We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Palace

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expert photos
The Palace
The Palace
Panoramas (11)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

466 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 466: English reviews
Blackwood Gwent
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Spent 3 days at this hotel over New Year, i could go on and on about how good it is but all i'll say is it's spotlessly clean and they'll do all they possibly can to make your stay as enjoyable as you want. It's just FANTASTIC.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Clive D
General M, Manager at The Palace, responded to this review

Good Morning May I say a big thank you for your comments. I am pleased you had a fantastic New Year Break with us and the staff looked after you well. I hope to welcome you again, may be for another New year stay.

Ammanford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I decided on a 3 night coach tour staying here, having stayed here on a previous occasion. We were not disappointed. It was my husband's birthday - which is why we chose this weekend. We were given a superb room, with really nice furnishings and all the facilities you would expect from such an establishment. The ensuite...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Petula48
General M, Manager at The Palace, responded to this review

Good Morning Thank you for your positive feedback. I am pleased you have not been disappointed with your holiday and you were happy with every aspect of your stay such as accommodation, entertainment and food. All staff work very hard to provide the best customer service possible and I am glad your husband's birthday were made special. Hopefully I will...

UK
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Another splendid and extended weekend break topped by Santa visiting all of the guests on " Christmas Morning ". A real treat for our five year old. As usual the food and evening entertainment cabaret were excellent even if the bingo went on far too long for our liking. The staff were professional, courteous and friendly. Happy New Year to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank StevieS1962
General M, Manager at The Palace, responded to this review

Good Morning May I take this opportunity to thank you for taking time to post this lovely feedback about the Palace. I am delighted you enjoyed the visit from our very popular Santa, he will be waiting for you next year. It is also nice to hear you found the food and staff to be great. I am looking forward...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked a table for the evening of my mum's 60th birthday for an a la carte dining menu and we were all so impressed with the impeccable service by all the staff. The six course meal was delicious and very promptly brought out. The waiting staff were so friendly and went the extra mile by making my mum's birthday...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michelle H
General M, Manager at The Palace, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Michelle H Thank you for taking time to share your feedback about your dining experience with us. It is nice to hear you found the service to be impeccable. I will pass your kind words about the food to our chefs. All the staff are a credit to the company and they will always go that extra mile...

Derbyshire
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great Twixmas break at The Palace Hotel with relatives (27-29 December). Varied evening menu. Food and presentation were excellent, including waitress service for breakfast. The restaurant staff worked very hard to achieve an efficient service; plates and food 'hot'. Our party of 6 were given a lovely table in the upper part of the restaurant. The bedrooms were very comfortable...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank holidays4me05
General M, Manager at The Palace, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Thank you very much for taking time to post this review about the Palace. I am pleased you enjoyed your Twixmas break with us and you found food and service to be excellent. I am also delighted your rooms were comfortable and clean. I must admit we are very lucky to have such beautiful sea view scenery and...

Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Went with friends to a Tinsel & Turkey weekend at the Hotel. The rooms are clean but dated and in need of a make over. We stayed on a half board basis and the food was average, in other words as someone commented you got what you paid for although I'm not convinced we even got that The standard of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RayzelUK
Bourne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 December 2016

My wife and I have stayed at this hotel since 2009. Two or three times every year for three or four nights on each occasion. Most of the staff have been at the hotel for many years and give excellent service. The culture seems to be that nothing is too much trouble. We have had one problem over the years...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank johnboy109
General M, Manager at The Palace, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Thank you for taking time to post this review about the Palace. We are very lucky to have long term staff, they are a credit to a company; as they all are. I am pleased you found the food to be excellent with a good variety for such great value for money. I do hope you will keep...

Taunton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 December 2016

This is simply a very well-run hotel. The staff are polite, friendly and efficient. the hotel itself is comfortable and scrupulously clean. It may be a little old-fashioned; certainly neither the food nor the decor could be considered "cutting edge", but if you want a pleasant, good value, restful stay in a great location, you need look no further. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tony_Somerset
General M, Manager at The Palace, responded to this review

Good Evening Thank you for sharing your feedback about the Palace. I am delighted to read all those nice words about us. All the staff do work extremely well as a team and I am glad it is noticeable; I will pass your positive comments to the restaurant and kitchen staff. We do offer very competitive offers in January so...

south devon
Reviewed 30 November 2016

Always a pleasure to have lunch here . The standard is always the same , excellent . The table is always laid with lovely starched napkins , and before the meal nuts and olives are offered on the table . ANNA the waitress is amazing .... a credit to your Hotel . The food is always a treat , as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kezziedog
General M, Manager at The Palace, responded to this review

Good Morning Thank you for taking time to write this review. I am delighted you always have an excellent lunch experience at the Palace. I am pleased you describe the food as a treat. Our chefs work extremely hard to maintain high standards. I am happy you refer to Anna as a credit to the company; I fully agree with...

Banbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 November 2016

it was lovely and it was packed hotels and a very friendly hotel and a lot of different sort of entertaintment. the hotel is friendly just a walk along near the shops and sea front and a lot of different sort of people looking around to see what is going on in the hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank louiseharknett123
General M, Manager at The Palace, responded to this review

Good Evening Thank you for this review. I am pleased you had a lovely stay with us and you found the hotel to be friendly. We are indeed a very busy hotel and very popular with the locals. I do hope you will be able to visit us again soon.

374 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (95)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (41)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (263)
Viewed
Amenities (15)
Viewed
Beach (7)
Viewed
Double Burgundy Room (22)
Viewed
Double Burgundy Room (Alternate Layout) (19)
Viewed
Double Checkered Room (23)
Viewed
Pool (7)
Viewed
Dining (41)
Viewed
Single Burgundy Room (24)
Viewed
The Hotel (29)
Viewed
Twin Burgundy Room (27)
Viewed
Twin Burgundy Room 2 (24)
Viewed
Twin Stripe Room (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paignton
5.2 km away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#57 of 89 in Torquay
732 reviews
1.6 km away
Premier Inn Paignton Seafront (Goodrington Sands) Hotel
1.2 km away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#1 of 20 in Paignton
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
The Redcliffe Hotel
The Redcliffe Hotel
#6 of 20 in Paignton
341 reviews
3.3 km away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#26 of 89 in Torquay
2,381 reviews
2.6 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#37 of 89 in Torquay
2,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about The Palace

Address: The Palace Esplanade Road, Paignton TQ4 6BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Price Range: €99 - €156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palace Hotel Paignton
The Palace Paignton, Devon
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Paignton
#9 Family Hotel in Paignton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Palace staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Kettering, United Kingdom
Cambridge, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Torquay, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Palace staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All of the rooms with sea views are excellent-talk to the Reservations/Reception Staff - to find you the right room for your stay & budget.”
 of 5 bubbles StevieS1962, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at the back of the hotel are quieter”
 of 5 bubbles RayzelUK, 21 Dec 2016 | Read review
“You have a choice of three room types to suit your price band”
 of 5 bubbles johnboy109, 9 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Hotel right on the front , beach across the road .”
 of 5 bubbles kezziedog, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“looking over the sea”
 of 5 bubbles louiseharknett123, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay