We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County

Show Prices
#8 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,361 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,282: English reviews
Start your review of Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
 Click to rate
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed Saturday and Sunday night and found the location excellent for getting around Durham. The room was spacious and there is tea and coffee in the room. We asked for a quiet room, but because it's located so close to the main road, the traffic does get noisy early in the morning, especially on the Monday morning. Staff were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MisterB49
DurhamMarriottRoyal, General Manager at Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County, responded to this review

Thank you for your review following you recent stay at the hotel. We agree the hotel is ideally positioned for accessing the centre of Durham and are pleased you enjoyed your stay. Whilst spaces in the hotel car park are limited, the paid parking assists us in helping to keep spaces for genuine hotel guests with a reduced overnight charge...

Coatbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

I used to visit this hotel regularly 25-30 years ago, and as my journey was taking me past Durham, I thought that I would have a nostalgic visit. I suppose I have aged in the same period, but I expected the hotel to be similar to what it was all those years ago. The place is tired, and the restaurant...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JAMES P
DurhamMarriottRoyal, Guest Relations Manager at Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review in regards to your recent stay at the Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County. As we pride ourselves on delivering a memorable hotel experience during your travels, we have unfortunately fallen short of our goal during your recent stay. Please accept our sincere apologies. Upholding our commitment to provide a memorable...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Visited here last minute for boyfriends birthday and booked last minute on booking.com at a basic rate. In the special request section I mentioned it was his birthday asking for a nice room! Was delighted and so pleased when we got to room and had been upgraded to the Beamish Suite and there was Birthday greetings and a happy birthday...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Claire N
Canton of Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent location, couldn't beat it.Visited our Son at Durham Uni. Staff faultless, nothing too much of a problem, always ready to assist. Rooms clean, we had a suite, two double beds plus separate sitting area . Easy early checkout. Breakfasts very good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank paulcoopey
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great Location, room was modern and bathroom very clean. Parking charge of £5 overnight is a little bit poor though for guests staying in the hotel. Hotel has a great pool and leisure complex. Just over the river from the main bars and restaurants.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Garry S
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Came here midweek for a couple of nights to escape. Lovely hotel in a great location with everything in the city within a short walking distance. Nice spa & pool, we went between 4pm to 6pm on Tue and Wed and it was always nice and quiet. The breakfast was great. Lots of options and treated great. The only thing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Benjamin H
DurhamMarriottRoyal, Manager at Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. We're sorry to read that your sleep was disturbed due to the bedding. We can provide alternative bedding to try and help you have a more comfortable stay - please call our 'At Your Service' team prior to any future stay and they'll be delighted to help! Warm regards The Executive Team

Newcastle
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here on the weekend of 4th-5th February and had a great time in the city. Couldn't fault this hotel at all. Parking was great, just £5 per night. Check-in was quick and efficient, greeted by friendly staff who offered us a glass of wine to take to the room. The room was lovely with a huge double bed....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank klc92016
DurhamMarriottRoyal, Manager at Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County, responded to this review

Thanks for your great review - we look forward to welcoming you back! Warm regards The Executive Team

Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here on a saturday night having booked to go out for a meal in the city. upon arrival which was earlier than stated, we were greeted with a friendly face and quickly issued with our room keys.The room was large with a king size bed and very clean and well equipped in the old part of the hotel....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wp175
Callington
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Good hotel, very friendly staff especially in the morning. Great breakfast and good room. Would have been a five if reception staff had of checked us in immediately instead of chatting about there upcoming weekend, leaving us to wait 10 mins.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank stuart w
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great hotel overall . Decor was dated but that's what you expect from Marriotts these days . In honesty it was neat and clean . Room amenities were good . Complimentary tea and coffee . Shower was very good indeed . Toiletries were good too . They had bidet in toilets . Location was very good it's right in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lakedistrict2016
DurhamMarriottRoyal, Manager at Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments - we look forward to welcoming you back! Warm regards The Executive Team

279 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (225)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (79)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Other (73)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (54)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.8 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
0.6 km away
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
4.1 km away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 km away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
1,924 reviews
3.7 km away
Premier Inn Durham North Hotel
4.4 km away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the heart of the historic city of Durham, this hotel – part of which dates back to circa 1630 – boasts views of Durham Cathedral and Castle and is situated on the banks of the River Wear. The Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County is ideally located within this University city, a short walk away from the world famous Cathedral and Castle. Through Durham’s cobbled streets, explore this unique city’s blend of old and new with shops, bars and restaurants to suit all. No 59 Old Elvet restaurant serves a full buffet breakfast with a choice of a la carte options, along with dinner from the Source Grill menu featuring Chef’s unique signature dishes. Afternoon Tea is served daily and a glass of Champagne can be added for an extra special touch. Later in the day choose from an extensive range of classic and contemporary cocktails in the Durham Bar. Alternatively our Starbucks store, situated on the ground floor of the hotel, serves a wide variety of teas, coffees, sandwiches and pastries throughout the day. Relax with a visit to the hotel’s leisure centre, complete with indoor swimming pool, gym, spa bath, sauna and steam room. The hotel is also ideally located for exploring the north east and its surrounding areas. Just 15 miles (24 km) from the centre of Newcastle and 11 miles (18 km) from Sunderland. Other local attractions include: Beamish – The Living Museum of the North, The Bowes Museum, High Force Waterfall and Durham Adventure Valley to name but a few. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County

Address: Old Elvet, Durham DH1 3JN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Price Range: €94 - €199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Marriott so you can book your Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Durham
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County England
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Durham
#4 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#8 Business Hotel in Durham
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a quiet room otherwise you will front the main road”
 of 5 bubbles MisterB49, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“we stayed in 248 big and very comfortable”
 of 5 bubbles wp175, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“try a superior as a special treat.”
 of 5 bubbles brian65Darlngton, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Old pat of the Hotel if you want quaint - I guess riverside if you want modern”
 of 5 bubbles Skyeline, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We requested a quiet room”
 of 5 bubbles Jan934, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5