We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

The Kenbury

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Kenbury
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

126 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 121: English reviews
Southampton
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2016

Stayed here with my Mum early September, we had the ground floor twin room which was spacious and clean, plenty of storage and nice bathroom. The owner was really friendly, happy to give recommendations of places to eat locally, and information on places to visit and buses (bus stop is literally 2 minute's walk from the B&B, very handy!). You... More 

Helpful?
Thank Helen83Southampton
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2016

4 of us stayed at the The kenbury rooms clean made up each day and breakfast set us up for the day no complains and would recommend to any body looking for a good bed and breakfast and only 5mins from beach shops and restaurants

Helpful?
Thank trevor52-10
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 September 2016 via mobile

Fantastic place for a short stay whilst on the Island. I enjoyed every aspect of my stay. Rooms very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was exceptional with great variety... staff welcoming and friendly. Will recommend to others. Will definitely revisit.

Helpful?
Thank Carrie G
KenburyStaff, Owner at The Kenbury, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your very kind and positive review, Carrie. We really do appreciate you taking the time to write it and we hope to see you again before too long. More 

Ilford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 August 2016 via mobile

Brilliant place to stay, very clean, great service and very welcoming. Karen and Bob were very friendly, the breakfast was fantastic and very accommodating. Can't wait to stay there again. The rooms were well equipped and very clean. Can't fault this place

Helpful?
Thank S4M1R
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2016

The Kenbury was a very welcoming B & B. Rooms were very clean and restful. Karen and Bob made us very welcome especially our granddaughters aged 5 and 6. The breakfast was lovely and really set us up for the day. Over all if you want a lovely welcoming B & B, stay at The Kenbury. We will be going... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank aw462016
Birmingham, England
Level Contributor
102 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2016

Just returned from a weeks stay at The Kenbury. Really can't fault the place at all. Our bedroom was very spacious, immaculately clean and comfortable. We really appreciated the mini fridge which we used to store milk, water and wine. The tea/coffee tray was generously refilled every day. Our bathroom was big, with a huge bath and very adequate shower.... More 

Helpful?
Thank LadySugarfoot
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2016 via mobile

Stayed for three nights at this excellent Hotel for bed and breakfast. Every where, spotlessly clean, staff friendly and helpful. Facilities in our room included a 'fridge which was a nice surprise. Ample tea and coffee in a large comfortable room with a sea view. Breakfast catered for every taste. Thoroughly recommend and would stay again without hesitation.

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer J
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2016 via mobile

This is the second year I've stayed at The Kenbury and once again it didn't disappoint!! The owners, Karen and Bob are so accommodating and friendly - it feels more like you are staying in a friends house than a paid B&B! Breakfast is lovely with plenty of options, rooms are large and clean with plenty of little extras in... More 

Helpful?
Thank CSC78London
KenburyStaff, Owner at The Kenbury, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your very positive review, and thank you for staying with us again, it's so nice when guests choose to come back to us, we can't really receive a better recommendation than that! We do think friendliness is so important, it can definitely help make the holiday a memorable one. More 

Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2016

We had a great stay at the Kenbury! The rooms were clean, comfortable and well equipped with fridge, bottled water each day, plenty of tea and coffee, hairdryer, towels etc. The breakfast was delicious and there was lots to choose from and the atmosphere was very relaxed. The staff are friendly but not intrusive. Great location with a big car... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jane52813
KenburyStaff, Owner at The Kenbury, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review, we really do appreciate you taking the time. Glad that you had an enjoyable and relaxing stay, and thank you for recommending us. More 

burntwood
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2016 via mobile

Just stayed here with my dad whilst visiting the isle of wight and was very impressed.Nothing is too much trouble with very friendly staff, immaculate tidy, clean rooms will defo go back. Breakfast is to die for ...... 11 out of 10

Helpful?
Thank bigboystoys

9 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanklin hotels
0.4 km away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#2 of 54 in Shanklin
362 reviews
1.2 km away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.5 km away
Heatherleigh Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Bedford Lodge
Bedford Lodge
#10 of 52 in Shanklin
217 reviews
0.2 km away
The Ryedale
The Ryedale
#20 of 52 in Shanklin
105 reviews
0.2 km away
Brooke House
Brooke House
#16 of 52 in Shanklin
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set in its own attractive grounds, The Kenbury is the ideal choice for those in search of a peaceful break, whilst still having easy access to Shanklin beach, Shanklin town centre and local transport. We are a family run guest house that aims to provide a friendly high quality service to all of our guests. The Kenbury has a small car park and free WIFI, is non-smoking throughout and all rooms are en-suite with digital TV. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Kenbury

Address: Clarence Road, Shanklin PO37 7BH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Price Range: €81 - €94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kenbury 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Kenbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kenbury Shanklin, Isle Of Wight
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Kenbury staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The 2 rooms we had were looking out toward the sea front”
 of 5 bubbles trevor52-10, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Family room was excellent size”
 of 5 bubbles aw462016, 21 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Any room here is good”
 of 5 bubbles AndreaW2425, 2 Jul 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are great, no complaints at all”
 of 5 bubbles U1565GXdavidl, 16 Jun 2016 | Read review
“all guests seemed happy with their rooms... so any ....”
 of 5 bubbles E9146LGmartin, 4 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay