We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
27/8/2017 28/8/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Ocean Backpackers

    29 St. James Place, Ilfracombe EX34 9BJ, England
    Save
    Best prices for your stay
    27/8/2017 28/8/2017
    Traveller (13)
    Room & Suite (10)
    Dining (7)
    Unison Croyde Bay Holiday Resort
    339 reviews
    #1 of 3 hotels in Croyde
     
    Varley House
    430 reviews
    #2 of 20 hotels in Ilfracombe
     
    Saunton Sands Hotel
    1,764 reviews
    #1 of 4 hotels in Braunton
     
    The Royal Britannia
    334 reviews
    #15 of 20 hotels in Ilfracombe
     
    Overview
    • Excellent56%
    • Very good25%
    • Average13%
    • Poor2%
    • Terrible4%
    Travellers talk about
    Free Wifi
    Free Parking
    Beachfront
    Kitchenette
    Pets Allowed
    Breakfast included
    Pool
    Restaurant
    Room Service
    All hotel details
    Offers from Ocean Backpackers
    {"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_hsx","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_hsx","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel_hsx__nav_controls"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel_hsx__widget"},"scriptFlags":null}
    Unison Croyde Bay Holiday Resort
    339 reviews
    #1 of 3 hotels in Croyde
     
    Varley House
    430 reviews
    #2 of 20 hotels in Ilfracombe
     
    Saunton Sands Hotel
    1,764 reviews
    #1 of 4 hotels in Braunton
     
    The Royal Britannia
    334 reviews
    #15 of 20 hotels in Ilfracombe
     
    Write a Review
    Reviews (87)
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language
    There are newer reviews for Ocean Backpackers
    See the most recent reviews

    11 - 15 of 85 reviews

    Reviewed 29 August 2016

    Staff were friendly , kitchen was ideal. There were plenty of facilities a Play station with games, computer which worked with internet access & printer available. Board games & a stereo with a choice of music , t.v. which we didn't use , 2 cloak...More

    Thank Melindawilli
    Response from ChrisTappenden, Owner at Ocean BackpackersResponded 7 September 2016

    HI Melinda, Thank you very much for your review! We are really pleased that you and your family had a great time at Ocean Backpackers and that you enjoyed all the facilities we have on offer! We hope to welcome you all another time soon!

    Reviewed 28 August 2016

    Pros: I couldn't afford a hotel so I opted for this as it was cheap. I was very lucky to be staying the same time as other lovely and friendly people, the guests and staff helped make my stay more enjoyable. They shared their meals...More

    Thank Blade T
    Response from ChrisTappenden, Owner at Ocean BackpackersResponded 7 September 2016

    Hi Blade! Thank you for your great review! It was good to meet you and I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Ocean Backpackers! Thank you for providing some great tips for others who may be planning to stay and I hope you...More

    Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile

    £20 pounds the night I think was a bit overpriced, the hostel is not that great, cleanness is just about ok and staff are a bit disinterested, unfortunately there are not many hostels in the whole coast of North Devon, making this hostel the only...More

    Thank David H
    Response from ChrisTappenden, Owner at Ocean BackpackersResponded 7 September 2016

    HI David, Thank you for your review. We value all our guests feedback and wish to apologise if you were a little disappointed with your stay. Even though we are a backpackers with hundreds of self-caterers coming through our door during August, we do still...More

    Reviewed 1 August 2016

    Basic accommodation has basic things you would need. But lounge not very clean and stinky. Bunks congested but good value for money we paid only 11£/night pp. Very good location. Had the complete property for ourselves so had good time. And kids were amused with...More

    Thank monty4969
    Response from ChrisTappenden, Owner at Ocean BackpackersResponded 4 August 2016

    HI Monty. Thank you for your review. We are a bit bemused as to why you suddenly decided to review us as your stay with us must of been a very long time ago!! We were temporarily looking after some rabbits who were in need...More

    Reviewed 10 May 2016

    Pleasently suprised on arrival - lovely communal area with computer, tv, music centre and a well equipped kitchen. Bedroom very nice, quiet and comfortable if a little faded. Unfortunately there was no management on site overnight and the fellow hostellers decided at 1:30 in the...More

    Thank DevonTravellers
    Response from ChrisTappenden, Owner at Ocean BackpackersResponded 13 May 2016

    Thank you for your recent review. We were very sorry to hear that you did not have a great stay at Ocean Backpackers-due to one group of guests who were obviously very disrespectful to you and all the other guests staying at the Hostel. We...More

    Unison Croyde Bay Holiday Resort
    339 reviews
    #1 of 3 hotels in Croyde
     
    Varley House
    430 reviews
    #2 of 20 hotels in Ilfracombe
     
    Saunton Sands Hotel
    1,764 reviews
    #1 of 4 hotels in Braunton
     
    The Royal Britannia
    334 reviews
    #15 of 20 hotels in Ilfracombe
     
    About
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Beachfront
    • Free Parking
    • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Free Parking
    Details
    • Price range
    • US$42 - US$97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Room types
    • Kitchenette
    • Number of rooms
    • 12
    • Reservation Options
    • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Ocean Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    • Location
    • United Kingdom >
    • England >
    • Devon >
    • Ilfracombe
    • Also Known As
    • Ocean Backpackers Ilfracombe, Devon
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (13)
    Room & Suite (10)
    Dining (7)
    Pool & Beach (2)
    Hotel & Grounds (16)
    Nearby
    Unison Croyde Bay Holiday Resort
    339 reviews
    12.30 km away
     
    Varley House
    430 reviews
    1.02 km away
     
    Saunton Sands Hotel
    1,764 reviews
    12.56 km away
     
    The Royal Britannia
    334 reviews
    .12 km away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    Blacksands Bistro
    277 reviews
    .11 km away
    The Terrace Tapas & Wine Bar
    723 reviews
    .12 km away
    Adele's Cafe
    307 reviews
    .09 km away
    St James Tearoom
    214 reviews
    .05 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Hele Corn Mill & Tea Room
    475 reviews
    1.25 km away
    Ilfracombe Harbour
    687 reviews
    .23 km away
    Tunnels Beaches
    1,295 reviews
    .74 km away
    Ilfracombe Museum
    363 reviews
    .42 km away
    Questions & Answers
    Get quick answers from Ocean Backpackers staff and past guests.
    Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
    Posting guidelines
    Submit
    Room Tips
    "Dorm room en suite was spacious and great hot powerful shower."
    Read review
    "If you don't want to share make sure 8 of you go , but we didn't have any problems."
    Read review
    "Private rooms available if privacy is preferred. Rooms on top floor quieter."
    Read review
    "No lift for disabled"
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing