We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Channel View Hotel

Traveller (58)
Room & Suite (23)
Pool & Beach (4)
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget"}}
  • Excellent78%
  • Very good17%
  • Average3%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Certificate of Excellence
Channel View is a highly respected family run 3 star hotel that prides itself in offering high quality customer care, exceptional service and excellent value for money. Situated on the cliff overlooking the bay, the hotel offers an unrivaled position within walking distance of both the seafront and the town.
Read more
Property amenities
Room Service
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wheelchair Access
Breakfast included
Show more
Room features
Non-Smoking Rooms
Family Rooms
Smoking rooms available
Accessible rooms
Good to know
Harbour View
Bay View
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Full view
79Somewhat walkable
Grade: 79 out of 100
88Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
21Attractionswithin 0.5 km
Reviews (475)
Filter reviews
472 results
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Show reviews that mention
All reviews excellent hotel isle of wight dance floor side sea view swimming pool dining room no hesitation in recommending this hotel waitress service hotel is spotlessly clean family run hotel evening meal many thanks coastal path half board coach trip short break town centre
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 472 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed in the Channel View Hotel recently as I managed to get a good deal. In this respect it was good value for money but you would certainly need to think twice about paying full price. My room was small and had an en-suite...More

Thank uk_reviewer
Response from GillGino, Owner at The Channel View HotelResponded 5 days ago

Thank you for reviewing the hotel. We are sorry you did not enjoy all aspects of your stay. Just to let you know all our rooms have been awarded the AA 3 Star standard. Apologies for the shower heads poor performance we do change them...More

Hotel's Favourite
Reviewed 20 April 2018 via mobile

Myself and 5 friends have just returned from this lovely hotel. I can honestly say that we had the best time and felt so welcome! The food, staff and prices were exceptional! The rooms were spotless and well equipped for all our needs. The hotel...More

Thank Pday2013
Response from GillGino, Owner at The Channel View HotelResponded 24 April 2018

Really pleased to hear the "boys walking tour" enjoyed so much about the hotel and you had the best time. What more is there to say. except we hope you will return one day. All the best keep laughing Gill

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The room was clean and comfortable, breakfast and service was very good. We were made very welcome and the host and team couldn't do enough for us, even finding out where my husband could join in the Park run on the Island ! Lovely sea...More

Thank tjanehull
Response from GillGino, Owner at The Channel View HotelResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for giving the hotel service, breakfast and the team a lovely review. Sorry to hear you were able to hear the guests nearby as you mentioned total soundproofing is difficult. We hope you will wish to return and try the Park run again....More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We've just spent 3 nights at this hotel and couldn't have been happier. We received a warm personal welcome by name, our room was on the front left and had a good view out towards the cliffs in the distance beyond Sandown. The hotel was...More

Thank GunnerSurrey
Response from GillGino, Owner at The Channel View HotelResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your praise of the hotel and staff and for recommending us. We hope we will see you again All the best till then Gill

Reviewed 9 October 2018

Just back from a dance weekend. First time I have stayed at this hotel and what a great place. Had side view room which was lovely and spacious and we could see and hear the sea !! bonus. Food was great and the staff so...More

Thank grandmasue10
Response from GillGino, Owner at The Channel View HotelResponded 10 October 2018

Fantastic review many thanks. Glad you enjoyed your first visit hope to see you next year Tina is already taking bookings. All the best Gill.

View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
27 July 2018|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from GillGino | Property representative |
Hi we have 9 rooms with free standing showers Regards Gill
6 February 2018|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from GillGino | Property representative |
Thank you for your concern, the rating shown is not correct and we are trying it get it changed. We have been inspected for the past 30 years and have always had a score of 5 until the last inspection when we scored 2. We... More
Wendy P
18 January 2018|
Response from GillGino | Property representative |
Hi Yes we have somewhere to park and charge a scooter, you will also need an easy access room. Please ask at the time of booking. We look forward to meeting you both Regards Gill
Room Tips
"Pay the supplement for a seaview room."
3 weeks ago
Read review
"all rooms that we have had have been very good"
6 Oct 2018
Read review
"Premier Room is very good excellent views"
17 Sep 2018
Read review
"best room in hotel is room 56 (our room)"
12 Aug 2018
Read review
Show More 
US$60 - US$166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
United KingdomEnglandIsle of WightShanklin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing