We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Bay Esplanade Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Bay Esplanade Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

478 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 478: English reviews
Start your review of Bay Esplanade Hotel
 Click to rate
Bury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Another great start to the New Year. Thank you Greer and all your fantastic staff for all the hard work you put into ensuring your guests have a great time. We enjoyed the buffet breakfast and the staff were very quick to help the less mobile. I had some lively chats at the toast machines! The restaurant staff stayed calm...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jemima73
greer68, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Dear jemima73 Thank you for using us to see in 2017 again, it is a pleasure to welcome you, and I really appreciated your kind words and the Black puddings, Yummy...... It was a great atmosphere as I’m sure you’d agree, and your 5 star review is extremely appreciated! We do have a high volume of returning guests as you...

Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 January 2017

Stopped here for the New Year (Friday-Monday). Enjoyed the whole experience. All the staff went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable, the entertainment was excellent. Our room 132 was overlooking the sea front and was spotlessly clean, bathroom a bit small but served the perpose. Breakfast was buffet style and plenty of things to choose from, all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gordoncooper1
greer68, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Dear gordoncooper1 Thank you for taking the time to review us and share your experience. Glad to read that you enjoyed your New Year break with us. As you can imagine, it does take a lot of preparation to ensure all of our guests have a memorable stay, and a review such as yours is appreciated, and feedback helpful to...

Tring, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 January 2017

This Hotel has Steps so if you cant manage them don't go but if you are willing to combat them do go... The Staff here cannot do enough for you, there is always a route round to what ever the problem is! there is always Technical hitches but they will do everything in their power to get it right, Just...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sue G
greer68, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sue G Thank-you for choosing to see the New Year in with us here at the Bay Esplanade Hotel. Pleased to see that you’ve supplied us with a 5 star review, and delighted that you were happy with your stay. Our staff do endeavour to help where humanly possible, and it’s appreciated that you’ve acknowledged this in your review....

dudley, west midlands
Reviewed 28 December 2016

11 ladies on annual 4 day weekend, hotel clean, food bit average, entertainment not very good, staff - some were quite pleasant others a bit grumpy, trying to find your room was very difficult hotel like rabbit warren, our room was a bit small, bathroom was only has big has a bath !!!!! Shower, toilet, sink that was practically over...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mothertot
greer68, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Dear mothertot After reading your review, I think you may be mistaken about staying in our hotel, the Bay Esplanade, as we don’t do tinsel & turkey breaks. However your description of our bathrooms seems correct, as many are small. I appreciate your 4 star rating and apologise you found any staff grumpy, we don’t usually receive this type of...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

A wonderfully hotel staff were excellent hotel clean in a good location for beach and shops .would recommed to friends and family.entertainment was excellent .only one drawback stairs getting into the hotel problem for disabled people. .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank holldolly
greer68, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay. Pleased to read you thought our location and staff were excellent, these sentiments are mentioned on here frequently, and I’m grateful you’ve added to them! We do have 8 steps at our main entrance which we appreciate can be problematic for some people with disabilities, for any information regarding our...

Knutsford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 December 2016

Shearings hotel on the seafront at Paignton, an excellent location for the town and for the train and bus station. Spent a weekend there at the end of November staying in a small standard room with a narrow bathroom. Staff were pleasant, food average, main rooms downstairs had been refurbished. Two minutes from the multiplex cinema on the seafront if...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank baronio
greer68, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Dear baronio Thank you for reviewing us. We are fortunate to be in a great location; ideally placed for the beaches/harbour and the town centre, and, as your review states, literally across the road from a large multi-screen Vue cinema. We are also only a 10 minute walk to the bus station. Hope you would consider using us again should...

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 December 2016

Had a great time at this hotel 9 - 12 December (Shearings)Driver Neil nice fella, very knowledgeable about the Devon and surrounding areas. Food very nice, staff excellent. The DJ(Lee) was an all-rounder, what a funny man especially his Mr Bean!!, had a good voice and his jokes were great as well.Not forgetting the 2 Andy's (bar staff.)All in all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank porty1
greer68, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Dear porty1 Thanks for the review. Always nice to hear when someone’s had a great time with us, and takes the time & effort to let us know. We’ll pass on your comments to Neil, the Andys, and our resident entertainer Lee; aka Mr. Bean! Hope that we can provide you with another great time soon!

Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 December 2016

Stayed here on a five day Shearings trip. You don't expect the Ritz when you go to a Shearings hotel so when you consider the price paid and the high number of people staying, the hotel and staff did a fine job. Buffet breakfast was surprisingly good quality given the numbers. Evening meal was perfectly adequate and filling and the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank david54196
greer68, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Dear david54196 Much appreciated that you’ve taken the time to leave us a review, and thank you for choosing the Bay Esplanade Hotel. Pleased to read that you enjoyed your break and thanks for the comments about the staff. As you stated, we have much to explore and discover in our locale, and the bus station is just a 10...

Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 December 2016

Stayed for four nights with a group of people. The comment of a previous writer was spot on when they said you cannot expect a five star stay at two/three star prices. Having said that our room was clean and comfortable, bathroom tiny but acceptable, food basic but really good and free drinks a big plus. Evening entertainment was good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank john d
greer68, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Dear john d Thank you for taking the time to review us. It is always good to receive feedback, and I’m pleased that you found us accommodating, helpful and good value! Sorry the bathroom wasn’t as spacious as you would have liked, but that’s out of our control unfortunately. Hope that you will give us the opportunity to offer you...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 December 2016

These are meant as constructive comments mainly for Shearings management, not complaints. I will say that when a guest pointed out that the porridge was rather runny it was of a satisfactory thickness after that so the staff do listen. It would have been helpful if I had been told where the suitcases were in case I wanted to carry...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank multivacance
greer68, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Dear multivacance Many thanks for reviewing us; we do consider all comments received as constructive criticism, as it helps us to improve service. Admittedly, we do have busy periods, particularly on arrivals, but we try to keep things running smoothly regarding our service and luggage deliveries, so apologies if you felt this wasn’t the case. If you had informed your...

151 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (124)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paignton
0.9 km away
Premier Inn Paignton Seafront (Goodrington Sands) Hotel
0.5 km away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#2 of 18 in Paignton
289 reviews
4.0 km away
Bay Torbay Hotel
Bay Torbay Hotel
#32 of 89 in Torquay
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Bay Tor Park Hotel
Bay Tor Park Hotel
#22 of 89 in Torquay
467 reviews
1.6 km away
Preston Sands Hotel
Preston Sands Hotel
#11 of 18 in Paignton
259 reviews
1.0 km away
The Redcliffe Hotel
The Redcliffe Hotel
#6 of 18 in Paignton
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Esplanade hotel is a pleasant hotel ideally situated and set on a level seafront position just a short walk to the sandy beach, picturesque harbour, pier, shops and brand new cinema. Paignton is right in the heart of Torbay and is an ideal resort for all ages as well as a great base from which to explore South Devon and the surrounding area. Within the hotel, the south facing Sun Lounge and Harbour Bar Lounge offer stunning views across ‘the Bay’ and the attractive Riviera Suite provides a warm and friendly atmosphere to enjoy the entertainment. The Esplanade also offers the opportunity to upgrade your standard room to one with a sea view (charges apply) and the stunning view on a sunny day is certainly worth it! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bay Esplanade Hotel

Address: Sands Road, Paignton TQ4 6EG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Price Range: €60 - €156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Esplanade Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Bay Esplanade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Paignton
Bay Esplanade Hotel Paignton, Devon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bay Esplanade Hotel staff and other travellers.
20 questions
Ask a question
Hednesford, null, United Kingdom
8 months ago
Hednesford, null, United Kingdom
Leigh, United Kingdom
19 days ago

See all questions (20)

Questions? Get answers from Bay Esplanade Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“pay the extra and pay for a sea view.”
 of 5 bubbles gordoncooper1, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Make sure you ask for what you require ie extra pillows, raised toilet seat, low floor...”
 of 5 bubbles Q6276WXsueg, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Room sizes might be important for some people, best to check.”
 of 5 bubbles johndF9532TK, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Room with a view.”
 of 5 bubbles johnp5066, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“In the summer I would possibly have gone for a sea view.”
 of 5 bubbles NanWatford, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5