We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Shanklin Hotel

Save
Traveller (82)
Room & Suite (108)
Dining (53)
You may also like:
See all
Nearby
Overview
  • Excellent34%
  • Very good38%
  • Average17%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“alfa travel”(14 reviews)
“sea view”(43 reviews)
“alfa coach”(8 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Internet
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Pool
Non-Smoking Rooms
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
3 Star Hotel
All hotel details
You may also like:
See all
Nearby
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Reviews (400)
Filter reviews
399 results
Traveller rating
136
146
70
28
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
136
146
70
28
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsalfa travelsea viewalfa coachshort mat bowlsdining roomcoach partiesrestaurant staffisle of wightolder generationgood sizeswimming poolmeal timestable tennisreception staffgreat entertainmentevening entertainmentgames room
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 399 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Spent the weekend in this Hotel at at a Ladies Festival. Service in the restaurant was abysmal with no organisation. Our friends room was dirty and included en suite cobwebs! Having taken the matter up with them they pass the buck to a travel Company....More

Thank True4me
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Had a lovely trip here, hotel is ideal for older tourists, with easy access to lift for beach and lift for all rooms. Our room recently decorated was really comfortable and large. Alan our waiter was really helpful and provided great service. Food was good...More

Thank peterwQ3406SA
Reviewed 16 April 2018

We booked Easter weekend with Alfa from Oxford to the Shanklin hotel I O W The Itinerary we received was very vague only telling us where we would be picked up by a feeder coach to Reading nothing about times or which ferry port or...More

2  Thank holiday33Oxford
Response from StaceyBungay, Customer Relations Supervisor at Shanklin HotelResponded 20 April 2018

I was sorry to hear you were disappointed with some aspects of your break and with the service you have received. if you are able to email our customer care team: care @ alfatravel . co. uk (without the spaces), with your contact details and...More

Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Just returned from a 4 night stay at this hotel. Very comfortable beds, excellent views, fantastic pool area ( including sauna and hot tub), very clean...however, the food was not good: over cooked veg, tasteless salads, cheap meat mostly served tepid. Such a shame as...More

3  Thank lcwebster2017
Reviewed 1 April 2018

Oh dear,The dinning room was crazy,lots of upset people waiting to be served.In the end after 25mins had to grab a waitress to beg for our starter then again for each course.The staff didnt seem to have set tables and were sent here there and...More

7  Thank Helen B
View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Isle of Wight
See allSee all
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Pool
Free Parking
Restaurant
Free Internet
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Things to do
Pool
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Heated pool
Indoor pool
Details
Price range
US$104 - US$132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$104 - US$132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (82)
Room & Suite (108)
Dining (53)
Pool & Beach (35)
Amenities (4)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
bluemoonfoodie
29 March 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Stephen P | Reviewed this property |
Our party basically filled hotel, but as we had no set time to dine, didn't experience any problem. Would suggest if coach parties are present eat later than them if possible, then workload of staff should be lighter
1
Vote
foxylady6
6 October 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from StaceyBungay | Property representative |
The pool opens at 7am and closes at 8pm. The pool will be available for the new years tours staying at the hotel.
0
Votes
decodavetrue
10 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Elliemayray | Reviewed this property |
Yes their are hair dryers in the room - sorry for late response
0
Votes
Room Tips
"book a sea view"
Read review
"Sea view was good"
Read review
"High on the cliffs, some guests have rooms that can see the sea for a very reasonable supplement"
Read review
"All very nice clean rooms, but the showers need an up grade"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing