We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Cherwood

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
The Cherwood
The Cherwood
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

175 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 174: English reviews
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 October 2016

The Cherwood is an excellent B&B that I would recommend to anyone. The rooms were very clean, well equipped and well maintained. My 5 yr old even had his own TV which made him very happy indeed. There was a good selection for breakfast and the food was of very good quality. The staff were all very friendly, polite and... More 

Helpful?
Thank sarah b
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 September 2016

Great place to stay, Lisa is always so friendly and welcoming. Nice clean rooms and brilliant breakfasts! Stayed there 3 years in a row and will be back again next year. Location is convenient. Never been disappointed.

Helpful?
1 Thank The4W00dys
lisa J, Owner at The Cherwood, responded to this review

Thank you very much.Looking forward to seeing the new arrival xx More 

forest of dean
Level Contributor
110 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2016

We had been double booked into another B&B in Paignton so booking.com offered us an alternative.On arrival the Landlady was very pleasant and polite,said we could check in earlier than we had planned.We paid £4 for a parking ticket for 24hours (The parking is the only down side)it,s a street away seems safe enough but for OAP,s I dont think... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank mandywiplash
lisa J, Owner at The Cherwood, responded to this review

Thanks for your great review. Lisa More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

Stopped there after taking my son to Dartmouth for a weeks sailing with sea cadets,checked in b4 going to Dartmouth as we didn't know what time we'd be back,we had a key to front door so you could come and go at your own pleasure,we stopped in room 5 which was the family room.very spacious&clean,there was 2 TVs so you... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Paul C
lisa J, Owner at The Cherwood, responded to this review

Thank you very much. Hope the boys had a great time too. Lisa More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2016

lovely guest house. great location. 1 minute from seafront and town centre. Friendly staff. Best breakfasts out of any b&b ever. We would stay there again. Parking round corner but plenty of spaces which was discounted through hotel. Thank you for a great stay.

Helpful?
Thank _heppie111
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2016 via mobile

Hotel was ok but on our third morning we noticed had been bitten in the night. I thought it was mosquitos first as we had window open but I had also found an insect on the bed which I thought was a beetle. On the train back I googled bed bugs and saw that the insect I had found was... More 

Helpful?
Thank hammersmithchap
lisa J, Owner at The Cherwood, responded to this review

Firstly,i am very disappointed that you have stooped this low,just because i would'nt pay you compensation that you requested. I agreed with you that i would have it checked out professionally, and if there was any signs then i would refund you. I wasn't charged because , there was no work to be done !! No bed bugs .AS WAS... More 

Level Contributor
18 reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed in the superior room with my boyfriend. I would not come back. There is no free parking you have to park your car about 10 min walk from the hotel which you have to pay for. The bedroom was clean but the bathroom had a horrible smell from the drains in the morning or after shower. Shower had stains... More 

Helpful?
Thank nikolahoran
lisa J, Owner at The Cherwood, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. I'm sorry we didn't meet with your expectations though. It does clearly state when booking and on your confirmation that there is no on site parking and that this is charged at £4 per 24 hours, which is still the cheapest parking option in Paignton. The car park is 1-2 minutes walk away, at bottom of... More 

Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2016

This very homely clean guest house is in a great location being 5 minutes from the lovely beach and town centre. It is ran by Lisa who is is a very friendly person who can't do enough for you. The breakfast was lovely, she even catered for my gluten free allergies supplying me with my gluten free bread and soya... More 

Helpful?
Thank _angie_hillman
Shute, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2016

We pick the cherwood hotel every year and have done for many years when visiting Paigntons bmad bike show. Lisa is a fantastic hostess and thinks of everything you Might need, the kettle is always on for when we arrive. The rooms are large, spacious and immaculately clean. She does a damn good English breakfast to set you up for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Emily P
lisa J, Owner at The Cherwood, responded to this review

Thank you Emily. See you again in May next year x More 

New Tredegar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2016

While en route to Paignton i received a text from the Cherwood to ask what time i was expected to arrive. I was due to arrive at 1115 am after a good 4 hour journey. Expecting to check in at 3pm it was confirmed that the room would be ready 2 hours earlier. Check in was quick and easy, greeted... More 

Helpful?
Thank HelzBelz1
lisa J, Owner at The Cherwood, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review. Hope to see you again soon More 

212 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (149)
Viewed
Family Four Bed Room (29)
Viewed
Family Three Bed Room (31)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (28)
Viewed
Standard Single Room (18)
Viewed
The Hotel (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (47)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (22)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paignton hotels
1.3 km away
Premier Inn Paignton Seafront (Goodrington Sands) Hotel
0.9 km away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#1 of 20 in Paignton
289 reviews
3.5 km away
Premier Inn Paignton South - Brixham Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Preston Sands Hotel
Preston Sands Hotel
#12 of 20 in Paignton
256 reviews
0.5 km away
Bay Esplanade Hotel
Bay Esplanade Hotel
#10 of 20 in Paignton
468 reviews
0.5 km away
The Redcliffe Hotel
The Redcliffe Hotel
#6 of 20 in Paignton
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Please phone us for the best rates....All rooms with en-suite shower room, small hotel offering quality throughout. Free Wi-fi, Fridges in all rooms, Ceiling Fans,Hair Dryers,Ironing Facilities on request, LCD TVs, Parking Nearby at a cost of £3 for 24 hours,Children very welcome, 2 mins from the beach,5 mins from train/coach station. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Cherwood

Address: 26 Garfield Road, Paignton TQ4 6AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Price Range: €58 - €86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cherwood 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your The Cherwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cherwood Hotel Paignton
The Cherwood Paignton, Devon
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Paignton
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Paignton
#4 Family Hotel in Paignton
#6 Romantic Hotel in Paignton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Cherwood staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Minehead, United Kingdom
Monmouthshire
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Cherwood staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 5 comfy bed.”
 of 5 bubbles mandywiplash, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“first floor rooms as second floor stairs quite steep for us.”
 of 5 bubbles _heppie111, 20 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Always phone and say what your looking for”
 of 5 bubbles EmilyP665, 3 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Choose this Guesthouse for sure!!”
 of 5 bubbles HelzBelz1, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Had a room at the back, very quiet but just a view of backyards and other buildings.”
 of 5 bubbles Autumn_Equinox, 21 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay