Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for a fantastic review of your visit to Tenby, I shall certainly pass on all your comments to all the team. I also think of the Imperial as a magical place with the lovely views we have to offer and I am glad that you enjoyed not only the Surrounding area but all services that the hotel provide....

Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 August 2015

We have stayed on short breaks over the last couple of years nice base to work from when visiting the surrounding area Food has always been good along the view from the dining room at breakfast and evening meal time Rooms a little bit tired but you spend such a small amount of time in there it isn't a problem...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank srwhit1962
Simon M, General Manager at The Imperial Tenby Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the review at your short break with us at the Imperial Hotel. My team and I work to improve standards and I'm pleased to see you enjoyed your break with us. We hope to see you again soon in you next short break in the near future. Regards, SImon

Reviewed 3 August 2015 via mobile

A chronic shortage of staff (pleasant though they might be) meant an hour's wait for 4 bar snacks at lunch time. On it's arrival (after complaining) the food was warm but not hot, but I was not prepared to invest any more of my time in this place by following this up.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mark P
Simon M, General Manager at The Imperial Tenby Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the review of your bar snack at lunch time with us at the Imperial hotel, I am sorry that you did not enjoy the service we provide. Your feedback is important to us, however if you had brought this to our attention we would have rectified this immediately. As you can see from previous reviews we do...

Runcorn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 August 2015

We stayed for 4 nights in a room overlooking the beach. The view was tremendous, though the windows were difficult to close' signs of damp in the room also. The restaurant also had a wonderful vista, though some of the windows are in need of a good clean. The evening menu looked good on paper, but the quality was fair....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Graham T
Simon M, General Manager at The Imperial Tenby Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review at your recent stay at the Imperial. The kitchen team will be sorry to hear of the comments regarding our food as they always try their best with different choice of menu. I can only apologize if you found our room not to be up to standards and we are...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 July 2015

We chose this hotel as it had happy memories for my mother and we were in Tenby for her 70th birthday celebrations. From the moment we arrived we felt pampered and felt that every wish and request we had was answered before we even asked. We would like to thanks Simon, Andreas and Irene in particular for looking after us...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Tanya A
Simon M, General Manager at The Imperial Tenby Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the lovely review at the Imperial Hotel in Tenby. I'm very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and I am glad you chose to spend such a special occasion at The Imperial Hotel. I can’t thank you enough for the kind feedback. The staff have been made aware of your comments and would...

Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 July 2015

The Imperial at Tenby is a really friendly, comfortable place to stay. Whatever you do please read the "how to get here" instructions from the Hotel itself, they are spot on. Parking at the hotel is limited, so if you cant arrange that, the multi-story just a couple of streets away is fine. Staff at reception gave us a perfect...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank michael_dornan
Simon M, General Manager at The Imperial Tenby Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review and comments of your stay at the Imperial Hotel. I am glad that all information and instruction were helpfull to your needs. I shall pass on all your wonderful comments to all members of the team specially to the Restaurant Manager, Jan for looking after you with the drinks and Kerry and Kelly at reception...

Wigan
Reviewed 25 July 2015

We have lost count of the number of times we have visited The Imperial over the years but this time was without any doubt our favourite trip. It was our first holiday with our 4 month old and with our 3 year old in tow we were expecting anything but a rest. However I can only describe the whole experience...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Oann
Simon M, General Manager at The Imperial Tenby Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your lovely review and comments of your recent stay at the Imperial Hotel. I shall pass on all your wonderful comments to all members of the team, as they really appreciate when guest do acknowledge them. We do try to ensure that every guest enjoy their holidays and feels as part of the family and I'm glad...

KEIGHLEY
Reviewed 19 July 2015

Good friendly hotel, super location close to both the beach and the town. We had no complaints with our room it was very clean and bright and always looked fresh on returning. The staff were all very pleasant and helpful nothing was too much trouble. Good choice of evening meal sometimes the service was a little slow but it didn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barbara E
Simon M, General Manager at The Imperial Tenby Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the review of your recent stay with us and we are pleased to read that you enjoyed the Hotel and services that we provide, I shall certainly make sure that all the team are aware of your kind comments, we are glad that you took advantage of our location and I hope to see you again in...

Aldershot, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 July 2015

We stayed here mainly because of the location and to be honest that was amazing. It really is right on the beach and the view was lovely. The staff were brilliant and really couldn't do enough for anyone. The restaurant food was rather nice and the breakfasts excellent. However, the room smelled damp and although it had recently had a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank slugbreff
Simon M, General Manager at The Imperial Tenby Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review at your recent stay at the Imperial Hotel. I am glad you enjoy the location that the hotel has to offer. I am sorry that you felt the accommodation was not up to standard and I will look into the room in question as the majority have been refurbish recently including the mattress. I will...

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 July 2015 via mobile

We looked forward to this hotel in Tenby . Probably the worst shearing hotel we have visited 15 min wait to get a table for breakfast . There was no butter in table I was told it was on table with fruit . Not very politely Most of the other staff were friendly and helpfull Evening meal was Fish and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cieber
Simon M, General Manager at The Imperial Tenby Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review at your recent stay at the Imperial Hotel. I am sorry that you felt the service and the food was not up to standard. I will look into the comments about the staff on duty with the breakfast and night shifts and I will speak to kitchen team regarding your comments about the food. As...

226 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (217)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (45)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
View from Room (38)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Other (74)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tenby hotels
1.1 km away
The Park Hotel Tenby
The Park Hotel Tenby
#8 of 24 in Tenby
486 reviews
0.2 km away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#6 of 24 in Tenby
404 reviews
0.4 km away
Premier Inn Tenby Town Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
The Esplanade
The Esplanade
#11 of 24 in Tenby
241 reviews
1.5 km away
Heywood Spa Hotel
Heywood Spa Hotel
#3 of 24 in Tenby
656 reviews
0.2 km away
Giltar Hotel
Giltar Hotel
#4 of 24 in Tenby
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Imperial Hotel, Tenby is built into the ancient stone walls of Tenby, overlooking its beautiful South Beach. The hotel boasts truly spectacular views towards Caldey Island. Inside the hotel, you’ll find a comfortable and charming place to unwind and relax. The Pembrokeshire region of South Wales is home to some of the most spectacular coastline in the British Isles. At the heart of this charming and picturesque setting can be found the town of Tenby, with its cobbled streets and ancient stone walls. The Hotel houses all of the amenities and facilities you would expect from a Coast and Country venue. In addition, our staff will offer you a warm, friendly welcome, and ensure that your stay is as relaxing and memorable as possible. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Imperial Tenby Hotel

Address: The Paragon, Tenby SA70 7HR, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Price Range: €110 - €168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Imperial Tenby Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, LateRooms and Travelocity so you can book your The Imperial Tenby Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Tenby
The Imperial Tenby Hotel Wales
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Tenby
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Imperial Tenby Hotel staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question
southampton, uk
2 months ago
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
wales
Tamworth, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from The Imperial Tenby Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“you can pay extra for a room with a view. Not a good place if you have mobility problems”
 of 5 bubbles Haz540, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“View over looking beach are fantastic”
 of 5 bubbles 136dianet, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Get a Sea View room”
 of 5 bubbles , 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“one at the front”
 of 5 bubbles Groovy1950, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Sea View, Sea View or Sea View!!!”
 of 5 bubbles Visitor100UK, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5