We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Preston Sands Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Preston Sands Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

263 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 263: English reviews
Start your review of Preston Sands Hotel
 Click to rate
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had a wonderful first visit, of many I hope. The staff couldn't be friendlier or more helpful. The sea view from my balcony was second to none. The rooms were spotlessly clean. Amazing value for money.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Debbie P
gloucestershire
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just returned from the hotel after a weekend break with 55 friends the staff were excellent the rooms were lovely the food was very good and entertainment was good there was no complaints from anybody i would deffinately recommend the hotel and will hope to go again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank r_smith279
prestonsands101, Front Office Manager at Preston Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice review, we really appreciate every one we receive, the weekend was one of the best weekends we have experienced here at Preston Sands Hotel, and you would be welcomed back with open arms, we hope to see you all again in the near future

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is tucked away in Preston right on the beach. Its wonderful to have breakfast and dinner overlooking the waves. The hotel is extremely well kept and the heating is never turned off. The food from the in house chef is of a very high standard indeed and a varied menu coupled with a well stocked bar means eating...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank hedgejumper
prestonsands101, Front Office Manager at Preston Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for you kind review, we appreciate all comments. Yes we are very lucky to have some lovely staff working here as part of our friendly team, and it certainly does show how well we all get on, due to the customer service our guests receive. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Well Just read the review from Lavinia376 - Bury Port, it seems that she could not have stayed in the same hotel, as I was there over the 5 days that she mentions. The comments are totally out of order, rude and uncalled for. I have frequented this establishment for many years and all staff cater for your needs. Eddie...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Amethyst56
prestonsands101, Front Office Manager at Preston Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review, and we very much look forward to seeing you again very soon and many more times after

Burry Port, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Room never cleaned the whole time we were there (we stayed for 5 nights) The first day we were there my husband moved our only chair and found on the floor a lacy black bra (not mine) and it was there when we left! The pillows were of poor quality - lumpy and thin-the duvet again of poor quality. At...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank lavinia376
prestonsands101, Front Office Manager at Preston Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we take all our reviews seriously whether they are good or bad, and we can learn from any mistakes we made! I have spoken with the housekeeper, there was only 1 housekeeper on duty that week, whom has admitted that there could have been a possibility in missing your room on 1 occasion but highly...

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 January 2017

Stayed here after some friends said it was good, they weren't wrong ,really good value half board with entertainment in the evenings food was acceptable, had a sea view room which was excellent (binoculars were a nice touch ). Good friendly feel to the place with nothing too much trouble for the owners and staff. Near the top of my...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank toptrav
Torquay, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 December 2016

Just want to say to Eddy,and Brian and staff thank you so much for making our stay with you so welcoming you run a very friendly home from home hotel and we can't wait to stay with you again nothing was to much trouble for you to do and we met some lovely people whilst there. You are doing a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rogerbrookes
newport, south wales
Reviewed 13 December 2016

12 of us joined Eddie, Brian and co for our annual 'Christmas weekend' and we had a fantastic time. 2 of our party are vegan and were more than catered for with a variety of choices including a full cooked breakfast - the chef could not have done more. We had entertainment every night - for us nights 1 and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank GandC25
Reviewed 22 November 2016

We booked into the Preston Sands late on a Friday night simply because it was the cheapest hotel on offer and we needed to get something sorted. We didn't expect much, just a clean room and a shower - but we ended up finding a wonderful little hotel with plenty of heart. We enjoyed our stay and the fantastic location...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Simon K
United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 November 2016

Stayed here with other members of our bowling club for 4 days. The hotel is situated in a great spot with lovely views over the bay. The rooms are a bit a bit tired looking but are very clean. The staff are brill, they went out of their way to oblige and always had a smile for you. The entertainment...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank sunnyboy1914

107 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (78)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paignton hotels
2.4 km away
Premier Inn Paignton Seafront (Goodrington Sands) Hotel
2.0 km away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#1 of 18 in Paignton
289 reviews
0.6 km away
The Redcliffe Hotel
The Redcliffe Hotel
#6 of 18 in Paignton
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Premier Inn Paignton South - Brixham Road
1.6 km away
Bay Esplanade Hotel
Bay Esplanade Hotel
#9 of 18 in Paignton
488 reviews
1.5 km away
The Torland Hotel
The Torland Hotel
#15 of 18 in Paignton
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Family friendly hotel, short walk to all the local amenities. Lift access to all floors. Bed and Breakfast included on all bookings but evening meal can be booked as officially we are a hotel. 24 Hour check in service available ... more   less 

Additional Information about Preston Sands Hotel

Address: Marine Parade, Sea Front | Preston, Paignton TQ3 2NU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Price Range: €52 - €100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Preston Sands Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Preston Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Preston Sands Hotel Paignton, Devon
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Paignton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Preston Sands Hotel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Preston Sands Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try to book early for a sea front room, being lulled to sleep by the waves is priceless”
 of 5 bubbles hedgejumper, 10 Mar 2017 | Read review
“the sea view rooms are wonderful”
 of 5 bubbles Amethyst56, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We had room 12 with a good sea view and comfy bed and it was lovely to watch the sun come up in the morning.”
 of 5 bubbles Rogerbrookes, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The sea view rooms with a balcony give you an outstanding view.”
 of 5 bubbles GandC25, 13 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a sea view room if they have one. The view will be amazing.”
 of 5 bubbles 369simonk, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5