We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Castle View Guest House

Save
Traveller (35)
Room & Suite (11)
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent72%
  • Very good21%
  • Average6%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible0%
Travellers talk about
“parking permit”(10 reviews)
“top floor”(13 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Free Parking
Pool
Restaurant
4 Star Hotel
All hotel details
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (229)
Filter reviews
228 results
Traveller rating
162
49
15
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
162
49
15
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsparking permittop floorlovely guesthouseuniversity citycentral locationtravelled by trainbus stationshort walkbeautiful citymarket squarecooked breakfastlocation is excellentlarge roomdefinitely stay here againbreakfast was excellenta wonderful staycomfortable bed
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 228 reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Stayed at this lovely B&B by pure serendipity. We were traveling from London to Edinburgh and needed a break - Durham was a perfect stopping point. We secured a B&B for one night but along the way experienced car troubles and arrived later than expected...More

Thank Brooke M
Response from dmaxwilliams, Manager at Castle View Guest HouseResponded 3 days ago

Thanks for the great revue

Reviewed 19 April 2018 via mobile

Stayed here a few days ago to visit a friend and loved the room! Really well furnished and loved attention to detail not to mention the bed! Great breakfast and really friendly lady! Highly recommend.

Thank Jenni F
Response from dmaxwilliams, Owner at Castle View Guest HouseResponded 5 weeks ago

Thanks for the great review hope to see you another time

Reviewed 3 April 2018

Ideally located for a visit to Durham city center which is a short walk across an old bridge straight into the center . Castleview ( well named ) is well decorated and welcoming . We stayed in room 6 , a large room with good...More

Thank Mike Y
Response from dmaxwilliams, Manager at Castle View Guest HouseResponded 9 April 2018

Many thanks for your wonderful review. Appreciate all comments.

Reviewed 17 March 2018

My husband had a 'special' birthday to celebrate, he had wanted to visit Durham cathedral, so after checking out TripAdvisor i chose 'Castle View Guest house', and it didn't disappoint. After a long car journey we arrived to a warm welcome from Mrs Williams, had...More

1  Thank Jackie P
Reviewed 27 February 2018 via mobile

Slight confusion with booking in time but sorted. Beautifully allocated rooms with views of Cathedral & Castle. Rooms are sumptuous and bathroom well appointed. Best Northern Hospitality as always. Tried Ye Olde Elm Tree Inn up the hill for wonderful local fare. Woke up to...More

1  Thank ingridm909
Response from MJ_Williams864444, Owner at Castle View Guest HouseResponded 1 March 2018

Delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Please come back. But we can’t promise you the white stuff - this is the first snow we’ve seen in Durham for many a long year.

View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Durham
See allSee all
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Breakfast included
Details
Price range
US$139 - US$151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$139 - US$151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (35)
Room & Suite (11)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Sally H
16 March 2018|
Answer
Response from MJ_Williams864444 | Property representative |
The Cathedral is close to the rail station. Should be no problem depending on train times.
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Advantages 1): The location - can not be more convenient 2) Castleview itself - pleasant , well decorated..."
Read review
"High room, view of cathedral and Castle"
Read review
"Room 6 was very pleasant"
Read review
"Room 2 very good."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing