We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

649 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 649: English reviews
Rugeley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 December 2015

Visited this hotel on a Shearings weekend break 27th Nov. I was a great fan of them a few years ago and considered them to provide excellent value for money. However have not travelled with them for about 2 years as their quality and value for money dropped dramatically. This latest trip to the Dilkhusa Grand proved this to be...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank don P
Pedro A, General Manager at Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments. Your feedback is important and will help us to improve where needed. We are in the proccess of refurbishing the hotel and all public areas and large amount of bedrooms have already been redecorated. All members of staff work really hard to make sure our customers enjoyed their...

Walsall, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 December 2015

Sadly the hotel did not really live up to it's name. Public rooms were Ok, but just Ok, even though some had new furniture. It's close to Christmas, but no decorations just plain rooms lacking atmosphere. To reach the bedrooms one had to navigate through a series of narrow staircases, narrow corridors and countless fire door. However, some of these...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank wyrleyboy
Pedro A, General Manager at Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, responded to this review

First of all, I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your comments. Your feedback is very important and will help us to improve where needed. We really appreciate customer's feedback and every comment is very welcomed. All members of staff, from top to bottom, work really hard to make sure our customers enjoy their stay...

Surrey
Reviewed 1 December 2015

We booked a self drive break to this Hotel in order to spend time with family who lived locally. We chose an upgraded room at the front ( 230) and it was very nice. The reception area ceiling was in a bit of a state but everywhere else in Hotel seemed okay. Our deal gave us 4 free drinks each...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank oldbiddySurrey
Pedro A, General Manager at Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again in a near future.

Leeds
Reviewed 1 December 2015

What a ,lovely break. Having returned from a weekend away with Shearings at this hotel we would have no problems returning to it tomorrow (if we could!!). How people can find time a space to place a bad review I know not how or why. When you take a budget short break/weekend break you must, by virtue of the fact...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travelwiseLeeds
Pedro A, General Manager at Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your fantastic feedback. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. As you said, we offer an excellent value for money and all members of staff work hard to make sure our customers enjoy their stay. Once again, thank you for your review and we hope to see you again.

Whimple, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 November 2015

Stayed for one night with a mate whist attending a gig in the area. Couldnt check in but was told we could leave bags and they would take them to our room (nice touch). Lady on reception was super friendly, helped us out with taxi number and directions (everything is pretty much walkable). Beds were comfortable, shower was hot, room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tozey
Pedro A, General Manager at Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments. I am glad you enjoy your stay with us. Once again, thank you for your feedback and hope you visit Ilfracombe again.

Tiverton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 November 2015

The Dilkhusa Grand Hotel offers good value for money, it is not the" Ritz " and could do with sprucing up, but its clean and tidy. I had a three day half board break, the food was varied and well presented, the breakfast and evening meals both had good choices on the menu which was served at your table. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank William A John H
Pedro A, General Manager at Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments. As you said, we offer an excellent value for money and all members of staff work really hard to make sure our customers have a great time with us. I am glad you enjoy your stay with us and we hope to see you again in a near...

Kiev, Ukraine
Reviewed 19 November 2015

Decided to take a break by visiting the town i was born in many years ago to see what changes had taken place, and did a self drive to a "Shearings" Hotel It is an improving situation from when I last visited and new life and money is being spent here to improve the place from "Wetherspoons" with its new...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank michael913
Pedro A, General Manager at Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. As you said, we offer an excellent value for money and all members of staff work really hard to make sure our customers enjoy their stay with us. Once again, thank you for visiting us and for your feedback...

Skelmersdale, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 November 2015

Went with Shearings again,the Hotel was nicely placed in the town,5 minute walk to the harbour and about the same to the High Street which has a nice variety of shops,though it is a bit hilly.The hotel itself was pleasant,its true that the stairsway are a bit tired,but who spends time in them anyway,our room was nice,carpet was slightly grubby...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank royjphillips
Pedro A, General Manager at Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. As you said, we offer an excellent value for money and all members of staff work really hard to make sure our customers enjoy their stay with us. Once again, thank you for visiting us and for your feedback...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 November 2015

Stayed here on a National coach trip. The reception area and lounge/bar areas were quite reasonable, but the stairs and corridoors were tired looking and dated. Carpets a bit worn and paintwork on doorframes and skirtings badly needed a new coat of paint. The first room we were given was terrible, it was small, decor dark and drab, the bed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank billyandchris
Pedro A, General Manager at Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. As you said, we offer an excellent value for money and all members of staff work really hard to make sure our customers enjoy their stay with us. Once again, thank you for visiting us and for your feedback...

Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 November 2015

Just got back from a 4 day mini break. It was very good value for what we paid but we were a little disappointed over some things. The Hotel is old and accordingly there are areas that look tired and in need of refurbishment . The meals were ok but had no wow factor. The entertainment was surprisingly good and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KeithandCheryl
Pedro A, General Manager at Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Your feedback is very important and will help us to improve where needed. Once again, thank you for visiting us and for your review and we hope to see you again in a near future.

179 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (112)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (67)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.2 km away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
354 reviews
0.1 km away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#5 of 20 in Ilfracombe
249 reviews
0.6 km away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#13 of 20 in Ilfracombe
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#7 of 20 in Ilfracombe
251 reviews
1.1 km away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
335 reviews
1.4 km away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated on the level seafront of this hugely popular Victorian seaside resort stands the welcoming Dilkhusa Grand Hotel. The hotel was originally a private house, bought by a Raj at the turn of the last century as a gift to his wife - Dilkhusa translates from Hindustani roughly as ‘House of the Happy Heart!’ The hotel overlooks the picturesque Runnymede gardens and is close to the Landmark theatre which attracts many national acts. It is also just a short walk from the bustling 10th-century harbour where Britain’s most famous living artist, Damien Hirst, owns a restaurant. The Dilkhusa has a well-appointed restaurant combining excellent hospitality and service. A spacious and comfortable entertainments suite provides the ideal setting in which to sit back and enjoy the acts at this friendly and sociable hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel

Address: Wilder Road, Ilfracombe EX34 9AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Price Range: €93 - €151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel Ilfracombe, Devon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel staff and other travellers.
20 questions
Ask a question
Bath, United Kingdom
9 months ago
Runcorn, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Slough, United Kingdom
3 months ago
Goole, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (20)

Questions? Get answers from Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose one on the ground floor. Small lift only holding four, so the wait could be long and there several stairs.”
delphine646, 25 Apr 2017 | Read review
“upgrade to a better room”
maudie0, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“worth paying to upgrade from a basic room”
Tubsybear, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“May be worth paying the extra to upgrade your room.”
Allain151, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Pay a few pounds more for a bigger room”
yorkj2016, 4 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5